We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Layla vs Purple Review

To flip or not to flip? That is the question, at least in this comparison! The Layla mattress is a flippable mattress, while the Purple is a traditional non-flippable bed-in-a-box. However, the Purple features hyper-elastic polymer and a Smart Comfort Grid, innovations meant to improve its adaptability without the need to flip anything! Is the flippable mattress just a gimmick, or does the Layla provide more options than the one-sided Purple mattress?

I will compare the Purple’s unique polymer grid to the newly redesigned construction of the Layla mattress. We’ll dig into how these online mattresses feel to the initial touch and over the course of a night. Both of these companies took risks to create a unique sleeping experience in these mattresses. I want to see which ones work!

Let’s move right into this Layla vs Purple comparison! Are you a little short on time? Feel free to skip to my review summary!

Layla vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Layla Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Layla vs Purple

Layla Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Product
Layla Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Layla vs Purple: Which is Better for You?

As we begin our comparison between the Layla and the Purple mattresses, I want to sum up the major points to help you determine which mattress may be best for you.

Who Should Buy Layla

  • If you are looking for a soft, plush mattress, the Layla mattress probably has more options for you. Its soft side is significantly softer than the industry standard. Even on its firm side, it still maintains that classic memory foam mattress feel of sinking into the mattress. 
  • It is also one of my favorite mattresses for side sleepers who need pressure relief in the shoulders and hips
  • The Layla mattress has a slightly longer trial period than the Purple mattress, as well as a lifetime warranty.

Who Should Buy Purple

  • Combo sleepers should enjoy the mobility and bounce that the polymer in the original Purple mattress provides. 
  • Back sleepers should find a lot to enjoy here as well because the Purple has enough support to keep the spinal alignment in this position.
  • The Purple also sleeps pretty cool, thanks to its unique Grid technology, which offers airflow and breathability.

Layla vs Purple: Similarities and Differences

Main Similarities 

Layla vs Purple
Layla mattress with the soft side up
  • Adaptability – Although they achieve this in different ways, both the Layla and the Purple are built to adapt to the needs of individual sleepers. We will go over exactly how they do this in the comparison, but here’s the gist: One flips and the other uses a unique grid structure. (FYI, both mattresses have relatively poor edge support.)
  • Pressure relief – Both mattresses seem to be built for sleepers who are looking for tension relief during the night. The Layla uses memory foam, and the Purple employs an adaptable smart grid of hyper-elastic polymer.
  • Temperature regulation – The Layla uses copper-infused memory foam (not all memory foam mattresses can say that!) The copper infusion helps dissipate body heat. The Purple uses a smart comfort grid to help regulate temperature by providing airflow. Hot sleepers in need of some airflow, take note.

Main Differences 

Purple Mattress in bedroom
The Purple Mattress
  • Sleepers who want a feeling of deep pressure relief should enjoy the body-contouring of the soft mattress cover and memory foam comfort layer of the Layla. In general, the softer side of the Layla provides a better profile for strict side sleepers while providing enough support for strict back sleepers to retain good spinal alignment. Stomach sleepers, however, will likely need something firmer. When the firmer side of the bed is up, it does not really provide enough support foam to change this narrative.
  • The Purple provides a good balance between a softer memory foam mattress feel and the traditional bounciness of an innerspring mattress. The layer of hyper-elastic polymer keeps the bed bouncy without transferring too much motion across the mattress. Being able to easily switch positions is a feature that combo sleepers should find attractive with this mattress. Strict back sleepers should also find the Purple’s mix of sink and support good for a comfortable night’s sleep while maintaining spinal alignment.
  • The Layla and the Purple seem to work best for different types of sleepers. The softer side of the Layla could be a great choice for sleepers who want to sink into the mattress, while the Purple provides enough buoyancy to make moving positions in the night a breeze. 

Layla vs Purple Mattress Feel Comparison

The Layla and the Purple have considerable differences in construction, which we have gone over. But how do those differences actually feel? This section of the comparison should help you determine which mattress will respond best to your specific body type, shape, and weight.

