Octave Vista Mattress Review

We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Looking for “Canada’s best specialty memory foam mattress”? Well, that’s exactly how Octave markets their Vista mattress. But you can’t always take these claims at face value — that’s where Sleepopolis comes in. We rigorously test mattresses to help you determine if they are right for you.

I put the Octave Vista mattress to the test, assessing how it feels and who it might be a good fit for. I also put it through a series of tests on factors like motion isolation, cooling, edge support, and more. 

Short on time? Click here to skip to my review summary.

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

Octave Vista

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista Mattress Overview

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight. Initially, the Octave Vista feels somewhat firm. However, it offers deep sinkage and contouring — the longer you lay on this bed, the deeper you sink into the top layer of foam. Despite being an all-foam bed, the Octave Vista stays fairly cool, likely thanks to temperature control features like a cooling cover and air channels in the support foam layer.

The Octave Vista is a bed-in-a-box, meaning that it’s compressed, rolled up, and shipped to your home. We recommend having a friend help you unbox it and set it up. We did notice some slight off-gassing smells when opening this bed, and it did take a little time to fully inflate, but after a day or so, it was ready to use.

Octave Vista Mattress Sleepopolis Score

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Materials
4.5
Support
5
Value
4
Cooling
4
Edge Support
5
Trial
4
Warranty
4.5
Motion Isolation

What Is the Octave Vista Mattress Made Of? 

Let’s take a look at the materials used in the Octave Vista’s construction.

octave vista mattress

Cover – The Octave Vista’s cover can be unzipped and removed to machine wash. The cover is made with the brand’s proprietary CryoFusion cooling nanofibers, which are intended to give the cover a cooling effect.

Comfort Layer Under the cover lies a 2-inch layer of memory foam. This foam has copper infusions, as well as infusions of a phase change material Octave calls “PolarMAX.” This foam provides initial comfort and sinkage, while these infusions are meant to combat foam’s heat-trapping tendencies.

Transition LayerNext is a 2-inch layer of Elastex foam. This foam mimics the feel of latex foam, meaning it is springier and more responsive than traditional memory foam. This layer eases the sleeper between the plush layer above and the support layer below.

Support Layer The main support of the Vista mattress is an 8-inch section of high-density foam. This foam has air channels to allow hot air to escape the mattress, as well as five pressure-relief zones to support the body of the sleeper.

octave vista construction

Octave Vista Mattress Firmness 

Now let’s talk about the firmness and feel of the Octave Vista mattress. Here at Sleepopolis, we rank mattress firmness on a scale from 1 to 10, where 1 is the softest and 10 is the firmest. We use 6.5 as the standard for medium-firm, the most common mattress firmness.

To determine the firmness, we test out lying on the mattress in different sleeping positions. Then, we compare it to the hundreds of other beds we’ve tested and give it a ranking on the firmness scale.

octave vista firmness

After testing out the Octave Vista, I decided to rank it as 6.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale, meaning it is medium-firm. When I first laid on the bed, it felt quite firm to me. However, the longer I laid on the bed, the more I sank into the foam layers — until I had sunk in quite deeply. This feeling of firmness giving way to deep sinkage and contouring reminded me of many Tempur-Pedic mattresses I have tested.

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

Octave Vista

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Sleeping Position and Body Weight

With the firmness and feel of this mattress in mind, let’s talk about how sleepers of different weights may feel on the Octave Vista in each sleeping position.

We recognize that people come in all shapes and sizes, and people of every size deserve a mattress that works for their body type. We use the weight categories light, average, and heavy to more easily categorize sleepers based on how mattresses will perform for their body type, as most mattresses are designed for the group we call “average” (59 to 113 kilograms, or 130 to 250 pounds).

As a general rule, lighter sleepers don’t require as much support as average weight sleepers, and mattresses will tend to feel firmer to them. On the other hand, heavy sleepers tend to need more support than average weight sleepers and tend to sink into the mattress more.

As far as sleeping positions go, side sleepers tend to need a softer mattress while stomach sleepers usually need a firmer, more supportive one. Back sleepers are usually somewhere in the middle.

Here’s my take on how each group will feel on the Octave Vista.

Is the Octave Vista a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 59 kilograms / 130 pounds)?

