We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Review

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress is Sealy’s fresh take on the original all-foam Cocoon Chill mattress. This hybrid bed-in-a-box combines comfortable memory foam with responsive pocketed coils to create a new and improved spin on the Cocoon Chill mattress.

Cocoon claims the Chill Hybrid is more responsive, more supportive, more comfortable, and more cooling than their original Cocoon Chill mattress. Sound too good to be true? I thought so too, so I put it through a series of tests to see how this mattress performs on things like pressure relief, motion transfer, and edge support. I’ll also check out its firmness level, construction, and how it may perform for couples.

Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid right for you? Read my full Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress review to find out! Or, if you’re in a rush, skip down to my review summary.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a Good Mattress for You?

Let’s get started with some of the basics about the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress and who it might be good for. Depending on your body weight, height, and preferred sleeping position, this bed may or may not work for you. While I can’t make that decision for you, take a look at some of my recommendations below to help you get there on your own.

Who I recommend the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress for

  • The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is also a great option for combination sleepers. The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is much more responsive than a typical memory foam mattress, so combo sleepers looking for a memory-foam feel might want to check it out.
  • I’d recommend this bed to back sleepers who want a memory foam feel, but need support to keep their spines neutrally aligned.
  • The Chill Hybrid should be pretty comfortable for most side sleepers. After the initial firm feel, the memory foam should allow them to sink into the mattress for moderate pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. 
  • Couples, or anyone who sleeps with a pet, should be satisfied with this hybrid mattress. The memory foam layer does a good job of isolating motion.

Who I don’t recommend the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress for

  • Side sleepers who need deep pressure relief, might want to check out a softer feeling mattress. I’d recommend an all-foam mattress for these sleepers.
  • Most stomach sleepers are going to want something firmer than this bed for support.
  • Heavier folks are going to want to look for a firmer mattress. I’d recommend these sleepers look at one of my best mattresses for heavy people.

How Firm is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress?

So what’s it like to lie down on the Chill Hybrid? Firmness is one of the first factors you should consider when hunting for a new mattress. It’s important to understand that firmness isn’t a one-size fits-all scenario. Sleepers will experience a bed’s firmness differently depending on their body types and sleeping positions. For reference, I’m 5’9”, weigh 190 lbs, and prefer to sleep on my stomach.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Firmness Graphic
The Cocoon Chill Hybrid on the Mattress Firmness Scale.

After lying on this mattress, I gave it a 7 out of 10 on the firmness scale, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. Compared to the industry standard for medium firmness of 6.5, the Chill Hybrid is a little bit firmer than average. I was surprised by how firm the Cocoon Chill Hybrid felt since it has a partial memory foam build — meaning that the supportive coils are really working hard to keep sleepers lifted here!

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Performance 

Aside from firmness, there are a few more factors to consider when searching for your new mattress. To really determine whether or not a bed is a good fit, it’s important to consider how it performs in different sleeping positions, how it relieves pain and pressure, and how it might feel to couples sharing the bed. So let’s find all of that out!

Testing the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Different sleeping positions and weights require different amounts of support. Generally, light sleepers don’t require the same amount of support as heavy sleepers. Read on below to see how the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress performs for sleepers of different weights.

Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – I think this bed would be a great firm option for these folks. Light back sleepers should feel a combination of support and some nice comfort, thanks to the memory foam on top.
  • Light Side Sleepers – While this bed may feel a bit firmer than some side sleepers prefer, the Cocoon Chill Hybrid is actually a great option for lighter folks. They won’t sink past its soft memory foam layer, which is great for cushioning any pressure building at the shoulders and hips.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Lightweight stomach sleepers may experience the mattress as truly firm, but that is great for their needs. These sleepers should definitely feel on top of the mattress with their spine in healthy alignment.

Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – I think average weight back sleepers will really benefit from this bed. Its medium-firm build will gently cushion their hips without allowing excessive sinkage — thanks to the supportive coils underneath.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Average weight side sleepers should experience a blend of balanced support and pressure relief on this bed, making it a great choice for them. 
  • Average Weight Stomach SleepersI wouldn’t necessarily recommend this mattress to average weight stomach sleepers, who need a firmer mattress to prevent sinkage at the hips. 

Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)?

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – Heavy sleepers might want to look into a firmer, more supportive option — like one of our best innerspring mattresses. 
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – See above.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – See above.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Pain Relief Performance

It’s important that your mattress doesn’t put too much force on the pressure points in your hips, shoulders, and lower back, as it can further joint pain, but too little pressure could mean a lack of support. Ideally, your mattress will balance pressure relief and support in a way that works for your body type and sleep position.

