We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Simmons Foam Mattress Review

The Simmons Foam mattress is a super affordable, but still high-quality, all-foam mattress. It combines gel memory foam and poly foam to provide a medium-firm feel. Does that make it a great pick for you? Well, you’ll just have to keep on reading to find out!

I threw every test in the book at the Simmons Foam mattress so I could give you a comprehensive review, and I’m excited to share what I’ve learned! I analyzed this bed’s construction and overall feel — from firmness level to motion control, breathability to bounce, here’s all you need to know about the Simmons Foam mattress. 

You can skip right to my review summary for the condensed version.

Note: The Simmons Foam mattress is available in three firm levels: Plush, Medium, and Firm. You can also choose between all-foam and hybrid for all firmness options. In this review, I will be discussing the Simmons Firm Foam mattress.

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Is the Simmons Foam a Good Mattress for You?

Let’s hit the ground running with some of the basics about the Simmons Foam bed to help you decide if it’s a good mattress for you. Depending on your body weight, height, and preferred sleeping position, the Simmons Firm Memory Foam mattress may or may not work for you. While I can’t make that decision for you, you can take a look at some of my recommendations below to get there on your own.

Who I recommend the Simmons Foam for

  • Budget shoppers should love the price tag of this affordable mattress. This also makes it a great option for college students heading off to school!
  • I think back sleepers would benefit from the Simmons Foam’s supportive feel and cradling touch. If you don’t mind the low profile of the mattress, this could be a good pick for you.
  • I also think the Simmons Foam might be a solid choice for couples. It has great motion isolation and pretty good edge support — key ingredients in the best mattress for couples.

Who I don’t recommend the Simmons Foam for

  • I wouldn’t recommend this mattress for strict side sleepers, just because those foam comfort layers are a little thin. It puts some pressure on the shoulders and other joints, which can contribute to aches and pains down the line. I’d recommend one of our best pillow top mattresses instead.
  • I recommend stomach sleepers steer towards a mattress with firmer support. On the all-foam Simmons, your hips might sink lower than your shoulders, which is a recipe for back pain in the future.
Simmons Foam Mattress
The Simmons Foam Mattress in for the Sleepopolis review

How Firm is the Simmons Foam Mattress?

First, a reminder: Firmness is subjective. How firm or soft a mattress feels depends on your sleeping position, body weight, and personal preferences. For reference, I’m about 5’10” and weigh 190 lb, and I’m a strict stomach sleeper. So, my firmness ratings might be very different from your own.

Simmons Foam Firmness
The Simmons Foam Mattress has a medium firm feel

On a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest mattress in the world and 10 being the firmness, I gave the Simmons Foam a 6.5 out of 10 firmness rating, which syncs up perfectly with the industry standard for medium firmness. This is the Firm version of this mattress, however as it is built with just three layers of foam, I found it to be a tad softer than the average firm mattress. 

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons Foam Mattress Performance

Firmness is one of the most important characteristics to consider when searching for a new mattress, but there are definitely more things to look at. To really determine whether a bed is a good match for you, it’s also important to consider how it performed in different sleeping positions, how it relieved pain and pressure, and how it might feel for couples sharing the bed. So let’s do just that!

Testing the Simmons Foam Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Different sleeping positions and weights require different amounts of support. Generally, light sleepers don’t require the same amount of support as heavy sleepers. Read on below to see how the Simmons Foam mattress performs for sleepers of different weights.

Is the Simmons Foam a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – I think this bed would be a good, sturdy option for these folks. Light back sleepers tend to feel mattresses as a bit firmer than advertised, so these sleepers should experience tons of firm support and nice pressure relief on this bed.
  • Light Side Sleepers – Lightweight side sleepers might want to look at the Plush or Medium models of the Simmons Foam mattress. This Firm version is not going to give them the sinkage they are looking for, but one of the other models might.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Lightweight stomach sleepers might want to consider a mattress with a hybrid build in order to support their hips better. With this all-foam build, these sleepers may experience sagging that will lead to an unhealthy and uncomfortable spinal alignment.