  • Light Back Sleepers  I think light back sleepers should be comfortable on the Octave Vista. I think they will feel well-supported for spinal alignment, but should still get some pressure relief from the foam.
  • Light Side Sleepers The Octave Vista may be too firm for some light side sleepers. While it does offer deep contouring that is beneficial for side sleepers, some light side sleepers may not be heavy enough to sink in for that pressure relief.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers Some light stomach sleepers might be able to get enough support from the Octave Vista to keep their hips lifted up and out of the structure, as they’re not as likely to sink into the foam.
octave vista back sleeper

Is the Octave Vista a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (59–113 kilograms / 130–250 pounds)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – The Octave Vista is a great match for average weight back sleepers. It offers plenty of support for spinal alignment, but its slow-sinking foam provides pleasant contouring and pressure relief, especially around the lower back.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Average weight side sleepers should be fairly comfortable on the Octave Vista. While it does feel a little firm at first, the longer you lie on the mattress, the more it contours around you.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – I think the Octave Vista is too soft for average weight stomach sleepers. They will likely find their hips sinking into the material, which can cause their lower back to bow out of alignment.
octave vista side sleeper

Is the Octave Vista a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 113 kilograms / 250 pounds)?

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – The Octave Vista may be too soft for heavy back sleepers. These folks might sink into the material too much, which could lead to their spine being out of alignment.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – I think the Octave Vista could be a good match for heavy side sleepers, as they will sink in deeply for pressure relief around their shoulder and hips.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – The Octave Vista is definitely too soft for most heavy stomach sleepers, whose hips will likely sink into the material and cause their spine to be out of alignment.
octave vista stomach sleeper

Octave Vista Mattress Performance

There’s more to a mattress than how it feels, so we also like to run some tests on performance factors like pressure relief, cooling, edge support, and more. Below, I’ll go over the results from my tests on the Octave Vista mattress.

Octave Vista Mattress Pain Relief Performance

We test how well a mattress relieves pressure with a heat-mapping pressure map. It’s a mat that we lay on top of a mattress so it can use thermal imaging to show where pressure is building up on a sleeper’s body as they rest. The mat then creates a color-coded pressure map where blue and green indicate low pressure, while reds and oranges indicate higher pressure. Take a look at the pressure maps below from when I tested the Octave Vista.

PressureMap OctaveVista

As you can see, these results are fairly good. On my back, there is very little pressure showing, indicating the Octave Vista works well to relieve pressure for back sleepers. On my side, there is a little more pressure buildup. This isn’t a terrible result, but definitely indicates something side sleepers should be aware of, particularly if they have more sensitive joints.

Motion Transfer

If you’ve ever shared a bed with a partner or a pet, you know how important motion transfer can be in a mattress. Motion transfer is the amount of movement that travels through the mattress when it’s touched or disturbed.

We come up with our motion transfer score using a few different tests. The first one is simple: we just lie down on the mattress with a colleague, roll around, and see how much of each other’s movement we feel. We also place a full wine glass on the mattress, and see how much the wine moves around with us. If the liquid has zero to little movement, then it’s a safe bet that the mattress has low motion transfer, which is what you want to see.

Finally, there’s our seismometer test. This involves dropping a 10-pound steel ball from heights of four inches, eight inches and 12 inches, then measuring the disturbance it causes: the bigger the lines on the graph, the bigger the disturbance and the higher the motion transfer.

MotionTransfer OctaveVista

These are pretty great results, showing overall very low motion transfer on the Octave Vista. I expected this bed to isolate motion well, as it has such slow-moving foams. I think couples should be happy on this bed and may only feel very large movements from one another.

Responsiveness

Responsiveness is a measure of how quickly the mattress responds to pressure, correlating to how easy or difficult it is to move around on the bed. This is relevant for combination sleepers who change between sleeping positions, as well as for people with mobility issues. High responsiveness also makes a mattress good for sex.

octave vista feel

I tested the Octave Vista’s responsiveness by moving around on the mattress and changing between sleeping positions. Since this mattress has a slow-sinking feel and allows for deep sinkage, I didn’t expect it to be very responsive — and it was not. Moving around on this mattress definitely requires a good bit of effort, especially once you’ve started to sink in.

Cooling

We also like to assess how cooling a mattress is. To do so, we look at the materials used, in addition to testing each bed with a thermal gun.

Looking at the Octave Vista’s materials, it is primarily made of foam, which doesn’t bode well for cooling. Foam is known for trapping heat, so foam beds often sleep the warmest. It does have a cooling cover, although it didn’t feel cool to the touch to me. Additionally, there are air channels in the base layer to allow for airflow.

We also test out each mattress with a device called a thermal gun, which uses color-coded imaging to measure how much and how quickly a mattress heats up when we lie down on it. If it heats up more than 15 degrees Fahrenheit, we consider it to have poor cooling capabilities. 10 to 15 degrees indicates decent cooling, 5 to 10 degrees indicates good cooling, and less than 5 degrees indicates excellent cooling.

octave vista temperature gun 1 rotated
The Octave Vista’s initial temperature.
octave vista temperature gun 2 rotated
The temperature after I laid on the mattress for five minutes.

