We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Helix vs Purple Mattress Review

The Helix Midnight and Purple mattresses are both bed-in-a-box models with good bounce and mobility. But beyond these similarities, they’re also distinct in several notable ways, featuring unique constructions and feels best-suited to different types of sleepers. That could be useful, because it means one of these beds is likely to be the clear choice for you!

So… Is the Helix or the Purple better for your personal sleep needs? Let’s check out these mattresses’ similarities, differences, and unique features to find out!

No time to read the full comparison? Click here to jump to the summary!

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Product
Helix Midnight Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Helix vs Purple: Which is Better for You?

The Helix Midnight is a hybrid mattress made with a combination of foams and innerspring coils. The Purple mattress is an all-foam bed that uses a proprietary elastic grid comfort layer. These unique constructions make for very different overall feels. Make sure to check out my full Purple mattress review and Helix Midnight mattress review for more details about each of these beds.

Depending on your body type, preferred sleeping position, and whether or not you sleep with a partner or pet, one of these beds is likely better suited to your individual needs. Take a look at some of my recommendations below.

Who should buy the Helix Midnight

Helix Midnight Side Sleepers

  • Side sleepers, back sleepers, and side and back combination sleepers will be happy on this medium-firm bed. The Midnight is a softer mattress, which makes it a better fit for those who sleep on their sides during the night.
  • I really like the Helix Midnight for couples. It has great motion isolation, which means you’re unlikely to be disturbed by your partner’s movements, and it has great edge support, so you’ll be able to take advantage of the full mattress.
  • The Helix Midnight is a bit more affordable than the Purple, so budget-minded shoppers might want to opt for this bed.

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Who should buy the Purple

Purple Mattress Stomach

  • I think the Purple is a great mattress for combination sleepers. It has a bouncy, buoyant feel that makes switching positions easy.
  • The Purple sleeps cooler than the Helix, thanks to its elastic polymer grid which allows for plenty of airflow. 
  • The Purple is better for stomach combination sleepers. Though it’s a bit too soft for strict stomach sleepers, it should be comfortable if you only spend a portion of your night in that position.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Helix vs Purple: Similarities and Differences

At first glance, the Helix Midnight and Purple don’t seem all that similar. But they do have a few features in common.

Main Similarities

  • Both Helix and Purple are bed-in-a-box companies, and that means the Helix and Purple mattresses both come compressed in a box and ship directly to you.
  • Both mattresses have some nice responsiveness and a fairly bouncy feel that makes it easy to move around on the bed and switch positions during the night.
  • Helix and Purple have similar company policies: Both mattresses come with free shipping, a 100-night trial period, and a 10-year warranty.

It’s worth noting that both Helix and Purple sell several models, so the level of bounce might vary a bit depending on which model you choose. But when we’re looking at the Helix Midnight and Purple, it’s fair to say that they offer comparable levels of mobility.

Main Differences

  • The Helix Midnight is a hybrid mattress, while the Purple is an all-foam bed that has a hyper elastic polymer comfort layer. These different constructions make for very different overall feels.
  • The Midnight feels softer than the Purple. You’ll definitely experience more sinkage on the Midnight.
  • The Purple is a bit pricier than the Helix Midnight.

Helix Midnight and Purple Mattress Feel Comparison

Okay, so we’ve analyzed the constructions of the Helix and Purple and have discussed how these different constructions might align with various types of sleepers. Now it’s time to look more closely at how it might feel to sleep on top of these mattresses! I run a whole slew of tests to explore this question, most notably my Firmness test.

The test is scored on a scale from 1 (extra-soft) to 10 (extra-hard), with 6.5 serving as the industry standard for medium firmness. This range is a bit subjective, because everyone perceives firmness differently based on their body type, preferences, and so on. The numbers you see below reflect how the mattresses feel to me, but note that you might feel differently.

Helix Vs Purple Firmness
The Purple is firmer than the Helix Midnight.

