We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Puffy vs Purple Mattress Comparison

If you like foam, you’ll love the comparison we have for you here. The Puffy and the Purple are bed-ina-box foam mattresses known for quality workmanship. It can be hard to decide which is best for you when both choices have advantages. But that’s what I’m here for!

I’m about to take you through every inch of these two options. By the end, you’ll have a clearer picture of what makes them different, and what makes one of them the right new mattress for you!

Let’s get this thing started and jump into the Purple vs Puffy mattress comparison. Short on time? Skip down to my review summary.

Purple vs Puffy

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5

Purple vs Puffy

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5
Product
Puffy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.2/5

Puffy vs Purple: Which is Better for You?

Everyone has different needs from their mattress, depending on your size, shape, and personal preferences. Let’s go over who each of these mattresses is best for.

Who Should Buy Puffy

  • If you’re a side sleeper the Puffy is a better fit for you. Side sleepers generally do best on a memory foam mattress like the Puffy that cushions their pressure points.
  • If you’re a back sleeper either mattress could work for you, but go with the Puffy if you need more pressure relief.
  • If you prefer a more traditional memory foam feel, go with the Puffy, as the Purple mattress has a very unique “floating” feel.

Puffy mattress

Who Should Buy Purple

  • If you’re a stomach sleeper, the Purple mattress is the best choice. But if you’re looking for extra firm support one of our best mattresses for stomach sleepers might be the best option for you.
  • If you’re a combination sleeper the bouncy Purple mattress is the way to go! You should be able to change positions easily on this responsive bed.
  • If you sleep hot, the Purple might be the best option for you. Its polymer grid layer promotes a little more airflow throughout the mattress than the Puffy’s gel memory foam top layer does.

Purple Mattress

Puffy vs Purple: Similarities and Differences

Below you’ll find a breakdown of the most important similarities and differences between these two mattresses. We also have more in-depth resources on each bed available. The Puffy mattress review and Purple mattress review are right here; just click the links after you finish with this comparison!

Main Similarities 

  • Both the Puffy and the Purple are bed-ina-box mattresses that feature foam. I should mention that while the Puffy is an all-foam bed, the Purple technically is not, as it features an important layer of hyper-elastic polymer between its foam layers.
  • These mattresses fall into a similar price range. Both online mattress companies also offer great discounts periodically, so stay up to date with our mattress coupons and promo codes to get a good deal on these beds.
  • Heavier people (over 250 lbs), will probably need a more supportive mattress. I’d suggest they take a look at one of our best innerspring mattresses instead.
  • Additionally, neither of these mattresses have very solid edge support or motion isolation, which are important considerations for couples. You may feel some motion transfer if your partner moves around and a lack of edge support can lessen the usable surface area on your bed. 

Main Differences 

  • The Purple mattress feels firmer than the medium-firm Puffy mattress, though both beds offer great pressure relief.
  • The Puffy offers more body-contouring, while you’ll feel more “on top of” the Purple mattress.
  • The Purple sleeps a little cooler than the Puffy thanks to its breathable purple grid layer (more on that below).

Puffy and Purple Mattress Feel Comparison

How a mattress will feel to you depends on your body weight, shape, and preferred sleeping position. I run my tests with my co-workers of different body types to get the best assessment possible. We each tried both mattresses and averaged our results for the final rating. Firmness gets rated on a scale of 1 (softest) to 10 (firmest), with 6.5 being the industry standard for medium firmness.

Take a look at the chart below to see how we ranked the Puffy and Purple on the mattress firmness scale.

The Puffy and Purple mattresses on the mattress firmness scale.

Puffy

The Puffy is a medium firm mattress. If you’re a heavier person you may find the Puffy feels a little firmer because you’ll sink through its top layer and onto the firmer foams below. If you’re more lightweight, you might find the Puffy feels very soft because you don’t sink through its top layer.

I felt more “in” than “on” this mattress thanks to its plush memory foam layers. This soft feel could be a great fit for side sleepers or back sleepers who like some body-contouring. If you’re a fan of memory foam, the Puffy is probably going to feel more comfortable than the Purple to you.

