Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Review

We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

As a brand, Brooklyn Bedding has created a variety of mattresses that cater to a wide range of sleeping preferences and budgets. The Dreamfoam Essential should appeal to sleepers looking for a high-quality memory foam bed that won’t break the bank. Interestingly, it’s available in more sizes and heights than most other bed-in-a-box mattresses, but no matter which one you choose, you likely won’t be paying more than $1,000 after discounts.

Ready to learn more about this unique bed? Then read on for my comprehensive Dreamfoam Essential mattress review. Or jump down to my review summary if you just want the nuts and bolts.

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
dreamfoam chill memory foam

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Overview

The Dreamfoam was originally called the Brooklyn Bedding Wanderlust RV mattress and, per its name, was available in a number of RV sizes. Because of the unconventional sizing of RV beds, they often require different dimensions than standard beds.

Although the renamed Dreamfoam is available in standard sizes such as twin, queen, and king, it still offers all of the RV sizes and even has its own RV-specific site (see the link below). As a result, it’s popular with owners of motor homes, as well as folks looking for an affordable mattress for their bedroom.

Dreamfoam Essential RV

Wanderlust Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential Mattress is a great choice for those who need specialty sizes for their RV.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Essential RV

Wanderlust Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential Mattress is a great choice for those who need specialty sizes for their RV.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Wanderlust Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential RV

The Dreamfoam Essential Mattress is a great choice for those who need specialty sizes for their RV.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Review Video

At Sleepopolis, we put all of our mattresses through a series of tests to determine exactly who each bed might be good for. You can read about these tests later in in my review, or watch the below video to see them in action.

Note: I tested the Dreamfoam Essential back when it was still called the Brooklyn Bedding Wanderlust RV mattress — hence the different name in the footage.

What Is the Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Made Of?

The Dreamfoam Essential is an all-foam mattress that layers body-contouring memory foam over firmer poly foam. As I mentioned, this no-frills foam bed comes in a laundry list of sizes. It also comes in five different heights — 6 inches, 8 inches, 10 inches, 12 inches, and 14 inches. I’ll focus on the 10-inch version here.

Wanderlust Mattress

Cover – First up is a thick, polyester cover. The thickness enhances durability, but it also makes the cover less breathable and could trap some heat. A nice perk of this cover is that its made with a nano stain finish to protect against stains and spills.

Comfort Layer – Next is a top layer of cooling gel memory foam. Like other memory foams, this gel-infused layer offers some body-contouring, pressure relief, and sinkage. It also uses an open-cell design, which helps promote airflow throughout the bed. That said, I didn’t find the Dreamfoam Essential to be an especially cooling mattress.

Support Layer – Next is a base layer made from high-density poly foam. It has a firm feel and a quicker response to pressure than the memory foam above.

Wanderlust Materials

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Firmness

To help you decide if the Dreamfoam Essential might be a comfortable mattress for you, I evaluated its feel and firmness level. Keep in mind that firmness is a bit subjective. Your body weight, shape, size and personal preferences will affect how firm a mattress feels to you — and the same is true for me. For reference, I’m a strict stomach sleeper who weighs about 190 pounds.

Wanderlust Support Level

After spending time on the Dreamfoam Essential, I ranked it around a 7.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale. The industry standard for medium firmness is 6.5, so this is a firm mattress. This feel could appeal to back and stomach sleepers, because it helps support spinal alignment.

That said, it’s worth noting that heavier folks might feel like this thin, all-foam mattress is firmer and less supportive, because they might press through the memory foam comfort layer onto the firmer poly foam layer. If you’re looking for a thicker layer of comfort foam I’d recommend checking our best memory foam mattress list for some other great options.

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
dreamfoam chill memory foam

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Sleeping Position and Body Weight

We recognize that people come in all shapes and sizes, and people of every size deserve a mattress that works for their body type. We use the weight categories light, average, and heavy to more easily categorize sleepers based on how mattresses will perform for their body type, as most mattresses are designed for the group we call “average” (130 to 250 pounds).

