We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Tuft and Needle Hybrid Mattress Review

Tuft & Needle has unveiled its first-ever hybrid model. After perfecting two all-foam mattresses, they’ve created a combination model of graphite-infused comfort foam and springy coils, designed to be pressure relieving, supportive, and super cool. 

But, is this mattress all it’s cracked up to be? I have personally tested this mattress and specifically target areas like motion transfer, edge support, pressure relief, firmness, and more, to provide you with the ultimate tell-all on the Tuft & Needle Hybrid. Let’s get started!

If you’re just passing through, take a quick look at my full review summary.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid a Good Mattress for You? 

Anyone shopping for a new, quality mattress likely keeps a mental list of their expectations and desires for the product. You should too! This is why I provide readers with recommendations for specific sleepers of all shapes and sizes. You should never settle for a bed that doesn’t check all your boxes. So, let’s see if the Tuft & Needle Hybrid will!

Who I recommend the Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress for

  •   Given its bouncy, supportive feel, I think the Hybrid could be a great fit for combo sleepers who need to move around and change positions in the night.
  • In general, the mobility of the mattress is a big selling point for the Hybrid, and differentiates it from the other Tuft & Needle beds.
  • Couples could also find a lot to love in the Hybrid’s extra edge support and decent motion transfer.  

Who I recommend the Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress for

  • There’s not a lot of body-contouring here, so may not be the best fit for strict side sleepers or those in need of deep pressure relief.
  • I’d also say that the Hybrid is just a touch too soft for stomach sleepers, who tend toward firmer structures that support a more neutral spine alignment.

How Firm is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress?

Now that you’ve read my recommendations, let’s dig into how the Hybrid feels, starting with firmness. We had a number of Sleepopolis experts test this mattress alongside, for the most accurate results possible. As with any feel-factor, firmness is a subjective measure that can change a lot depending on one’s body shape, size, and weight. So, my response to the Tuft & Needle Hybrid may be different from your own. For reference, I’m 5’10” and 190 pounds.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress firmness
I found the Tuft & Needle Hybrid to have a medium firmness

After stretching out in multiple positions, I decided to give the Tuft & Needle Hybrid a 6.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale, making it spot-on for the industry standard of a medium-firm. 

I gave the Hybrid a 6.5 because I found its bouncy pocketed coil system didn’t offset the gentle feel of the top layers of foam. That’s not to say the mattress isn’t sturdy and supportive (it is!), but the materials work together to strike a pleasant balance between lift and give. However, I’m not sure I’d recommend the Hybrid for strict-position sleepers; the coils provide great bounce, but being that they’re medium-firm, they could result in jamming overnight, especially for strict side sleepers. That being said, I think combo sleepers would probably be best-suited for this mattress.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Performance 

We use a variety of tools to test this mattress for features like weight, sleeping position, pressure relief, motion transfer, and more, that will be important for helping different sleepers decide if this bed is right for them. Let’s see how the Hybrid measures up for you!

Testing the Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Depending on your preferred sleeping position and weight, some mattresses will work for you, while others won’t. Below, you’ll find how I rated the Tuft & Needle Hybrid for these various sleepers.

Side sleeping on the Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress
Testing out the Tuft & Needle Hybrid for side sleepers

Is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – With the balance of the foam and coil layers, I think this mattress would feel especially great for these sleepers.
  • Light Side Sleepers –  I think this bed is going to feel a bit too firm for these sleepers. I’d steer them to a softer mattress.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Since lighter sleepers may feel a bed as  firm than advertised, I think the Tuft & Needle Hybrid would suit this sleeper.

Is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers –  These sleepers will be pleased as the foam layer of this mattress will provide some nice pressure relief at the lumbar region, and the springy coils will offer spinal support.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers –  Side sleepers looking for added support could be happy on this bed, but those with shoulder or hip pain should opt for something softer.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers –  This mattress isn’t going to be firm enough for these sleepers, who need more support to keep their hips from sinking out of line with their shoulders.

Is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – Being on the softer side of the firmness scale, this mattress won’t offer enough support for heavy sleepers. I recommend these sleepers check out our best mattresses for heavy people.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – See above.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – See above.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Pain Relief Performance

When I refer to pressure relief, I’m basically talking about how well (or not well) a mattress is able to alleviate tension in the shoulders, hips, and lower back. To demonstrate this, I like to use a handy-dandy pressure map.

It works like this: I roll out the map, hop aboard, and let the gadget do the rest! As I move around, my body presses into the device, which then records this force and translates it into an easy-to-read graphic. Areas of blue indicate low pressure and areas of red indicate high pressure!

Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress motion transfer
Pressure map results for the Tuft & Needle Hybrid

Many people suffer from back, shoulder, and hip pain, and the wrong mattress won’t do you any favors. It’s important to know how a bed will perform for you when you’re not your best, and I’ve separated each for you here.