Side sleeping on the Puffy

Purple

The Purple got a 7 out of 10 firmness rating, which means it’s a firm feeling mattress. I felt lifted up and out of this bed by its special Purple grid layer. I think that’s a great sign for combination sleepers who need mobility on their mattress to change positions at night. The Purple’s grid also shifts under your weight, so most sleepers should feel comfortable in multiple sleeping positions.

While the Purple is a bit too firm for strict side sleepers, back and stomach sleepers should find this bed comfortable. They should get a nice mix of pressure relief and support on the Purple. And if you only spend part of the night on your side, the Purple could work for you.

Purple Mattress Relax

Comparing What it’s Like to Sleep on the Puffy and the Purple

Since our experiences of a mattress can vary based on our primary sleeping positions and our size, I’ll go over here what sleeping on the Puffy or Purple will feel like for different types of sleepers.

Puffy

Back — The Puffy mattress should be a great choice for light to average weight back sleepers. They should get great spinal alignment and great pressure relief on any areas where they experience some pain, such as the lower back or hips. 

Side — The Puffy is also a great option for light to average weight side sleepers. The foam will offer really nice pressure relief on the shoulders and hips. 

Stomach — The softness of the Puffy mattress means that it’s not a great bed for stomach sleepers, who need something firmer to keep their hips elevated and aligned with their shoulders. 

Body Weight — Generally, I think light to average weight people will have the best experience on the Puffy. Heavier people, who weigh 250 lb or more, may not get the support they need from this all-foam mattress

Purple

Back — Overall, I’d say the Purple is a great mattress for back sleepers. It offers great pressure relief and will keep the spine aligned. The only thing I would caution is that if you suffer from back pain and tend to sleep on your back, you may want a firmer bed that will give you a little more support.

Side — The Purple is also a great choice for side sleepers. The polymer layer provides nice contouring that will take some pressure off your hips and shoulders. If you do have hip pain though, I’d recommend a slightly softer mattress.

Stomach — Generally, I thought the Purple was not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. I’d recommend something firmer that will keep their hips elevated to prevent any lower back pain from developing.

Body Weight — Like the Puffy, I think the Purple is a great mattress for light to average weight sleepers. However, I would not recommend it to heavier people, who weigh 250 lb or more, as it just won’t provide enough support.

Comparing Puffy and Purple Prices

Cost plays a huge role in deciding between two mattresses. You can compare pricing and sizing below. And be sure to visit our Purple mattress coupon or Puffy mattress coupon page to get a good deal!

Prices listed are before discount or offer on each size.

SizePurplePuffy
Twin$599$799
Twin XL$799$829
Full$999$999
Queen$1,149$1,149
King$1,449$1,349
California King$1,449$1,349

Purple vs Puffy

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5

Purple vs Puffy

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5
Product
Puffy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.2/5

Comparing Puffy and Purple Mattress Materials

Now that you know how these beds feel, let’s take a look at what they’re made of. I’m sure you’re curious about what that Purple grid actually looks like! Both of these mattresses are CertiPUR-US certified to be free from harmful chemicals and pollutants, so you can feel safe sleeping on them. Here’s a breakdown of mattress construction for the Puffy and the Purple.

Puffy

Cover Layer — The Puffy’s stain resistant cover feels nice and cozy to the touch.

Comfort Layer Next up is a layer of Cooling Cloud Foam, which is Puffy’s version of gel memory foam. This gel foam was designed to be temperature neutral, which is a nice perk for hot sleepers.

Transition Layer A layer of polyurethane foam, called Climate Comfort Foam, helps to cradle the body and ease sleepers down into the firm support layer below.

Base Layer A layer of high-density support foam shapes the Puffy. This layer is what helps support sleepers throughout the night.

Puffy Materials

Purple 

Cover — Purple uses a combo of polyester and lycra with a bit of viscose to create a thin, breathable mattress cover.

Comfort Layer Next up is the smart grid layer. Made of a hyper-elastic polymer, this grid has a quick response to pressure and creates walls that strategically collapse to release pressure in your hotspots (usually shoulders and hips) while retaining support everywhere else. It’s quite bouncy, sleeps cool, and it curves around your body like memory foam. I think this layer could be especially helpful for folks who suffer from back pain, since it will work to help you achieve a neutral spinal alignment.