As a general takeaway, lighter sleepers don’t require as much support as average weight sleepers, and mattresses will tend to feel firmer to them. On the other hand, heavy sleepers tend to need more support than average weight sleepers and tend to sink into the mattress more.

As far as sleeping positions go, side sleepers tend to need a softer mattress while stomach sleepers usually need a firmer, more supportive one. Back sleepers are usually somewhere in the middle.

Is the Dreamfoam Essential a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 pounds)?

  • Light Back Sleepers –  Lighter sleepers tend to experience a mattress as being firmer than average weight or heavy sleepers. I think that back sleepers under 130 pound might be comfortable on the Dreamfoam Essential as long as they like a firm mattress.
  • Light Side Sleepers – The Dreamfoam Essential is probably going to feel extra-firm to light side sleepers, so much that they won’t get the contouring they need at the shoulders and hips.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Lightweight stomach sleepers should get all the firmness and support they need from the Dreamfoam Essential. They’ll likely feel their hips elevated and in line with their shoulders — a key to avoiding back pain.

Is the Dreamfoam Essential a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130–250 pounds)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – When I was on my back, my weight felt evenly distributed. I sunk into the memory foam comfort layer just a touch and enjoyed some body contouring, while the firmer support layer ensured my hips stayed elevated and aligned with my spine. Back sleepers should appreciate the support on this bed.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Changing positions is a little laborious due to the lack of bounce on this mattress. When I arrive on my side, I do experience a bit of sinkage and pressure relief from the memory foam layer. But, overall, the bed feels a little too firm in this position, and I’m feeling some pressure around my shoulders. If you’re a strict side sleeper, I’d check out one of our best mattresses for side sleepers instead.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – When I’m on my stomach, my weight feels evenly distributed, and I’m not experiencing any notable pressure. The firm support of the high-density foam base layer keeps my hips in line with my spine. This could be a good choice for stomach sleepers.

Is the Dreamfoam Essential a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 pounds)?

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – I advise that heavier sleepers in general steer clear of the Dreamfoam Essential. Its all-foam construction probably isn’t enough to keep them properly supported, even in the taller models.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – See above.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – See above.
Wanderlust Back Sleepers

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Performance

Now it’s time to talk about how the Dreamfoam Essential performed in our series of tests, performed by our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches to help us make informed recommendations to our readers.

Dreamfoam Essential Pain Relief Performance

Pressure relief essentially means how well a mattress alleviates tension at sensitive areas such as the hips, lower back, and shoulders. This term tells you whether a mattress will cushion sensitive pressure points so you can enjoy comfortable sleep in your preferred position.

To test the pressure relief on the Dreamfoam Essential, I used a helpful tool called a pressure map. I position this device on top of the mattress, climb aboard, and let the map use thermal imaging to track my body’s force as I try different positions. Low-pressure areas are highlighted in blue and green, and high-pressure areas show up in yellow and red.

Wanderlust Pressure Relief

The pressure-map results tell me that the Dreamfoam Essential doesn’t put much pressure on the back, and isn’t likely to cause any back pain. It could be a good choice for anyone who struggles with aches in this area.

Motion Transfer

Like pressure relief, motion transfer can affect whether a mattress suits your sleep needs. This term refers to whether you’ll feel a sleeping partner’s movements if they shift around during the night. Knowing whether a mattress will help with motion isolation is extra important for folks who share a bed with a partner, child, or pet.

To test out motion transfer on the Dreamfoam Essential, I dropped a 10-pound steel ball from 4 inches, 8 inches, and 12 inches. These heights mimic various movements, from tossing and turning to getting out of bed or jumping on top of it. Next, I measured the disturbance caused by each of these drops. The bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Wanderlust Motion Transfer

The Dreamfoam Essential combines motion-absorbing gel memory foam with firmer poly foam, which has a quicker response to pressure. So I was curious to see which material would have the biggest impact.