Back Pain – A side sleeper with back pain needs a soft, yet supportive, mattress and I think the Hybrid would suit them well. Stomach sleepers will initially like the cushiony feel on top, but will find that they sink into the bed and their spine becomes misaligned. As for back sleepers, I think the combination of pressure relief and support of the lower back will offer them what they need.

Shoulder Pain – I don’t think there’s enough body contouring in this bed to provide the pressure relief a side sleeper with shoulder pain needs. Since a stomach sleeper usually needs a firmer lift with a bit of a plushier give, I could see this bed working in their favor. I also think that back sleepers would experience relief, as my spine felt most aligned and supported here.

Hip Pain – Similarly with shoulder pain, this mattress isn’t likely to provide the pressure relief or contouring that a side sleeper needs. While sleeping on my stomach, my hips sank out of line with my shoulders, which can further hip pain.When it comes to back sleepers, I think that the foam could work to your benefit to offer lumbar support and relieve pressure.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Performance for Couples

Double the humans equals double the heat, and two hot sleepers aren’t better than one. In addition to cooling features, there are many mattress characteristics that go into a couple’s decision to make a purchase.  In this section, we’ll cover motion transfer, edge support, sex, and of course, cooling. Cozy up with your special someone and get to reading!

Motion Transfer 

Motion transfer, or the amount of movement detectable from one side of a bed to the other, is an important measure for all sleepers, especially couples, as it simulates how disturbing your bedmate’s tossing and turning might be in the night.

To illustrate  motion transfer, I dropped a 10-pound steel ball from heights of 4 inches, 8 inches and 12 inches and measured the disturbance it caused: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress sinkage test
I thought the motion transfer results for the Tuft & Needle hybrid were pretty impressive

These are pretty decent results, considering how bouncy the bed is. However, you are still likely to feel some movement in the night, particularly if your partner is a restless sleeper.

Sex

The thin, transition layer of coils beneath the layers of foam, plus the pocketed springs, make for  great bounce in this mattress. There is healthy balance of support and bouncability that makes this mattress good for sex.

Cooling 

Two people create more heat than one. Thankfully, the Tuft & Needle is great for cooling. Its top layer of foam is infused with graphite, which has thermoregulating properties. I would definitely recommend this mattress for hot sleepers.

Edge Support

Edge support tests whether the edges of the bed are sturdy enough to support you when you roll toward them or sleep on the edge. Couples will want a mattress with good edge support that will allow each partner to take advantage of more of the bed’s surface area.

The Tuft & Needle has pretty good edge support. Though it’s not the best I’ve seen, you’ll feel relatively sturdy sleeping all the way on the edge of this bed without it sagging.

What is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Made Of? 

While the Original and Mint mattresses feature relatively straightforward designs built entirely of foam, the Hybrid has a much more complex construction. Here, six layers of T&N Adaptive® foam, transitional coils, and pocketed springs come together to form a bouncy and supportive structure.

To see how it all works, let’s go through the layers one by one!

The Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

Comfort Layer – Up top, you’ll find 1 inch of quilted comfort foam. This soft material is built with an open-cell foam construction, so it offers breathability and cooling. The foam is also carbon fiber-infused, which further helps with temperature regulation.

Pressure Relief – Beneath the quilted pillow top, you’ll land on 2 inches of the brand’s Adaptive® foam. Though this material has a quick response to pressure points for a bit of lively lift, it’s also quite gentle, so should provide some nice pressure relief to the shoulders and hips. Additionally, the material is infused with graphite and cooling gel beads, which works to draw heat away from the body and dissipate it evenly throughout the structure.

Mobility – Next up, Tuft & Needle has slipped in a thin transitional layer of coils. This section is meant to support the layers of foam above it while gradually easing the sleeper into the firmer sections of the mattress. It also brings some nice bounce to the mattress!

Transition – This layer of Adaptive® foam works in tandem with the coils above it to transition the sleeper into the firm pocketed coils below.

Support Layer – The bulk of the mattress is composed of this 6-inch section of pocketed springs, which provides a healthy amount of bounce and support to the structure. Combo sleepers will surely appreciate the springs’ buoyant lift, as it makes moving around and changing positions a breeze. There’s also a layer of edge support wrapped around these coils, which expands the usable surface area of the mattress. This could be a big plus for couples who need to spread out and use the entire bed.

Base – And finally, the base of the bed consisted here of 1-inch of high-quality poly foam. This layer functions mostly to give the springs above it something upon which to react and rebound.

Thoughts: There’s a lot going on in this construction, but it comes together to support a structure that strikes a nice balance between bounce and pressure relief. I think combo sleepers will be particularly satisfied with this vibe, as well as couples, who might benefit most from the added edge support.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress construction
Showing the materials used in the layers of the Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

Tuft & Needle recommends having a friend help you unbox their bed-in-a-box product, but they also say it’s doable solo, as long as you’ve got scissors. Once you unbox your mattress, you may find that it emits a unique smell. It’s a result of the vacuum packaged foam, which is nothing to worry about. Let your mattress rest and any smells should dissipate within a few hours.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

My Final Thoughts about Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

Before we finish up this deep dive into all things Tuft & Needle Hybrid, let’s revisit my personal highs and lows after testing the mattress. 