Firmness is one of the most important attributes of a mattress, which is why I test for it first. I use a firmness scale with a range of 1 (soft) to 10 (hard), with 6.5 being the industry standard for medium firmness. Because firmness is subjective, I test for it with colleagues of different body types. The numbers you see below represent the average of what we found. Note: I tested for firmness on both sides of the Layla, as it is a flippable mattress.

Layla vs Purple firmness

Layla

On its soft side, we gave the Layla a 5.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale (softer than the industry standard). The firm side came in at a 6.5 out of 10, which is right at the industry standard for medium firmness. Regardless of which side is up, the Layla does provide a good level of body contouring because of the memory foam comfort layers on both sides. There is a bit more sinkage on the soft side, and the firm side provides a feeling of being slightly more on top of the mattress.

Layla Firm and Soft sides
Both sides of the Layla mattress

Strict side sleepers will probably find more comfort on the soft side of the Layla as a result of the pressure relief in the shoulder area for side sleepers. However, the memory foam that provides this pressure relief may cause combo sleepers to feel stuck in the mattress when switching positions. Sleepers who need more support in the hips and the lower back may find the firm side of the Layla more comfortable, although strict stomach sleepers will probably not find the support they need here.

Purple

I gave the Purple an average firmness rating of 6.5 out of 10, which matches up with the firm side of the Layla. This does not mean they feel the same. The hyper-elastic polymer grid has a unique feel that can be divisive. Although the grid can strategically collapse to provide pressure relief in very localized areas of the body, many people simply may not be used to this. One distinct advantage of polymer is its bounciness — a feature that should help combo sleepers switch positions easily.

Purple Hand Press Grid
Pressing into the comfort grid of the Purple mattress

Back sleepers should find that the Purple provides good spinal alignment, although it does not give the same soft contouring feel like a memory foam mattress. Combo/side sleepers should get good mobility, with the side effect of a slightly firmer feel.

Although both mattresses share a firmness rating, the differences in construction may cause subtle differences in performance. For instance, strict side sleepers may get a bit more pressure relief out of the Layla than the Purple. However, combo sleepers may prefer the mobility that the polymer grid in the Purple provides. The Purple also sleeps a bit cooler because it contains no memory foam, which is known to trap body heat. 

Comparing What it’s Like to Sleep on the Layla and the Purple

We’re all different, and whether it’s internal or external, it affects our sleep experience. Maybe you’re worried about motion isolation or perhaps firmness, but characteristics like your body weight and preferred sleeping position will play the biggest role in how a mattress may work for you. So, is the Purple or Layla a good mattress for you? Let’s check them out.

Layla

Back — Back sleepers could do okay on the firm side of the Layla, but it could also be too firm for some as well.

Side — I don’t think the firm side of the Layla mattress would work for side sleepers, but the extra soft side will top it all, offering premium sinkage and pressure relief to the pressure points in the shoulders and hips.

Stomach — I think that the firmer side of the Layla mattress will do a good job for stomach sleepers since it will keep the spine supported and help them feel more “on top” of the mattress rather than “stuck-in” it.

Body Weight — I don’t think either side of the flippable Layla will have the durability or support a heavier sleeper needs. I’d recommend one of our best mattresses for heavy people instead. I think that most lighter sleepers will be able to pick a side on the flippable Layla, but back sleepers may need something more in the middle in terms of firmness.

Purple

Back — I’d recommend the Purple to back sleepers. I think that it will conform nicely around the lower back, but not too much, for some comforting yet soft support.

Side — Side sleepers will appreciate the contouring provided by the polymer layer, however, hip pain sufferers should look out as they may need something even plusher.

Stomach — I think stomach sleepers would prefer something that keeps them more lifted and on top of the mattress to support their spine.

Body Weight — Heavier sleepers will do better on a hybrid or innerspring mattress that offers more durability and support. On the flip side, I found much to love for all lightweight and average-weight sleepers with the Purple.

Comparing Layla and Purple Prices

Thinking of the Layla or the Purple as a potential new mattress? Let’s talk about price. Whether you want a twin XL or a queen, the best bed for you will match your budget. Take a look at our Layla coupon page and our Purple coupon page for the latest deals. 