During the 4-inch drop, the layer of gel memory foam did a great job of absorbing motion. With the 8-inch and 12-inch drops, the steel ball went through the memory foam and hit the firmer poly foam beneath it, which didn’t absorb motion as well. Bottom line? This mattress could isolate smaller movements, but it’s likely that you’ll feel a partner getting in and out of bed.

Responsiveness

A responsive mattress means that its materials have a quick response to pressure and make it easy to change sleeping positions and get out of bed. I like to test this by simply lying down on the mattress and seeing if I have any difficult moving around.

The Dreamfoam Essential definitely give me more of an in-the-bed feeling, and I could feel myself sinking into the top comfort layer. This isn’t surprising, given that it’s a memory foam mattress. Because I didn’t find it very responsive, I don’t think it’s the best fit for combination sleepers who switch back and forth between sleeping on their side, back, and stomach. They’d be better off looking at our list of the best mattresses for combination sleepers or the best innerspring mattresses (beds with coils in them make it much easier to move around).

Cooling

Despite the gel infusions and open-celled construction, I think the Dreamfoam Essential mattress sleeps a little bit hot, which might be an issue if you plan to use it to travel during the summer months. I’d recommend pairing it with cooling sheets if you’re or a hot sleeper. You can also check out our best cooling mattresses for additional options.

Edge Support

Edge support refers to the strength of a mattress’s perimeter. If it has good edge support, then it’s easier to spread out across its surface or sleep near the edge without feeling like you’re going to fall off.

When I sat on the edge of the Dreamfoam Essential, I didn’t feel the mattress collapsing under my weight too much. This tells me that the bed has strong edge support, especially for a foam mattress.

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Performance For Couples

When deciding whether or not to recommend a mattress for couples, I look at how the bed performed on motion isolation, responsiveness, edge support, and cooling.

In the case of the Dreamfoam Essential, its motion isolation was just okay, so if you’re a light sleeper who shares the bed with a partner, you might feel them getting in and out of bed. The mattress also isn’t very responsive, which means it’s not one of the best mattresses for sex. And while it has strong edge support (allowing two people to spread out on its surface), it doesn’t have great cooling capabilities. With all that in mind, I don’t think the Dreamfoam Essential mattress is an especially good bed for couples.

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
dreamfoam chill memory foam

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

My Final Thoughts about the Dreamfoam Essential Mattress

Hooray, you’ve nearly made it through this full review! Now just one question remains: Is the Dreamfoam Essential the right mattress for you? I can’t answer that for you, but I can share an overview of my favorite and least favorite things about this bed.

Who I Recommend the Dreamfoam Essential Mattress For

  • This is a great option for folks who need an RV or camper mattress. The Dreamfoam Essential comes in a variety of RV-specific sizes, which isn’t the case for all bed-in-a-box mattresses.
  • This could be a nice choice for back sleepers. The mattress’s firm support does a nice job of keeping the hips elevated and aligned with the spine.
  • Memory foam lovers might appreciate the feel of this bed. While firm, it offers some of the sinkage and body contouring that’s characteristic of memory foam.

Who I Don’t Recommend the Dreamfoam Essential Mattress For

  • This mattress sleeps a little hot. The thick cover makes the bed less breathable, and the memory foam comfort layer might trap some body heat.
  • This bed lacks bounce, and it will probably have a slow response as you try to move around and change positions. If you like a mattress with a springy feel, consider an innerspring mattress or latex mattress option.

How Much Does the Dreamfoam Essential Cost?

Size and price are two of the most important factors when choosing a mattress, especially if you’re looking for something for your RV. Take a look at pricing for a few of the Dreamfoam Essential sizes below. Please keep in mind that the Dreamfoam Essential comes in a wide range of sizes not listed here. For full size and pricing options head click the button above to head to their site.