My favorite things about Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with its impressive edge support and motion transfer.

My Tuft & Needle Hybrid mattress complaints 

I wasn’t blown away by the body-contouring abilities of this mattress, making it a poor option for side sleepers and those in need of additional pressure relief. I also think that this mattress will not measure up for strict stomach sleepers. I found it to be a bit too plush, compared to the level of firmness that those sleepers need. Finally, compared to other brands on the market, I found this mattress to be a bit expensive.

How Much Does the Tuft & Needle Hybrid Cost? 

Below, you’ll find our pricing chart that includes every size, measurement, and price available for the Hybrid, all the way from Twin to Cal King.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress

I really like how this mattress best suits combination sleepers because everyone doesn’t always stick to one sleeping position. I also think that this mattress is a great choice for couples, with impressive edge support and motion transfer.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

SizeDimensionsWeightPrice
Twin39" x 75" x 12"72 lbs$995
Twin XL39" x 80" x 12"77 lbs$1,095
Full54" x 75" x 12"94 lbs$1,395
Queen60" x 80" x 12"112 lbs$1,695
King76" x 80" x 12"138 lbs$1,895
Cali King72" x 84" x 12"139 lbs$1,895

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Policies and FAQs

What is the cost of shipping?

They offer free shipping within 3 to 7 days, and free returns.

Does this company offer a trial period?

Yes, they offer a 100-night sleep trial.

Does this mattress have a warranty?

Tuft & Needle offers a 10-year limited warranty.

Do I need a box spring for this mattress?

No, as long as your current support, like a foundation or frame, is still doing its job, there is no need to purchase a box spring.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress Vs  

If you’re considering the Hybrid for your next mattress, it’s likely you’re taking a look at others too. I think it’s a great idea to weigh your options, so I’ve taken a little off your plate by comparing the Tuft & Needle Hybrid with some competitors. Let’s go!

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress vs Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

  • The Puffy has weak edge support, while the Tuft & Needle has extra edge support and a decent amount of motion transfer.
  • Both mattresses have cooling features. The Puffy has gel-infused cooling foam, while the Tuft & Needle has graphite and ceramic gel beads.
  • The Puffy is nearly double the price of the Tuft & Needle.
  • Learn more in our full Puffy Royal Hybrid mattress review.

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Royal Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Royal Hybrid combines thick layers of slow-response memory foam with individually pocketed coils for a luxurious, contouring feel with just a little bit of bounce.

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 4/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress vs Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Tuft & Needle

We know the Hybrid, but we haven’t yet met its sister models. Meet the Original and Mint mattresses from Tuft & Needle. Let’s see how they compete with the Hybrid!

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress vs Original Tuft & Needle Mattress

  • The Original Tuft & Needle mattress is an all-foam bed built with just two layers.
  • This straightforward design produces a firm feel that works best for back and stomach sleepers.
  • Additionally, it’s also a great value buy.
  • For more information, check out my full Tuft & Needle Original mattress review.

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress vs Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress

  • The Mint is more expensive than the Original, but less expensive than the T&N Hybrid 
  • The Mint puts a more luxurious spin on the Original Tuft & Needle with an extra foam layer for pressure relief.
  • In general, this bed has a soft, gentle feel that could make it a good pick for strict side sleepers.
  • For more on the Tuft & Needle Mint, read the full review. You can also check out our comparison between the Original and Mint models.

Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress

The Tuft & Needle Mint is an awesome budget mattress that combines high-quality materials with a low price tag. I’d highly recommend it to budget shoppers looking for a soft feel. This mattress is also really cooling for an all-foam bed, so it's great for hot sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress

The Tuft & Needle Mint is an awesome budget mattress that combines high-quality materials with a low price tag. I’d highly recommend it to budget shoppers looking for a soft feel. This mattress is also really cooling for an all-foam bed, so it's great for hot sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mint Mattress

The Tuft & Needle Mint is an awesome budget mattress that combines high-quality materials with a low price tag. I’d highly recommend it to budget shoppers looking for a soft feel. This mattress is also really cooling for an all-foam bed, so it's great for hot sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Review Process

Our Sleepopolis reviewers personally test each mattress. We start by unboxing the mattress to figure out how difficult (or easy) it is to get the mattress from the box to the bed. Then, we spend time laying on the bed in different positions, taking time to assess it on our backs, stomachs, and sides. Next, we perform our Sleepopolis tests, using specialized tools to measure qualities like motion transfer, bounce, and pressure relief. Our last step is to open up the mattress and take a look at each layer. These steps allow us to give our final verdict on the mattress. Jump back to our mattress picks.

Take a look at how the Tuft & Needle Hybrid stacks up on our star chart below.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
3.9
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.