Helix

The Helix comes in several models with a variety of firmnesses ranging from 5.5 to 7.5 out of 10. I ranked the Midnight as a 6 out of 10. This firmness level is best for side sleepers and back sleepers who prefer a softer feel.

The Midnight is also an especially good bed for back and side combination sleepers. It has enough bounce to make switching positions easy, and its medium-firm feel is comfortable in both positions. That medium-firm feel also makes it a good option for couples who might have different preferred sleep positions. I also like it for couples thanks to its low motion transfer and sturdy edge support. 

Stomach sleepers will probably want to consider one of the firmer Helix models to make sure their hips don’t sink too far into the mattress and their spine stays aligned. In addition to their different firmnesses, these models might also have slightly different constructions. For instance, the Dawn features a latex-like dynamic foam, while the Midnight uses a thick layer of memory foam. The different materials can create some variation in feel.

Purple

I ranked the flagship Purple around a 7 out of 10, or just a hair firmer than medium-firm. True to medium-firm feel, the mattress offers a nice mix of support and pressure relief. Meanwhile, the gel grid does a nice job of accommodating multiple sleep positions.

When I’m lying on my back on the Purple, I feel like my weight is evenly distributed. My hips sink in a bit but not too far, so I feel a nice balance of comfort and support. It’s easy to change positions to my side, where I feel the grid walls collapse to give me pressure relief where I need it around my shoulder. Still, I’m not sure that I’d want to spend all night on my side on this mattress; if you’re a strict side sleeper, you might want to look for a softer model. But combo sleepers who only spend part of the night on their sides should do okay. On my stomach, the Purple did an okay job of supporting my hips. If you spend part of the night here as a combo sleeper, I think the support will be adequate. But if you’re a strict stomach sleeper, you’ll probably want a mattress with even firmer support.

Comparing What it’s Like to Sleep on the Helix and the Purple

The best mattress for you depends on factors like your body weight and preferred sleeping position. See how the Helix and Purple compare in a range of sleeping positions, and how they hold up for heavier sleepers.

Helix Midnight

Back — I think the Midnight is really comfortable for back sleepers. It’s an especially good option for back sleepers who like a softer feel. However, if you suffer from back pain, I might opt for a firmer mattress, since they tend to be better for promoting a straight spinal alignment.

Side — I also like the Midnight for side sleepers! Its memory foam layer provides the sinkage side sleepers need at the hips and shoulders to keep their spine in a straight line.

Stomach — The Midnight isn’t firm enough for strict stomach sleepers. These sleepers need a firmer bed that will prevent their hips from sinking too far into the mattress. I’d steer them to the firmer Helix Twilight or Helix Dawn.

Body Weight — Light sleepers and average weight sleepers will experience the Midnight to be medium-soft to medium-firm, and will likely find the Midnight quite comfortable. However, heavier sleepers (those over 250 lbs) won’t get the support they need from the Midnight. I’d steer these sleepers to the Helix Plus mattress, which was specifically designed for larger individuals. 

Purple

Back — I like the Purple for back sleepers! It’s just a bit firmer than the industry standard for medium-firm, which makes it a great pick for those who doze on their back. If you suffer from back pain, this firmness level is ideal for you.

Side — I don’t think strict side sleepers will be happy on the Purple. It has a much more “on top” than “in” the bed feel, and side sleepers tend to do better on mattresses with more sinkage

Stomach — I think the Purple is just okay for stomach sleepers. If you’re a strict stomach sleeper who doesn’t switch positions throughout the night, you might want to opt for a firmer mattress. However, if you’re a back and stomach combination sleeper, for example, you should find the Purple comfortable.

Body Weight — Similar to the Helix Midnight, the Purple will feel differently to sleepers of different weights. Those above 250 lbs are likely to sink too far into the Purple and feel a bit suffocated by the mattress. I tend to steer heavier sleepers to beds that are designed for their needs, which you can find in our best mattress for heavy people roundup.

Comparing Helix and Purple Prices

Price is certainly an important factor when choosing a new mattress. Below you’ll find a pricing chart for each size of both mattresses. Be sure to check out our Helix coupon page and Purple coupon page for the latest coupon codes and promotions.