Prices listed will be before discount or offer for each size.

SizeLaylaPurple
Twin$499$649
Twin XL$599$699
Full$799$899
Queen$899$999
King$999$1,299
California King$999$1,299

Layla vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Layla Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Layla vs Purple

Layla Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Product
Layla Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Comparing Layla and Purple Mattress Materials

Now that you know how these two beds’ prices compare, let’s get into the differences that may affect your buying decision. I will go over the most important points here. For even more details, check out my full reviews of the Layla and Purple

Layla

  • Cover – Over the top layer of the Layla, there is a polyester blend mattress cover with a gel infusion. The polyester is soft to the touch, while the gel infusion dissipates heat to help the mattress sleep cool. The Purple uses a mix of viscose and lycra for temperature regulation instead of gel.
  • Comfort LayerBelow the cooling mattress cover, you’ll find 3 inches of copper-infused memory foam. This material has a slow response to pressure, so contours to the body for some pleasant relief.  There are studies that indicate copper may help with cooling and blood circulation, properties that counter memory foam’s tendency to trap body heat. This layer accounts for much of the difference and feel between the Layla and the Purple because the Purple has no memory foam at all.
  • Transition LayerAfter the memory foam, 2 inches of high-density poly foam provide cradling support and help to transition the sleeper into the firmer parts of the Layla. It is firmer than the comfort level above it with a quicker response to pressure.
  • Support Layer An even firmer layer of high-density poly foam provides the base support layer for the Layla with the soft side of the mattress up. Flip the Layla, and this layer is now closer to the sleeper for a firmer level of support.
  • Firm Comfort – 1 inch of copper-infused memory foam provides a thin transition layer between the sleeper and the high-density poly foam support layer next to it. On the firm side, this memory foam gives the sleeper some pressure relief while remaining firm to the touch.

Thoughts: Different materials on either side of the Layla provide two distinct feels for the sleeper depending on the flip. I will go more into what this means later, but sleepers do have a choice of firmness level depending on their personal preferences and sleeping positions. Though the mattress flips, strict back sleepers should find a good mix of body contouring and spinal support on both sides of the Layla.

Layla vs Purple construction

Purple

  • Cover – The cover on the Purple is made of a blend of viscose, lycra, and polyester. Together, these materials create a breathable fabric that helps the Purple sleep cool. Lycra is known for its temperature regulating properties as a substance often found in sports clothing.
  • Comfort Layer – Underneath the cover, 2 inches of the hyper-elastic polymer provides cradling support for the body. Unlike the memory foam in the Layla’s comfort layer, the hyper-elastic polymer has a lively, rubbery feel to it that allows for a satisfying combination of sink and bounce. The grid structure gives the Purple a unique feel because the support and pressure relief each grid provides depend on the sleeper’s body weight. The open nature of the grid also helps with airflow, helping the Purple to sleep cool.
  • Transition Layer – Below the grid, the Purple has 3.25 inches of poly foam as a transition layer between the polymer and the firm base below. Its firm support helps to keep sleepers on top of the bed, which is usually a good thing for combo sleepers.
  • Base Layer – Finally, 4 inches of high-density poly foam provide the Purple shape and base support. This is a fairly common material in bed-in-a-box mattresses, so there is nothing hugely unique to report here.

Thoughts: The adaptability of the Purple comes from the special grid of hyper-elastic polymer, which responds with more or less pressure relief based on body weight. The result is a bed that can provide different levels of support and pressure relief as needed depending on the sleeper.

Layla vs Purple: Best Qualities

Before we end this comparison, here are my most important takeaways from the Layla and Purple. This summary should help you make a decision if you are on the fence.

Layla Best Features

Back sleeping on the Layla firm side
Trying out the firm side of the Layla mattress
  • Strict side sleepers should find the soft side of the Layla mattress quite comfortable because of the pressure relief in the shoulders.
  • Layla offers a trial period that’s 20 nights longer than Purple, as well as a lifetime warranty compared to Purple’s 10 years.
  • The Layla mattress has a classic memory foam mattress vibe that provides good body contouring and plenty of cushiony sinkage. 

