We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Nectar vs DreamCloud Mattress Comparison

If you’ve wound up here, chances are you’re trying to decide between buying a Nectar or DreamCloud mattress. And I get it — these are two of the most popular bed-in-a-box mattresses on the market, known for being irresistibly plush and pressure-relieving. But which one is the best and, more importantly, which one is best for you?

To find out, take a peek at my full Nectar vs DreamCloud mattress comparison! I dive deep to reveal each bed’s strengths so you can make the purchasing decision that’s going to be 100% right for you.

Short on time? Skip down to my review summary.

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.2/5
DreamCloud Mattress
Soft: 4.5/10
4.7/5

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.2/5
Product
DreamCloud Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 4.5/10
Score
4.7/5

DreamCloud vs. Nectar: Similarities and Differences

Before we get into the small details, I’ll cover a few key similarities and differences between these two beds. However, I do encourage you to check out my full Nectar mattress review and DreamCloud mattress review for an even clearer picture.

Main Similarities

DreamCloud Mattress
The DreamCloud in the Sleepopolis studio.
  • Both the Nectar and the DreamCloud are built with pressure relief in mind. This means they’re engineered to alleviate tension at sensitive spots along the body.
  • The Nectar and the DreamCloud are in a similar price range, so you’ll really be able to focus on each bed’s features when choosing your new mattress.

Main Differences

The Nectar Mattress
The Nectar mattress in the Sleepopolis bedroom.
  • The DreamCloud is a luxury hybrid mattress, which means it includes pocketed coils and foams, whereas the Nectar is a memory foam mattress.
  • The DreamCloud sleeps cooler than the all-foam Nectar thanks to its hybrid construction.
  • You’ll feel more “on top of” the DreamCloud, and more “hugged by” the Nectar. Depending on your needs, this feel difference could determine which bed you choose.

Which is Better for You?

Depends on how you sleep! But check out the list below for a few pointers.

  • If you’re a combination sleeper you might prefer the DreamCloud, which is bouncier than the Nectar.
  • If you’re a side sleeper the Nectar’s deep sinkage and pressure relieving capabilities should appeal to you.
  • If you’re a back sleeper and prefer a firmer feel, the DreamCloud is the better choice. But if you like a bit of body-contouring,  you might prefer the Nectar.
  • If you’re a hot sleeper you should opt for the DreamCloud. Or check out one of our best cooling mattress options.
  • If you struggle with shoulder pain the Nectar’s pressure-relieving memory foams should offer you a bit of relief.
  • If you’re a stomach sleeper, neither of these beds will be quite firm enough for you. I’d recommend taking a look at some of our best mattresses for stomach sleepers instead.

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.2/5
DreamCloud Mattress
Soft: 4.5/10
4.7/5

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.2/5
Product
DreamCloud Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 4.5/10
Score
4.7/5

Comparing DreamCloud and Nectar Mattress Feel

Now that you have an overview of each bed, it’s time to get into how these bad boys feel. To start, let’s take a moment to chat firmness.

Since every sleeper is going to experience firmness a little differently (depending on body shape, size, weight, and your preferred sleeping positions), I always like to invite a few of my coworkers to test out the bed along with me. Once we’ve each given it a look, we share our personal firmness ratings with one another, and then average them out together for the scores you see below.

Nectar Vs Dreamcloud Firmness
The Nectar and DreamCloud have about the same firmness level.

Nectar

There was some variation in our responses, but we did end up landing on an average firmness rating of 7 out of 10 on the firmness scale. The industry standard for medium firmness is 6.5 out of 10, so this bed is just a bit firmer than average.

I found the Nectar’s thick layers of memory foam produced a gentle, pressure-relieving vibe. No matter the position I stretched out in, I could feel myself sinking deeply into the structure, with the memory foam contouring snugly to my curves. I will note that some folks may find memory foam has a softer feel as it gradually hugs the body.

Though this deep sinkage and body-contouring could work wonders for alleviating tension on pressure points and may be a best mattress for shoulder pain (making it a great fit for side sleepers), it does mean you’re likely to feel more “in” the mattress than “on top” of it. This “stuck-in-the-bed” feel could be particularly ill-suited for combo sleepers who need to move around and change positions in the night.