Prices listed are before discount or offer for each size.

SizeHelixPurple
Twin$699$599
Twin XL$799$799
Full$849$999
Queen$1,099$1,149
King$1,449$1,449
Cal King$1,449$1,449

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Product
Helix Midnight Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Comparing Mattress Materials

Now that we’ve gotten a pretty clear sense of how these mattresses are built, it’s time to compare them even more directly. Contrasting the constructions of these two high-quality beds will help us figure out how they might feel for different sleeping styles.

Helix Midnight

As I noted above, Helix Sleep offers several models (six standard models, a Luxe line, and a Plus model, to be exact!). The construction varies a bit from model to model, but here’s an overview of what you’ll find in the Helix Midnight.

Cover – First up is a polyester mattress cover. It’s thin, breathable, and helps the mattress sleep a touch cooler.

Comfort layer – Next you’ll find a top layer of Memory Plus foam. It has a classic memory foam feel that lets you sink into the mattress for some nice pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. It offers some great contouring for side sleepers and back sleepers alike.

Transition layer – Below the comfort layer, there’s a slightly firmer poly foam layer. It offers cradling support that eases you from the softer comfort layer toward the supportive coils.

Support Layer – Speaking of coils: At the base of its foam layers, the hybrid Helix has a layer of pocketed coils. These lend support and bounce to the mattress, much like with a traditional innerspring. The coils are wrapped individually, so they can move independently and isolate motion better than conventional coils. This could be a big plus for couples.

Base Layer – Last up is a layer of DuraDense foam. This helps add a bit more support and durability to the mattress.

Thoughts: The Helix has a hybrid feel that offers a balance of comfort and support. It’s quite bouncy, which might appeal to combo sleepers who need to change positions throughout the night. Depending on the model you choose, the Helix can suit a variety of sleep positions.

Helix Midnight Materials
The Helix Midnight combines layers of memory foam and pocketed coils.

Purple

As with the Helix, the Purple offers multiple models that vary a bit in terms of construction. Here’s an overview of Purple’s flagship makeup.

Cover – First you’ll find a cover that’s made from a blend of polyester, viscose, and lycra. It’s thin, breathable, and stretchy, which allows it to move with the layers beneath it.

Comfort layer – Purple’s comfort layer is made from a unique hyper-elastic polymer grid. This proprietary material sleeps cool and offers some nice bounce. The walls of the grid collapse strategically under your weight in the areas where you most need pressure relief, which means it’s possible to get comfortable in a range of positions. At the same time, the grid bounces back quickly so you don’t feel stuck when you want to shift positions.

Edge support layer – Wrapped around the edge of the Purple mattress is a layer of poly foam edge support. This helps ensure that you can utilize the full surface of the mattress, which could be good news for couples.

Transition layer – The high-density poly foam transition layer helps ease you from the gel grid comfort layer toward the firmer support layer beneath. This layer is a bit firmer than the grid above it.

Support layer – Finally, you’ll find another layer of high-density polyfoam in the Purple’s support layer. This layer has a firm feel and provides support for the overall mattress.

Thoughts: The Purple mattress has a unique feel thanks to its proprietary hyper-elastic polymer grid. Because it collapses where you need pressure relief and stays firm where you need support, the grid provides a balance of support and comfort that might really appeal to combo sleepers.

Purple Mattress Materials
The materials used in the Purple mattress.

Helix vs Purple: Best Qualities

We’ve covered the construction, firmness, and feel of both of these beds, and we’re nearly to the end of our Helix vs. Purple comparison! There’s only one question left: Which mattress is the one for you? I can’t answer that on your behalf, but the sections below should help with your decision!

Helix

The Helix Midnight is a great mattress for couples. It has low motion transfer, so you’re unlikely to be disturbed by your partner’s tossing and turning, and it has great edge support, which makes the bed feel larger. Compared to the standard Purple mattress, the Helix offers stronger support. That’s thanks to the pocketed coils, which make the mattress a bit sturdier and more durable.