Layla Mattress

The Layla is an all-foam, flippable bed featuring both a “Soft” and “Firm” side. It’s also built with copper-infused memory foam, which brings some pleasant cooling power to this versatile slumber party.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Mattress

The Layla is an all-foam, flippable bed featuring both a “Soft” and “Firm” side. It’s also built with copper-infused memory foam, which brings some pleasant cooling power to this versatile slumber party.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Mattress

The Layla is an all-foam, flippable bed featuring both a “Soft” and “Firm” side. It’s also built with copper-infused memory foam, which brings some pleasant cooling power to this versatile slumber party.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Best Features

Stomach sleeping on the Purple mattress
Stomach sleeping on the Purple mattress
  • Combo sleepers should appreciate the bounce and mobility of the Purple from the polymer grid, as it allows them to easily switch positions.
  • If you tend to overheat at night, the Purple sleeps quite cool because it does not contain any heat-absorbing memory foam.
  • I also loved the Purple for back sleepers. It keeps the spine supported and in a healthy, neutral alignment, which is especially important for these folks.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Comparing Company Policies

Layla Policies

  • Trial Period – 120-night money-back guarantee
  • Shipping – Free shipping
  • Mattress Warranty – Lifetime warranty

Purple Policies

  • Trial Period – 100-night sleep trial
  • Shipping – Free shipping and free returns (However, additional shipping fees will apply for Alaska and Hawaii in the USA. For shopping in Canada, you can go through Sleep Country Canada on Purple’s website.)
  • Mattress Warranty – 10-year warranty

Comparing Layla and Purple Customer Service 

Here at Sleepopolis, we have a scale that we use to rate the quality of our customer service experience with each of the mattress companies we compare. Our ratings include Stellar, Great, Satisfactory, and Poor. Let’s see how Layla and Purple did! 

Layla Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

  • Great: When I got to the Layla site, I couldn’t immediately find the chat button. I didn’t locate it until I clicked on a mattress option. When the pop-up expanded, Layla offered the three most popular questions to choose from, but I saw a notification that I’d gotten a message so I decided to enter a chat instead. It was a bot message quoting some of their reviews. I then asked for a representative and was messaged by someone within 30 seconds.

Purple Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating 

  • Stellar: When I entered the Purple site, I quickly located the Live Chat button in the bottom right corner. Next, I was asked by a bot how they could help me and had the option to choose Sales or Support. They also offered a number to call a sleep expert as well. I chose Support and entered my name and email address. I was connected with a live representative within one minute and they were extremely pleasant and eager to offer me assistance.

Comparing Other Models from Layla and Purple

Purple Hybrid & Hybrid Premiers (Purple 2, Purple 3, Purple 4)

The Layla offers a hybrid model, the Layla Hybrid, while Purple offers a variety of other mattresses! The comparison between the two would not be complete without a short comparison of Purple against its siblings, the Purple Hybrid (2) and Hybrid Premier 3 and 4  models.

  • The numbers are based on the inches of hyper-elastic polymer present in each mattress, so the Purple 2 has two inches, the Purple 3 has three inches, and the Purple 4 has four inches. 
  • These Purple mattresses put hyper-elastic polymer over pocketed coils, while the original Purple does not have coils.
  • Each of these Purple mattresses feature good bounce and levels of support because of the coils.
  • The price range of these Purple mattresses is more expensive than the original Purple or the Layla mattress.
  • Learn more about these models in the Purple Hybrid mattress review.

The Layla Hybrid

  • The Layla Hybrid is a hybrid bed with coils and foam in its construction, while the original Layla is an all-foam mattress. 
  • The Hybrid is a flippable model as well. The firmness levels on each side are very similar to the original Layla mattress. 
  • Bouncier than the all-foam Layla, I’d definitely steer combination sleepers in the direction of this hybrid model. 
  • Learn more in the full Layla Hybrid mattress review.

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Common Layla and Purple Comparisons

Layla vs

Purple vs

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.