The Nectar can also work for back sleepers, especially since it’s slightly on the firmer side. Back sleepers who appreciate a classic memory foam feel could be quite happy on the Nectar.

Back laying on Nectar mattress
A look at the sinkage on the Nectar.

DreamCloud

My testers and I gave the DreamCloud an average firmness rating of 7 out of 10, which means this is a firm feeling mattress. Though some of my coworkers thought the DreamCloud had more of a medium-firm feel. 

The DreamCloud’s pocketed coil system does quite a lot to lift the sleeper up and out of the structure. While you’ll likely feel some slight sinkage into the top foam layers, the individually wrapped coils make up a huge portion of the bed and create a lot of lift.

This could be a solid fit for a wide range of sleepers, though I think it would probably be best suited for combo sleepers who need to change positions easily. The mobility on the DreamCloud is really fantastic, and is especially effective because it doesn’t dampen the bed’s ability to relieve pressure across the body (as other hybrid mattresses on the market tend to).

Side sleeping on the DreamCloud.
Side sleeping on the DreamCloud.

Comparing Nectar and DreamCloud Prices

And finally, let’s talk price. Check out the table below to compare prices and sizes. You can also use our DreamCloud coupon code or current Nectar coupon to save a little bit of money.

Prices listed are before discount or offer for each size.

SizeNectarDreamCloud
Twin$798$899
Twin XL$968$999
Full$1,198$1,099
Queen$1,298$1,199
King$1,598$1,399
California King$1,598$1,399

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.2/5
DreamCloud Mattress
Soft: 4.5/10
4.7/5

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.2/5
Product
DreamCloud Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 4.5/10
Score
4.7/5

Comparing Nectar and DreamCloud Mattress Materials

To give you an even clearer picture of these beds I’m going to dissect each mattress’s respective construction layer-by-layer. I’ll start off with the Nectar Mattress.

Nectar

Cover — The cover is made of polyester and nylon quilted blend. It has a soft and cozy feel and is breathable, which promotes airflow through the mattress.

Comfort Layer — Directly below the cover, you’ll find a top layer of cushioning gel memory foam. This material has an incredibly slow response to pressure, allowing for deep sinkage and body-contouring. This could be nice for strict side sleepers.

Transition Layer — Up next you’ll encounter a transition layer of what Nectar calls soft conventional foam. This foam has a quicker response to pressure than the one above it and is meant to ease the sleeper into the firmer base and extend contouring.

Foundation Layer — Rounding out the construction we’ve got 7 inches of high-density poly foam. This section gives the bed its stability and shape, providing a firm foundation for the softer foams.

Nectar Original Construction
Taking a look inside the Nectar.

Thoughts: That’s a whole lot of memory foam, meaning most folks are going to sink deeply into the Nectar for some intense pressure relief. It also means this mattress will have great motion isolation, which is a nice perk for couples.

DreamCloud

Cover — Made of a cashmere blend, this cover is luxuriously soft. The cashmere top is also quilted with memory foam, which provides the sleeper with some instant pressure relief.

Comfort Layer — Next is a layer of high-density gel memory foam that offers slow sinkage and pressure relief. 

Transition Layer — Next up is a layer of poly foam to help ease you onto the pocketed coil support system. This layer provides some gentle support that back sleepers might appreciate.

Support Layer The bottom layer of foam transitions into the firm pocketed coil support system. These individually wrapped springs give the bed some excellent bounce, and help to promote airflow throughout the structure. 

Base Layer — A thin layer of high-density poly foam cradles the pocketed coils and provides a foundation for the mattress.

A look inside the DreamCloud.A look inside the DreamCloud.
A look inside the DreamCloud.

Thoughts: Several layers of gentle foam and firm coils make for a balanced construction that could be great for combo sleepers.

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Soft: 6/10
4.2/5
DreamCloud Mattress
Soft: 4.5/10
4.7/5

Nectar vs DreamCloud

Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 6/10
Score
4.2/5
Product
DreamCloud Mattress
Firmness
Soft: 4.5/10
Score
4.7/5

DreamCloud vs Nectar: Best Qualities

To close things out, I’m going to provide a quick recap of all my favorite features each bed has to offer.