Transition Layer A high-density poly foam layer helps ease sleepers down onto the Purple’s support layer.

Base Layer The base layer in the Purple is made of firm high-density poly foam. This layer shapes the mattress, providing support and durability.

Purple Mattress Materials

Purple vs Puffy

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5

Purple vs Puffy

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5
Product
Puffy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.2/5

Puffy vs Purple: Best Qualities

We have come to the end of our Puffy vs Purple comparison! Still not sure which mattress brand is right for you? Take a look at the summary below to decide.

Puffy Best Features

  • Considering its gentle construction, I’d say the Puffy could be an excellent choice for side sleepers after deep pressure relief at the shoulders and hips.
  • If you want to sleep in a cloud, Puffy is your choice as it embodies that classic memory foam feel.
  • Back sleepers who prefer a soft feel might really enjoy the body-contouring Puffy.

Puffy Mattress

The Puffy is an all-foam bed-in-a-box with a medium firmness that is great for a wide range of sleepers. It also does a good job of reducing aches and pains, thanks to its balance of support and pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Mattress

The Puffy is an all-foam bed-in-a-box with a medium firmness that is great for a wide range of sleepers. It also does a good job of reducing aches and pains, thanks to its balance of support and pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Mattress

The Puffy is an all-foam bed-in-a-box with a medium firmness that is great for a wide range of sleepers. It also does a good job of reducing aches and pains, thanks to its balance of support and pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Purple Best Features

  • The Purple offers a lot of mobility, so combination sleepers should be really comfortable on this bed.
  • You will sleep very cool on the Purple. The proprietary hyper-elastic foam does a great job of dissipating heat!
  • If you prefer a firmer feel, the Purple is the best option for you.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Comparing Company Policies

Puffy Policies

  • Trial Period101-night sleep trial
  • Shipping — Free
  • Mattress Warranty — Lifetime Warranty

Purple Policies

  • Trial Period100-night sleep trial
  • Shipping — Free
  • Mattress Warranty — 10-year Warranty

Comparing Puffy and Purple Customer Service 

Below, I’ll rate each mattress company’s customer service team based on my personal experiences with them. Possible ratings include Poor, Satisfactory, Great, and Stellar.

Puffy Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

Satisfactory: I was paired with a rep fairly quickly, but he took a long time responding to my questions. I did get a helpful answer in the end, but wasn’t sure how knowledgeable the representative was.

Purple Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating 

Stellar: Purple’s chat function is easy to find and access. I was paired with a helpful agent right away and they answered my question in detail.

Comparing Other Models from Puffy and Purple

The flagship Puffy and original Purple mattresses have been described in detail above, But both brands offer a few other models you might be curious about. Take a look below to see how they stack up against the original models.

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

  • This luxury mattress is Puffy’s most expensive option.
  • The Puffy Royal Hybrid is also offered in a less-bouncy all-foam model, which you can read about in my Puffy Royal mattress review.
  • This soft mattress is great for side sleepers and those who suffer from shoulder pain.
  • Learn more in my full Puffy Royal Hybrid mattress review.

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Purple Hybrid Mattresses

  • The Purple Hybrids combine the proprietary hyper-elastic polymer comfort layer with pocketed coils.
  • These hybrid mattresses are numbered from 2 to 4. The numbers correspond to the height of each bed’s grid layer. The taller the grid, the softer the mattress feels.
  • The Purple Hybrid 2 works well for stomach sleepers, the Purple Hybrid 3 (aka The Purple Hybrid Premier) is great for combo sleepers, and the Purple Hybrid 4 (another Premier model) should keep side sleepers happy.
  • Read all about these beds in my Purple Hybrid mattress review.

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Common Puffy and Purple Comparisons

Still not sure which mattress is best for you? Take a look at a few other common comparisons below for help.

Puffy Vs

Purple Vs

Purple vs Puffy

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5

Purple vs Puffy

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Puffy Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.2/5
Product
Puffy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.2/5

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.