Is the Simmons Foam a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – I think average weight back sleepers might really like this mattress — if they aren’t planning on tossing and turning much throughout the night. There is not much mobility in this bed, but strict back sleepers should feel their weight is evenly distributed across this medium-firm mattress.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Average weight side sleepers should steer towards a softer mattress. Although there are three layers of foam in the Simmons, this bed’s comfort layers are thinner than these sleepers need for optimal comfort and pressure relief.
  • Average Weight Stomach SleepersAverage weight stomach sleepers are not going to be supported enough by this all-foam. Typically, these sleepers need a stronger coil support system to keep their midsection lifted on top of the mattress.

Is the Simmons Foam a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)?

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – Heavy sleepers are going to need more support than this bed offers. I recommend these sleepers check out some of our best mattresses for heavy people in order to find a good fit for them.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – See above.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – See above.

Simmons Foam Pain Relief Performance

Pressure relief is crucial, because putting too much pressure on your sensitive joints can contribute to tossing and turning at night, not to mention aches and pains in the future! In this case, pressure relief refers to a bed’s ability to alleviate tension at sensitive areas such as the hips, lower back, and shoulders. 

I test for pain/pressure relief using a pressure map, which I unroll on top of the bed and lie down on in different positions. This creates a “map” that’s color-coded, ranging from blue and green in low-pressure areas up to yellow and red in high-pressure areas. 

Simmons Foam Pressure Relief
Pressure relief results for the Simmons Foam Mattress

Back Pain – Lying on my back, I felt like my weight was evenly distributed. You can see that the pressure map for this was blue across the board, confirming that the mattress could be a good pick for my strict back sleepers out there. The bed is supportive enough to keep back sleepers’ spines in a healthy alignment, while its foam layers work to ease pressure around the lumbar region. While that all sounds great, the same cannot be said for stomach sleepers with back pain. These sleepers are going to need a firmer build in order to keep their hips completely level with their shoulders, leading to good posture and pain relief.

Simmons Foam Back Sleepers
I like the Simmons Foam Mattress for back sleepers

Shoulder Pain – When I rolled onto my side, I did feel myself pressing through those comfort layers onto the more solid materials below. The pressure map showed some areas of green and almost yellow at the shoulders, indicating areas of higher pressure. If you are a strict side sleeper who suffers from shoulder pain, you might find this mattress to be too firm

Hip Pain – Similarly to shoulder pain relief, hip pain relief requires some deep sinkage. I would recommend that sleepers with hip or shoulder pain, opt for the Medium or even Plush models of the Simmons Foam mattress. With just a little more plushness, pain relief is possible. On a positive note, back sleepers with hip pain could find relief on this bed! This mattress promotes a very even spinal alignment, which will alleviate those aches and pains.

Simmons Performance for Couples

When sharing the bed with a partner, you’ll want to keep a few more things in mind while shopping for a new mattress. Features you’ll want to consider include motion transfer, performance during sex, cooling, and edge support.

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer is especially important for couples and light sleepers who share a bed with a partner or pet. It measures how much disturbance you’ll feel over on your side of the bed if a partner is moving around at night.

To measure this, I dropped a 10 lb steel ball from three different heights (4 inches, 8 inches, and 12 inches) onto one side of the bed. A seismometer placed on the opposite side measured how much that movement “transferred” across the mattress: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance!

Simmons Foam Motion Transfer
I was impressed with the Simmons Foam Mattress’s ability to isolate motion

My test showed that the Simmons Foam did a great job of isolating movement, thanks to its foam layers and added motion separation layer. Motion transfer was pretty minimal, so a partner rolling around or getting in and out of bed at night is less likely to disturb you! These results make this model a nice mattress for couples

Sex

I normally would not recommend an all-foam mattress for sex because it doesn’t have the coils for bounce, but due to the thin comfort layers and lack of sinkage on this Firm model, I actually found it to be a bit more responsive than I thought it would be. I would say that the thin build here actually makes it a good mattress for sex

Cooling

A downfall of the Simmons Foam being strictly foam is that it is going to retain a bit more heat than a hybrid mattress would. The gel memory foam does dissipate a little bit of body heat, but not to the point where I would consider this a mattress that sleeps cool.

Edge Support

Another consideration? Edge support. Can you use the whole surface area of the bed, or will you feel like you are about to slide off if you get too close to the edges?