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple

Compared to the Helix, the Purple sleeps a bit cooler. The hyper-elastic polymer grid is temperature neutral, so it should prevent you from sleeping too hot. The standard Purple is an especially great option for combo sleepers. The gel grid features a quick response to pressure, which makes it easy to switch positions, along with a nice mix of support and comfort in multiple positions.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Comparing Company Policies

Helix Policies

  • Trial Period – 100-night sleep trial
  • Shipping – Free
  • Mattress Warranty- 10-year warranty

Purple Policies

  • Trial Period – 100-night sleep trial
  • Shipping – Free
  • Mattress Warranty – 10-year warranty

Comparing Helix and Purple Customer Service 

Introduce the rating scale (Stellar, Great, Satisfactory, Poor) and note that we gave each brand a rating based on our own experience with each customer service team.

Helix Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

Stellar: I used the chat function on Helix’s site and got an answer almost immediately. The answer was well-thought out and I could tell I was talking to a real person, which is always great.

Purple Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating 

Stellar: When I went on Purple’s site the customer service chat function immediately popped up to ask if I had any questions, and when I did ask a question it was answered politely and in detail.

Comparing Other Models from Helix and Purple

While I’ve focused much of this comparison on the standard Helix and Purple, it’s worth noting that both brands offer several other models. Comparing the standard mattresses to other versions helps illuminate the characteristics of each bed. So let’s dive in!

Helix Luxe

  • This is a luxury version of the Helix mattress. It includes the same model range as the standard line, but with souped up features like a pillow top and zoned support coils.
  • The Luxe mattresses have a sturdier build than the standard line, as well as extra foam layers for added pressure relief. For instance, the Helix Twilight Luxe has a whopping 5 layers of memory foam.
  • Like the standard Helix models, the Helix Luxe is a bed-in-a-box hybrid.
  • Read the full Helix Luxe review.

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Helix Plus

  • As with the standard and Luxe Helix models, the Helix Plus is also a bed-in-a-box hybrid.
  • The Helix Plus is designed specifically with the needs of heavier folks in mind. It offers sturdy construction and support that’s meant for people weighing 250 to 300 pounds.
  • Read the full Helix Plus review.

Helix Plus Mattress

Its cooling properties and deep pressure relief make the Helix Plus great for heavier side sleepers who need help keeping cool at night! The Helix Plus is made with several layers of foam and reinforced coils for excellent support and comfort.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Plus Mattress

Its cooling properties and deep pressure relief make the Helix Plus great for heavier side sleepers who need help keeping cool at night! The Helix Plus is made with several layers of foam and reinforced coils for excellent support and comfort.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Plus Mattress

Its cooling properties and deep pressure relief make the Helix Plus great for heavier side sleepers who need help keeping cool at night! The Helix Plus is made with several layers of foam and reinforced coils for excellent support and comfort.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid

  • The hybrid versions of the Purple mattress use the same hyper-elastic polymer as the standard model, but they also incorporate pocketed coils for added support and bounce.
  • The Purple Hybrid comes in several models, which are distinguished by the depth of the hyper-elastic polymer. The Purple Hybrid 2” has a firmer feel for stomach and back sleepers; the Purple Hybrid Premier 3” has a medium firm feel that’s good for combo sleepers; and the Purple Hybrid Premier 4” is the softest mattress in the Purple line and is most likely to suit side sleepers.
  • The Purple Hybrid costs significantly more than the flagship model. The original Purple starts at $999 for a Queen, while the same size Purple 2 starts at $1,599, a Queen-sized Purple 3 starts at $2,199, and the Purple 4 starts at $2,799 for a Queen.
  • Read the full Purple Hybrid review.

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Common Helix and Purple Comparisons

Now that we’ve finished this mattress comparison, check out how the Helix and Purple compare to popular models from other online mattress brands.

Helix

Purple

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Helix Midnight vs Purple

Helix Midnight Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.0/5
Product
Helix Midnight Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.0/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.