And remember that you can check out our Brooklyn Bedding mattress coupon page to snag a deal on this bed. I should also say that, compared to many other memory foam mattresses on the market, the Dreamfoam Essential costs significantly less, even if you opt for a more expensive size like a king.

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

dreamfoam chill memory foam

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
dreamfoam chill memory foam

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a very affordable memory foam mattress that is available in multiple heights.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Size Dimensions Price of 6″ Version Price of 8″ Version Price of 10″ Version
Twin 39″ x 75″ $249 $324 $374
Twin XL 39″ x 80″ $324 $374 $424
Full 54″ x 75″ $399 $449 $499
Queen 60″ x 80″ $474 $524 $599
King 76″ x 80″ $574 $674 $799
California King 72″ x 84″ $574 $674 $799

*Prices listed are before discount or offer on each size.

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Policies and FAQs

How does the Dreamfoam Essential mattress ship?

Shipping is free and your new mattress will arrive compressed in a box.

Does Brooklyn Bedding offer a trial period?

Yes, the Dreamfoam Essential comes with a 120-night sleep trial. Brooklyn Bedding asks that you test your new mattress for at least 30 days before starting the return process.

Does the Dreamfoam Essential come with a mattress warranty?

Yes, the Dreamfoam Essential comes with a 10-year warranty.

Are Brooklyn Bedding mattresses non-toxic?

Yes. Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are made with CertiPUR-US certified foams, which means they’re free of a variety of harmful chemicals and are low in VOCs (volatile organic compounds).

Where are Brooklyn Bedding mattresses made?

Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are made in the USA. The company is one of the few mattress companies to own their own factory, so it controls the entire production process of its products.

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Vs

Brooklyn Bedding has actually begun offering several of their mattresses in RV sizes, all of which are available on an RV-specific site called RVMattress.com. Here’s how the Dreamfoam Essential stacks up against some of these beds.

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress vs Dreamfoam Hybrid Mattress

The Dreamfoam Hybrid has a similar construction to the Dreamfoam Essential, but with a layer of springs included for additional support. Interestingly, I found the Hybrid to be softer than the Essential.

  • Price: The Dreamfoam Hybrid is significantly more expensive than the Dreamfoam Essential, which isn’t a surprise since hybrid beds tend to be more expensive to manufacture than foam mattresses. That said, both options are cheaper than many other beds on the market. In both cases, a queen is well under $1,000 even before discounts.
  • Sleeping position: Both options should be comfortable and supportive enough for back sleepers. The softer Hybrid is going to be the better choice for side sleepers and the firmer Essential is the more sensible option for average weight stomach sleepers.
  • Cooling: The Hybrid is definitely the better cooling mattress, thanks to a cooling cover and its airflow-promoting coils. 
  • Body weight: Neither choice is going to give heavy sleepers the support they need.

Read more in our full Dreamfoam Hybrid mattress review

Dreamfoam Hybrid Mattress

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of this is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Hybrid Mattress

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of this is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

Dreamfoam Hybrid Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of this is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress vs Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Signature Hybrid is one of Brooklyn Bedding’s most popular mattresses. In addition to regular mattress sizes, it’s offered in several RV sizes. Its coils make it feel more like an innerspring mattress, so it’s much bouncier than the Dreamfoam Essential.

  • Price: The Signature Hybrid is much more expensive than the Dreamfoam Essential mattress.
  • Sleeping position: Both options should be a good match for back sleepers, but side sleepers should opt for the softer Signature Hybrid, which should give them the contouring they need at the shoulders and hips. The Signature Hybrid is also available in a Firm model that should be suitable for stomach sleepers. Finally, combo sleepers should find it easier to switch positions on the Signature Hybrid.
  • Cooling: Because it contains springs, the Signature Hybrid has more room for air to flow through the mattress. That, along with its more breathable foams, make it the better cooling mattress. 
  • Body weight: Heavy back sleepers and side sleepers should get the support they need on the Signature Hybrid, but heavy stomach sleepers will likely require something with more firmness and durability.