The Simmons Foam mattress has solid edge support, especially when compared to other foam mattresses. The memory foam layer is quite thin and doesn’t compress too much when you roll on it, which prevents you from feeling unstable at the edge of the bed.

Simmons Edge Support
The Simmons Foam Mattress had good edge support

What is the Simmons Foam Mattress Made Of?

Now it’s time to dive into the mattress itself. The Simmons Foam mattress has a simple, no-frills construction of just three layers of foam and a quilted cover, and it has a pretty low profile — just 8 inches. All its foams are CertiPUR-US Certified, so you can rest easy knowing this bed is free of any harmful chemicals. Here’s what else you should know.

Cover – The mattress cover is a thicker, quilted material with a little bit of foam woven into it. That offers some nice pressure relief right off the bat!

Comfort Layer Below the cover we have a top layer of gel memory foam, offering a slow response to pressure. Memory foam like this provides a nice, contouring feel with plenty of pressure relief, allowing you to sink down into the bed a little bit, cushioning your pressure points. Plus, gel cooling technology prevents this layer from trapping heat.

Transition Layer Underneath the memory foam comes a thicker poly foam layer. It has a quicker response to pressure to stop you from feeling totally stuck in the mattress, and also provides a buffer between the very soft memory foam top layer and the high-density poly foam base below.

Base Layer At the bottom of the Simmons Foam bed you’ll find a supportive base layer of high-density base foam. This provides support to the other layers, and also helps give the mattress its shape and structure.

Simmons Foam Materials
The Simmons Foam Mattress uses memory foam for comfort

Simmons Foam Unboxing and Off-Gassing

The Simmons Foam mattress is a bed-in-a-box mattress, which means it will ship compressed, and will have to be unboxed at home. As with all bed-in-a-box mattresses, you’ll need to wait at least 24 hours for this bed to fully decompress. 

Like many new mattresses, the Simmons Foam mattress will likely emit a smell when it is first unboxed — this is known as off-gassing. If you do detect a synthetic foam odor, I suggest unzipping the mattress cover and leaving it in a well-ventilated room for a few hours while the smell completely dissipates.

My Final Thoughts about the Simmons Foam Mattress

Now that we’ve learned all there is to know about the Simmons Foam mattress, I want to recap some of my favorite things about it and some of my complaints. Though I can’t tell you if the mattress is the right bed for you, I hope these final remarks will help you decide.

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

My favorite things about the Simmons Foam mattress

This mattress is very affordable! If you are looking for something simple that won’t break the bank, this is a model to consider. In a similar vein, this is a very good pick for furnishing dorm rooms and college apartments. The price point and simple construction make it a no-fuss option — plus it’s available as a twin mattress and a full mattress. The Medium and Plush gel memory foam mattresses are also available in twin xl sizes.

My Simmons Foam mattress complaints

I would not recommend this model to most people with a heavier body weight, because it just doesn’t offer enough support. The foam layers are pretty thin and there are no innerspring coils, so someone on the heavier side may want a thicker mattress or a hybrid option. I would also caution people with sensitive joints to think twice about this model. There are some areas of higher pressure, particularly around the shoulders, that could be uncomfortable or even painful down the line. 

Simmons Foam Side Sleepers
The Simmons Foam Mattress is not great for side sleepers

How Much Does The Simmons Foam Mattress Cost?

Of course, before you purchase a new mattress you’ll want to look at how much it costs — the Simmons Foam mattress won’t empty your wallet, which is great news! Take a look at our pricing chart below, and make sure to click on one of the coupons in this article for a nice discount.

Prices listed are before discount or offer for each size.

SizeDimensionsWeightPrice
Twin38” x 74.5” x 8”22 lbs$269
Full53” x 74.5” x 8”32 lbs$319
Queen60” x 79.5” x 8"39 lbs$349
King76” x 79.5” x 8"50 lbs$399

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons 8" Memory Foam Mattress

The Simmons Foam mattress is a medium firm model with good pressure relief for back sleepers, low motion transfer, and solid edge support. I don’t think it offers enough support for stomach sleepers, and side sleepers may find it puts too much pressure on those sensitive joints.

Sleepopolis Score 3.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Simmons Mattress Policies and FAQs

Does the Simmons Foam come with a trial period?

Yes! Simmons allows you to try out the mattress in your own space with its 100-night sleep trial period.