To test the Cocoon Chill Hybrid’s pressure relief, I used a pressure map. I unrolled the mat on the mattress and lay down on top of it. The map turned blue or green in low-pressure areas, and yellow or red in high-pressure areas.

Take a look at the Chill Hybrid’s pain relief performance below!

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Pressure Map
The Cocoon Chill Hybrid’s pressure map results.

Back Pain The pressure map was mostly blue when I was on my back — a great sign for back sleepers. The Chill Hybrid felt supportive and kept my spine in neutral alignment, making it a great firm option for back sleepers, especially those suffering from any lower back pain or stiffness. Sleepers under 130 lb, should find lots of back pain relief when lying on their stomachs as well, however that is not the case for average and heavy weight stomach sleepers. 

Cocoon Chill Hybrid for Back Sleepers
Testing out the Cocoon Chill Hybrid on my back.

Shoulder Pain I was pretty happy with the results of the pressure map test for side sleepers with minor shoulder aches and pain. There is some green on the pressure map at my hips and shoulders, but no yellow or red areas. Most side sleepers should be happy on this mattress, but those with severe shoulder pain should take a look at a more plush, softer memory foam mattress. Back and stomach combination sleepers should experience relief at their shoulders due to ease of movement while not sinking past the memory foam top layer.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Side Sleeper
Testing the Cocoon Chill Hybrid on my side.

Hip Pain I felt my hips sink into this mattress, which is not a great sign for stomach sleepers — this may lead to further back and hip issues. Stomach sleepers need an extra lift at the hips to keep their spines in a straight line to avoid pain at the lumbar region. However, if you’re a back and stomach or stomach and side combination sleeper, this mattress will be firm enough to keep your hips up.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Performance for Couples

When sharing the bed with a partner, you’ll want to keep a few more things in mind while shopping for a new mattress. Features you’ll want to consider include motion transfer, performance during sex, cooling, and edge support.

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer is a measure of how much movement travels from one side of the bed to the other. A bed with low motion transfer, or high motion isolation, absorbs movements that could wake you up. If you sleep with a partner, you’ll want a bed with low motion transfer so you’re not disturbed when they move around at night.

To test motion transfer, I dropped a 10 lb steel ball onto the mattress from varying heights. The 4 inch drop simulated tossing and turning in the bed, the 8 inch drop simulated getting out of bed, and the 12 inch drop simulated how it would feel if a bedmate, or pet, were to make a quick movement/jump. A seismometer on the other side of the bed measured how much of the motion traveled from one side of the bed to the other. For reference, the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Motion Transfer
The Cocoon Chill Hybrid’s motion transfer test results.

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid performed well on the motion transfer test. Its memory foam layer did a nice job absorbing motion before it traveled across the bed. This mattress should be a good option for anyone who sleeps with a restless partner or pet. You shouldn’t feel disturbed by them moving around on the bed at night.

Sex

I was pleasantly surprised by the Chill Hybrid’s bounce and responsiveness. I expected the memory foam layer to be fairly unresponsive, but unlike most memory foam mattresses, it had a bit of buoyancy. I also found it easy to change positions and roll over on this mattress — making this bed a good choice for sex.

Cooling

Hence its name, the Cocoon Chill Hybrid is…chill. The mattress provides the comfort of memory foam without the overheating properties associated with it. The cool-to-the-touch Phase Change Material cover and premium coils allow for plenty of cooling capabilities, making the bed breathable and moisture wicking so even the hottest of sleepers stay cool, or should I say chill.

Edge Support

Edge support is a measure of how sturdy the edges of a mattress are. A mattress with good edge support won’t collapse when you sit or lie on its edge. This is a great feature for couples who need to be able to spread out to the edges of the bed comfortably.

I was impressed with the high-quality edge support on the Cocoon Chill Hybrid. The sides of this mattress are reinforced with stronger steel coils. The strong support at the edges should also lend some more durability to the Chill Hybrid. This mattress shouldn’t start sagging at the edges anytime soon. All in all, this mattress is a great choice for couples.

What is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Made Of?

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid combines a memory foam comfort layer with a wrapped coil support layer and polyurethane foam base. The hybrid construction fuses the pressure-relieving feel of memory foam with the bounce of steel coils.

Let’s dive into each layer in detail to really get a feel for this mattress!

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress
The Cocoon Chill Hybrid in for Sleepopolis review.