Read more in our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

P1063020

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a hybrid mattress made out of a combination of memory foam and latex foam. The Signature offers a good amount of bounce that combination sleepers who move around in the middle of the night can enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

I bought this for my 92 year old father in law, after he tried mine that I purchased 7 years ago. He raves about it every day, he says he falls asleep faster, sleeps longer without waking up. He says it's so comfortable. He called me yesterday saying he can't thank me enough for setting him up with the mattress. He's really happy with it . Thank you!!

Roger S., Brooklyn Bedding customer
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

P1063020

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a hybrid mattress made out of a combination of memory foam and latex foam. The Signature offers a good amount of bounce that combination sleepers who move around in the middle of the night can enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

I bought this for my 92 year old father in law, after he tried mine that I purchased 7 years ago. He raves about it every day, he says he falls asleep faster, sleeps longer without waking up. He says it's so comfortable. He called me yesterday saying he can't thank me enough for setting him up with the mattress. He's really happy with it . Thank you!!

Roger S., Brooklyn Bedding customer
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1063020

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a hybrid mattress made out of a combination of memory foam and latex foam. The Signature offers a good amount of bounce that combination sleepers who move around in the middle of the night can enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

I bought this for my 92 year old father in law, after he tried mine that I purchased 7 years ago. He raves about it every day, he says he falls asleep faster, sleeps longer without waking up. He says it's so comfortable. He called me yesterday saying he can't thank me enough for setting him up with the mattress. He's really happy with it . Thank you!!

Roger S., Brooklyn Bedding customer
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress vs Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Newly available in RV sizes, the Aurora Luxe is Brooklyn Bedding’s luxury mattress, with high-end features such as zoned coils and several layers of plush memory foam. This makes it a very soft mattress, with a score of 6 out of 10 on our mattress firmness scale.

  • Price: As a luxury bed, the Aurora Luxe is always going to be more expensive than the Dreamfoam Essential.
  • Sleeping position: Side sleepers should get lots of pressure relief and contouring on the Aurora Luxe. Back sleepers should be comfortable, too, as long as they like a soft mattress. If they prefer a firmer mattress, they should stick with the Dreamfoam Essential. The Essential is also the better option for stomach sleepers.
  • Cooling: From an infusion of copper up top to the airflow-promoting coils at the bottom, nearly every layer of the Aurora Luxe has some kind of cooling feature. It’s definitely the cooler of the two mattresses. 
  • Body weight: Like many of Brooklyn Bedding’s mattresses, the Aurora Luxe comes in three different firmness options. The Firm model should be supportive enough for heavy side sleepers, but heavy back sleepers and stomach sleepers should look elsewhere. Heavy sleepers in general will want to avoid the Dreamfoam Essential, as it probably isn’t supportive enough.

Read more in our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

P1063217

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is a hybrid bed-in-a-box mattress. It comes in three firmness levels and with an optional Cloud Pillow Top, so sleepers can pick the best model for their needs. It also has cooling tech in nearly every layer, which means it sleeps super cool!

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

P1063217

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is a hybrid bed-in-a-box mattress. It comes in three firmness levels and with an optional Cloud Pillow Top, so sleepers can pick the best model for their needs. It also has cooling tech in nearly every layer, which means it sleeps super cool!

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1063217

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is a hybrid bed-in-a-box mattress. It comes in three firmness levels and with an optional Cloud Pillow Top, so sleepers can pick the best model for their needs. It also has cooling tech in nearly every layer, which means it sleeps super cool!

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Logan Block

Logan Block

Former Content Director

About Author

Logan is the former content director of Sleepopolis. As content director, he reviewed new mattresses every week and curated the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. Logan perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole.

Stomach Sleeper