Does the Simmons Foam mattress come with a warranty?

Sure does! Simmons backs their mattresses with a 10-year limited warranty, leaving you with no worries that they have trust in their products.

How does the Simmons Foam ship?

The Simmons Foam mattress is a bed-in-a-box, meaning that it will arrive compressed at your door. Simmons offers free shipping.

Where is my new bed coming from?

Your new Simmons Foam mattress will be assembled in the United States.

Does the Simmons Foam need a box spring?

No, the Simmons Foam is not meant to be used with a box spring. It should be paired with an adjustable base, platform bed, solid foundation, or slatted foundation (slats are actually more supportive than a box spring).

How long will a Simmons mattress last?

Mattress longevity depends on a bunch of different factors, including the materials and construction of the bed, how many people are using it, the body weight(s) of the people using it, and what you use to support the mattressI would recommend re-evaluating how this particular mattress feels after about 3 years of use.

Can you flip the Simmons Foam mattress?

Nope, this model is not flippable. If you are trying to extend the life of your mattress, I’d recommend rotating it 180 degrees every six months or so.

Simmons Foam Vs

Now that we’ve assessed the Simmons unique specs, let’s take a second to talk about its competition. While every bed is going to feature a few characteristics that make it a distinct product in the space, it can always be useful to contextualize these differences against other models. I think two models that may give the Simmons Foam a run for its money are the below mattresses from Sealy and Tuft & Needle.

Simmons Foam vs Sealy Posturepedic

  • The Sealy Posturepedic line is designed to help sleepers achieve healthy spinal alignment and is very popular for their back pain relief.
  • The Posturepedic Hybrid Paterson is a tad firmer than the Simmons Foam, which is not unusual as it has springs in its base.
  • The Sealy is better suited for combination sleepers than the Simmons Foam.
  • Head over to my full Sealy Posturepedic mattress review to learn more.

Simmons Foam vs Tuft & Needle

  • Like the Simmons Foam mattress, Tuft & Needle has a very basic build.
  • One major difference between the two beds is that Tuft & Needle is bouncier — making it a better mattress for sex.
  • The Tuft & Needle has cooling gel in its comfort layer to ensure it sleeps cool.
  • Tuft and Needle is one of our picks for best mattresses under $1,000.
  • To learn more, visit my full Tuft & Needle mattress review.

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a surprisingly supportive all-foam mattress that back sleepers will enjoy. It’s pretty breathable, which helps it sleep cool, and comes in at an affordable price, making it ideal for budget shoppers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Simmons

Simmons makes several great mattresses, including a hybrid version of this bed. So, I wanted to offer some information about the Simmons Hybrid and the Simmons Beautyrest mattresses below.

Simmons Foam vs Simmons Hybrid

  • The Simmons Hybrid has a firm feel that I like for back sleepers.
  • The Simmons Hybrid has a bit more bounce than the Simmons Foam, thanks to those individually wrapped coils! That means you are less likely to feel stuck in bed on the Simmons Hybrid.
  • The Simmons Hybrid would not be my first choice if you are looking for a ton of pressure relief, because its foam layers are pretty thin. Generally, I recommend models with thick slow-response foam layers for maximum pressure relief.
  • That said, both the Simons Foam and Simmons Hybrid are extremely affordable models. They can be great for college students, or anyone furnishing a bedroom on a budget!

Simmons 8" Hybrid Mattress

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.1/5

Simmons 8" Hybrid Mattress

\-

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.1/5

Simmons 8" Hybrid Mattress

\-

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.1/5

Simmons Foam vs Simmons Beautyrest Harmony Lux

  • Beautyrest is a luxury offshoot of Serta Simmons Bedding.
  • The Harmony Lux is an innerspring mattress with a soft foam top layer.
  • Although it is an innerspring model with coils, the Harmony Lux is actually softer than the Simmons Foam, ranking 5.5 out of 10 on the mattress firmness scale.
  • Combo sleepers might like the mobility the Harmony Lux provides.
  • Unlike the Simmons Foam, the Harmony Lux is not a budget mattress and definitely has a higher price tag.
  • See my full Beautyrest Harmony Lux mattress review for more information.

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Take a look at how the Simmons Foam performed on my star rating chart below!

Simmons Foam Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
3.3
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.