Cover — The Chill Hybrid’s cooling cover is made of cozy stretch knit fabric. The knit top layer is a Phase Change Material, meaning this fabric absorbs and dissipates body heat instead of trapping it. This is a great feature for hot sleepers.

Comfort Layer — The comfort layer of the Chill Hybrid is made with Sealy’s perfect fit memory foam. This firmer-feeling layer of memory foam contours to your body shape, which provides nice sinkage and pressure relief.

Transition Layer — The Chill Hybrid’s transition layer is made of pocketed coils. These coils are individually wrapped in fabric to increase airflow and reduce motion transfer. Something I really like about the Cocoon Chill Hybrid is that the edges of its support layer are lined with extra-strong steel coils. This additional edge support makes the Chill Hybrid a great option for couples who like to spread out over the entire mattress.

Foundation Layer — The foundation of the Chill Hybrid is a base layer of high-density poly foam. This layer provides additional firm support to sleepers.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Construction
A look inside the Cocoon Chill Hybrid.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Unboxing and Off-Gassing

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a bed-in-a-box mattress, which means it will arrive compressed and will have to be unboxed at home. As with all bed-in-a-box mattresses, you’ll need to wait at least 24 hours for this bed to fully decompress. 

As with many new mattresses, the Chill Hybrid will likely emit a smell when it is first unboxed — this is known as off-gassing. Although this smell is not harmful, it does come with a synthetic foam, “new mattress” smell. If you experience off-gassing, I recommend leaving the mattress in a well ventilated room and within a few hours the smell should be completely gone!

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

With that, I’ve reached the end of my review. Now it’s time to answer the all-important question: Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a good mattress for you? Here are some final thoughts to help you decide.

My favorite things about the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress 

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid make it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. The memory foam comfort layer on this mattress makes it a great fit for most sleepers suffering from moderate shoulder pain. The Cocoon Chill Hybrid has just enough give to prevent soreness. The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is also a great mattress for memory foam lovers who don’t like to feel stuck in their mattress. Lastly, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want a bed that sleeps cool.

Side sleeper on Cocoon Chill Hybrid
Side sleepers might like the sinkage on the Cocoon Chill Hybrid.

My Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress complaints

I would not recommend the Chill Hybrid to heavier people. These sleepers may want to look for a traditional innerspring mattress instead. If you’re looking for a plush mattress, the Cocoon Chill Hybrid might be a little firm for your taste. Lastly, stomach sleepers might require a firmer mattress to suit their needs; I’d suggest looking into an innerspring or latex mattress.

Cocoon Chill Stomach Sleeping
Testing the Cocoon Chill Hybrid on my stomach.

How Much Does the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Cost?

Price is a big consideration when choosing a new mattress. Take a look at our Cocoon Chill Hybrid pricing chart below to find out more about this mattress’s cost. Remember to click on our Cocoon Chill Hybrid coupons inside this review to get a great deal!

The prices listed here will be before discount or offer for each size.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75" x 15"$1,139
Twin XL38" x 80" x 15"$1,309
Full54" x "75" x 15"$1,469
Queen60" x 80" x 15"$1,699
King76" x 80" x 15"$1,999
Cal King72" x 84" x 15"$1,999

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The mix of responsiveness and pressure relief in the Cocoon Chill Hybrid makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who change positions often at night. As the name suggests, the temperature regulating materials in this mattress will appeal to sleepers who want to sleep cool.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Policies and FAQs

Does Sealy offer a mattress warranty?

Yes, the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress comes with a 10-year warranty.

Does the Chill Hybrid come with a sleep trial period?

Yes! Try out this bed in your home for 100 nights!

How does the Cocoon Chill Hybrid ship?

This bed-in-a-box will ship right to your door for free! You will need to unbox the Cocoon Chill Hybrid on your own and may experience some off-gassing.

How long can I leave my hybrid mattress in a box?

There are varying estimates on how long you can leave a new hybrid mattress in its box. But the general consensus from mattress providers is that you should unbox your new mattress within one month. Once you unbox your mattress, you should allow a few hours for off-gassing and decompression.

Does the Cocoon Chill Hybrid need a box spring?

No, you won’t need a box spring with this sealy mattress. A slatted bed frame or flat surface will work just fine. But if you prefer a box spring you can use one with this mattress. Sealy also offers an adjustable base that is compatible with the Cocoon Chill Hybrid.

Can I flip the Cocoon Chill Hybrid?