Nectar Best Features

Nectar mattress side sleeping
The memory foam of the Nectar is great for side sleepers.
  • The Nectar is a nice option for back sleepers since it provides an ideal combination of pressure relief and support to promote a neutral spinal alignment while on one’s back.
  • In general, I’d recommend this mattress to any and all memory foam fans as it perfectly embodies the aspects of the material.
  • The Nectar is great for sleepers looking for a plush feel and lots of sinkage.

Nectar Mattress

The original Nectar mattress is a pressure-relieving, yet supportive, bed. It’s made with a thick layer of gel memory foam, which allows the sleeper to really sink into its surface.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar Mattress

The original Nectar mattress is a pressure-relieving, yet supportive, bed. It’s made with a thick layer of gel memory foam, which allows the sleeper to really sink into its surface.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar Mattress

The original Nectar mattress is a pressure-relieving, yet supportive, bed. It’s made with a thick layer of gel memory foam, which allows the sleeper to really sink into its surface.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

DreamCloud Best Features

Back sleeping on the DreamCloud
The DreamCloud is a nice choice for back sleepers.
  • A mixed construction of pocketed coils and foams makes the DreamCloud a wonderful firm option for back sleepers.
  • Combination sleepers should appreciate the responsiveness of the DreamCloud mattress, they won’t have trouble changing positions at night on this bed.
  • Couples might like the DreamCloud. This mattress has good edge support, and its medium firm feel should appeal to most sleepers.

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Comparing Company Policies

DreamCloud Policies

  • Trial Period —365 Nights
  • Shipping —Free
  • Warranty — Lifetime

Nectar Policies

  • Trial Period — 365 Nights
  • Shipping — Free
  • Warranty — Lifetime

Comparing Nectar and DreamCloud Customer Service

How responsive a company’s customer service is can also play a role in your buying experience. Check out our customer service ratings below.

DreamCloud Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

Satisfactory: DreamCloud got a Satisfactory rating because when I asked a question in their chat function, I was sent a link rather than given an answer. I got what I needed, but I would have rather they answered my question directly.

Nectar Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

Great: I gave Nectar a Great rating because when I asked a question in their chat function, I was immediately paired with a helpful agent. He answered my question thoughtfully and even offered to hop on the phone to help me place my order. 

Comparing Other Models from DreamCloud and Nectar

Nectar and DreamCloud both offer other mattresses you might be curious about. Let’s take a quick look at them here.

DreamCloud Premier

  • The DreamCloud Premier is a bit more plush than the DreamCloud because it includes a euro top. So side sleepers interested in a DreamCloud mattress may want to opt for the pressure-relieving Premier.
  • The DreamCloud is cheaper than the Premier, which is an important consideration for many shoppers.
  • Couples might like the motion isolation on this mattress, the top foam layers do a great job cutting down on motion transfer. You most likely won’t be disturbed by a restless partner on this bed.
  • Interested in this mattress? Check out my full DreamCloud Premier mattress review.

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a hybrid, bed-in-a-box mattress that feels very luxurious and offers lots of firm support and soft pressure relief. It's a great choice for back sleepers and combination sleepers, who should appreciate its responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a hybrid, bed-in-a-box mattress that feels very luxurious and offers lots of firm support and soft pressure relief. It's a great choice for back sleepers and combination sleepers, who should appreciate its responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

The DreamCloud Premier is a hybrid, bed-in-a-box mattress that feels very luxurious and offers lots of firm support and soft pressure relief. It's a great choice for back sleepers and combination sleepers, who should appreciate its responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Nectar Lush

  • The Nectar Lush is a little softer than the original Nectar so side sleepers interested in an ultra-plush feel might like this bed.
  • The Lush sleeps cooler than the Original Nectar, so memory foam lovers worried about overheating may want to check out this bed.
  • The Nectar lush is more expensive than the original Nectar, so shoppers willing to sacrifice a more plush feel might want to stick with the original bed.
  • Want to learn more about the Lush? Head over to my full Nectar Lush mattress review.

This mattress is no longer available for purchase. To help you find your next mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses available on the market now.

Other Common DreamCloud and Nectar Comparisons

Take a look at a few other mattresses these beds are commonly compared to in the articles below.

DreamCloud

Nectar

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.