After I laid on the Octave Vista mattress for five minutes, its temperature increased by about 7.9 degrees. This indicates good cooling. I was impressed by this, especially since the bed is primarily made of foam, so I think it could be a particularly good option for memory foam lovers who sleep hot.

Edge Support

Edge support refers to how well the perimeter of a mattress bears weight. This is relevant for those who like to sit or sleep along the edge of the mattress, as well as for couples — sturdy edges allow partners to use the full surface area of the mattress. Ideally, you should feel as supported along the edge of the bed as you do in the middle, rather than the edges collapsing beneath you.

octave vista edge support

I tested the Octave Vista’s edge support by sitting and lying along the edge of the bed. I did feel some sinkage on the edge when sitting, especially the longer I sat there — the foam had that slow-sinking feel, so I sank through the edge more over time. However, I still felt fairly well supported while sitting on the edge. Then I moved to lie along the edge and I felt even more supported here. Foam beds often don’t have the best edge support, so I would say the Octave Vista overall has good edge support, particularly for an all-foam mattress.

Octave Vista Mattress Performance For Couples

When deciding whether a mattress is a good choice for couples, we like to look at four performance factors: motion isolation, responsiveness for sex, cooling, and edge support. Based on the Octave Vista’s results in these tests, I would say it is a pretty good mattress for couples. It did well in motion isolation, cooling, and edge support. It was lackluster in responsiveness, so if that is important for you, then the Octave Vista may not be ideal.

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

Octave Vista

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

My Final Thoughts about the Octave Vista Mattress

Now that we’ve covered all the assessments and tests, let’s recap with my recommendations of who should and shouldn’t buy the Octave Vista mattress.

Who I Recommend the Octave Vista Mattress For

  • Memory foam lovers should find the Octave Vista’s slow-sinking, deep contouring feel very cozy. I think this bed makes for a great Canadian, budget version of a Tempur-Pedic mattress.
  • Back sleepers will likely be very comfortable on the Octave Vista. It has a medium-firm feel that provides plenty of support, but also provides pressure relief around the lower back. I particularly like how the foams fill in around the lumbar region in this position.
  • Budget shoppers should love how affordable this mattress is. I think it feels really high quality for the price!
  • Hot sleepers, especially those who love a foam bed, should be happy with the Octave Vista. I didn’t expect it to sleep very cool, but our thermal gun test showed the cooling technologies included in this bed definitely add a cooling touch.
octave vista tag

Who I Don’t Recommend the Octave Vista Mattress For

  • Most stomach sleepers will likely find the Octave Vista too soft to keep their hips propped up to maintain spinal alignment.
  • Combination sleepers or couples who value a responsive mattress for sex may find the Octave Vista difficult to move around on.

Octave Vista Pricing and Sizing

Curious how much the Octave Vista costs? Here is a breakdown of prices, by size.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38″ x 75″ x 12″C$599
Twin XL38″ x 80″ x 12″C$649
Full53″ x 75″ x 12″C$799
Queen60″ x 80″ x 12″C$899
King76″ x 80″ x 12″C$1,199
California King72″ x 84″ x 12″C$1,199
Split King38″ x 80″ x 12″ (x2)C$1,298

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Octave Vista mattress in Sleepopolis studio

Octave Vista

The Octave Vista is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com. This bed has a medium-firm feel that works especially well for back sleepers, but can work for some side and stomach sleepers, depending on weight.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Octave Vista Mattress Policies and FAQs

How does the Octave Vista ship?

The Octave Vista ships for free within most of Canada. They do charge a $250 shipping fee to Canadian Territories and certain remote areas.

Does the Octave Vista come with a sleep trial?

Yes, Octave provides a 365-night sleep trial period with this mattress. That means you can test it out at home for 365 nights to decide if you like it. If not, you can return it within that trial period for a full refund. One thing to note is that Octave does require you to try the bed for at least 21 nights before initiating a return

Does the Octave Vista come with a warranty?

Yes, Octave offers a 15-year warranty on this mattress.

Where is the Octave Vista mattress made?

The Octave Vista mattress is manufactured in Canada.

Octave Vista Mattress Vs

Not sure if the Octave Vista is the best mattress for you? Below, I’ll compare it to a few other Canadian mattresses to help you finalize your decision. 

Octave Vista vs Douglas

The Douglas mattress is an all-foam bed from Canadian brand Goodmorning.com, the same parent company as the Octave Vista. This bed has a softer than average feel — we rated it as a 6 out of 10 on the firmness scale. 