No, the Chill Hybrid is not flippable. If you’re concerned about wear, you can rotate your mattress 180 degrees every six months.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Vs

Let’s take a look at how the Cocoon Chill Hybrid compares to two other cooling mattresses on the market, the Bear Pro and the DreamCloud mattresses. While all three mattresses include cooling technology, there are a few key differences between these beds.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid vs Bear Pro Mattress

  • Like the Cocoon Chill Hybrid, the Bear Pro is a cooling mattress, but the Bear Pro’s cooling Celliant cover is also specially designed to help speed up active recovery. Athletes looking for help with temperature regulation might like the Bear Pro.
  • Unlike the Chill Hybrid, the Bear Pro is an all-foam mattress. This gives it an edge with strict side sleepers, who may prefer the plusher feel of the Bear Pro to the firmer support the Chill Hybrid offers.
  • The Bear Pro is not as bouncy or responsive as the Cocoon Chill Hybrid. Combination sleepers who need some mobility will most likely prefer the Cocoon.
  • If you’re curious about the Bear Pro mattress, you can find out more in my full Bear Pro Review.

Bear Pro Mattress

There's a lot to love about the Bear Pro mattress. For one, it’s a great choice for side sleepers in need of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. Its soft foams do a great job cushioning these areas to help relieve pain and tension.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Bear Pro Mattress

There's a lot to love about the Bear Pro mattress. For one, it’s a great choice for side sleepers in need of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. Its soft foams do a great job cushioning these areas to help relieve pain and tension.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Bear Pro Mattress

There's a lot to love about the Bear Pro mattress. For one, it’s a great choice for side sleepers in need of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. Its soft foams do a great job cushioning these areas to help relieve pain and tension.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid vs DreamCloud Mattress

  • The Cocoon Chill Hybrid and DreamCloud mattresses are both hybrid mattresses that combine pocketed coils and memory foam. Back sleepers should enjoy the balanced support in both beds.
  • Like the Chill Hybrid, the DreamCloud mattress is a great option for couples. Both mattresses have great edge support and provide plenty of room to spread out.
  • Like the Bear Pro and the Cocoon Chill Hybrid, the DreamCloud is a cooling mattress. The DreamCloud’s comfort layer combines gel memory foam and poly foam, so it’s a nice cooling option for sleepers who don’t want an all-memory foam feel.
  • Interested in dreaming on the DreamCloud? Take a look at my DreamCloud Mattress Review to learn more about this bed.

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud Mattress is a luxury hybrid mattress made with layers of memory foam and pocketed coils. It offers a great combination of support and pressure relief that back sleepers will really enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Other Models from Sealy

As I mentioned above, Sealy’s original Cocoon mattress is the Cocoon Chill. The original Sealy Cocoon is an all-foam bed-in-a-box. Unlike the Chill Hybrid, the original Chill uses a high-density polyurethane foam base, rather than a pocketed coil support layer. Let’s discuss how that affects the mattress’s feel below.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid vs Cocoon Chill

  • The original Cocoon Chill model is much less bouncy and responsive than the Chill Hybrid. So, if you’re a combination sleeper, you’ll want to opt for the hybrid mattress. If you prefer deeper sinkage, the original Cocoon Chill might be the best fit for you.
  • Both Cocoon mattresses felt surprisingly firm.The all-foam chill was actually a little firmer than the hybrid, so it might be a better choice for stomach sleepers who need support to keep their hips lifted in line with their shoulders.
  • Both of these mattresses also did a great job isolating motion, so couples should be happy on both. However, the extra steel coil edge support in the Hybrid might give this model the edge with couples who like to spread out on the entire bed.
  • The original Cocoon Chill is less expensive than the Chill Hybrid, so if you’re on a budget the Cocoon classic might be a better choice for you.
  • Want to find out more about the Sealy Cocoon Chill? Check out my full Cocoon Chill Mattress review.

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon Mattress is a budget friendly, bed-in-a-box mattress with a basic design that should be great for anyone looking for a short-term solution. This all-foam mattress does very well for back sleepers looking for a memory foam feel.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon Mattress is a budget friendly, bed-in-a-box mattress with a basic design that should be great for anyone looking for a short-term solution. This all-foam mattress does very well for back sleepers looking for a memory foam feel.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon Mattress is a budget friendly, bed-in-a-box mattress with a basic design that should be great for anyone looking for a short-term solution. This all-foam mattress does very well for back sleepers looking for a memory foam feel.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Take a look at how the Cocoon Chill Hybrid performed on my star rating chart below!

  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
4.3
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.