  • Price: The Douglas is slightly cheaper than the Vista, by about $100.
  • Sleeping position: The Douglas, with its soft foams, is well-suited for back and side sleepers. It is more responsive than the Vista, making it a good pick for combination sleepers.
  • Cooling: The Douglas is also an all-foam mattress, so it naturally traps some heat. However, it does have a Tencel cover to add a cooling touch. 
  • Body weight: We don’t think the Douglas is supportive enough for heavy sleepers who weigh 113 kilograms (250 pounds) or more. However, it should be fine for most light and average weight sleepers.

Read more in our full Douglas mattress review

Douglas Mattress

Douglas Mattress

The Douglas is a Canadian mattress, offering balanced support and pressure relief for a variety of sleepers. Plus, its Elastex and gel foams give it some good bounce and cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

20-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Douglas Mattress

Douglas Mattress

The Douglas is a Canadian mattress, offering balanced support and pressure relief for a variety of sleepers. Plus, its Elastex and gel foams give it some good bounce and cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

20-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Douglas Mattress

Douglas Mattress

The Douglas is a Canadian mattress, offering balanced support and pressure relief for a variety of sleepers. Plus, its Elastex and gel foams give it some good bounce and cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

20-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Octave Vista vs Novosbed

The Novosbed mattress is another all-foam bed from Goodmorning.com. It comes in multiple firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm. We tested the Medium model and found it to be a true medium-firm — we rated it as 6.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale.

  • Price: The Novosbed is a little more expensive than the Octave Vista, by about $100.
  • Sleeping position: With three firmness options, this mattress can work for many different sleepers. We liked the Medium model for back and side sleepers.
  • Cooling: As a memory foam bed without much cooling tech, the Novosbed sleeps quite warm.
  • Body weight: We didn’t find the Novosbed supportive enough for heavy sleepers, who weigh 113 kilograms (250 pounds) or more. However, it can work for many light to average weight sleepers.

Read more in our full Novosbed mattress review.

Novosbed Mattress

Novosbed Mattress

The Novosbed Mattress is a nice memory foam option for couples who suffer from hip or shoulder pain. This mattress provides a hugging feeling that does an excellent job at absorbing motion as well as relieving pain at your pressure points.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Novosbed Mattress

Novosbed Mattress

The Novosbed Mattress is a nice memory foam option for couples who suffer from hip or shoulder pain. This mattress provides a hugging feeling that does an excellent job at absorbing motion as well as relieving pain at your pressure points.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Novosbed Mattress

Novosbed Mattress

The Novosbed Mattress is a nice memory foam option for couples who suffer from hip or shoulder pain. This mattress provides a hugging feeling that does an excellent job at absorbing motion as well as relieving pain at your pressure points.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Octave Vista vs Silk & Snow

The Silk & Snow is an all-foam mattress from Canadian brand Silk & Snow. This bed has a pretty firm feel — we rated it as a 7.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale. Even though it is made with foam, it has more of an “on top” of the bed feel, rather than allowing the sleepers to sink in deeply.

  • Price: The Silk & Snow is slightly cheaper than the Octave Vista, by about $100.
  • Sleeping position: As a very firm mattress, the Silk & Snow is best suited for back and stomach sleepers.
  • Cooling: The Silk & Snow does incorporate some cooling features, like gel memory foam. However, it didn’t seem noticeably cool to us when testing.
  • Body weight: The Silk & Snow probably isn’t supportive enough for heavy sleepers who weigh 113 kilograms (250 pounds) or more. It is best suited for light to average weight sleepers.

Read more in our full Silk & Snow mattress review.

Silk & Snow Mattress

Product Image

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box made in Canada. It offers a firm feel that works for some back and stomach sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Silk & Snow Mattress

Product Image

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box made in Canada. It offers a firm feel that works for some back and stomach sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Product Image

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box made in Canada. It offers a firm feel that works for some back and stomach sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Our Review Process

At Sleepopolis, our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress. We start by unboxing the mattress to figure out how difficult (or easy) it is to get the mattress from the box to the bed. Then, we spend time laying on the bed in different positions, taking time to assess it on our backs, stomachs, and sides. Next, we perform our Sleepopolis tests, using specialized tools to measure qualities like motion transfer, bounce, and pressure relief. Our last step is to open up the mattress and take a look at each layer. These steps allow us to give our final verdict on the mattress.

Amelia Jerden

Amelia Jerden

Senior Staff Writer

About Author

Amelia is a Senior Staff Writer for Sleepopolis. She primarily covers bedding and sleep accessory products in reviews, how-to guides, and more. You can also find her over on the Sleepopolis YouTube channel. Amelia is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, with double majors in media and journalism and in dramatic art. Outside of work, Amelia can usually be found on a hike, traveling to a new city, or at her local thrift store.

Back Sleeper