We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Arctic Dreams Mattress Review

If you’re on the prowl for a cheap mattress that also happens to sleep cool, the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress could be the one for you. Available in either an all-foam or hybrid design, this bed is built with a wide range of sleepers in mind. But is it any good? Well, that’s what we’re here to find out!

In this review, I’m going to analyze every inch of this mattress to figure out how it’s built, how it sleeps, and who it might be best for. That way, you’ll know without a shadow of a doubt whether or not it’s the one for you.

So, read on for my full review of the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress. Short on time? You can skip on down to my review summary at the end of this guide.

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Brand Snapshot

Dreamfoam Bedding is powered by Brooklyn Bedding, one of the most popular online bedding brands around. The family-owned company is perhaps best known for its wide array of different mattresses, all of which are made right here in the United States.

Though we’ll be chatting about the Arctic Dreams model in this guide, you can read my reviews of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature, Brooklyn Bedding Bloom, and Brooklyn Bedding Aurora mattresses to learn more about this brand.

But for now, let’s get back to this dreamy little mattress, shall we?

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Mattress
The Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams

What is the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress Made Of?

The Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress features a simple two-layer design of gel memory foam over either high-density poly foam or encased coils. For this reason, it could be considered either an all-foam (built entirely of foam) or hybrid (built with both foam and coils) model.

For the purpose of this review, I’m testing out the all-foam version!

Cover – In my opinion, one of the most interesting parts of this mattress is actually found in the cover. Not only is it quilted with a bit of a foam for added comfort, but it also features a special cooling panel to help dissipate body heat.

Comfort – To keep the cooling party going, the next layer up is one of gel memory foam. This material has a slow response to pressure, which allows it to contour to the curves of the body as you press into the structure. Folks in need of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips may enjoy this gentle hug. And though memory foam has a slight reputation for absorbing and retaining body heat, the cooling gel infusion here helps to mitigate this issue.

Support – Beneath the layer of memory foam, you’ll land on either a section of high-density poly foam or encased coils. While both materials provide some stability and shape to the structure, the encased coils are going to lend the bed a much bouncier feel. They’ll also make things just a touch firmer. So, if you need a more supportive feel, I’d recommend going with the hybrid version of this mattress.

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Materials
The Arctic Dreams comes in both all-foam and hybrid versions

How Does the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress Feel?

Now that we’ve got the construction specs out of the way, let’s move onto the important stuff, namely how this mattress feels! To kick things off, I’d like to take a look at its overall firmness.

Before we dig into this section, I just want to take a moment to acknowledge the subjective nature of firmness. As with any feel factor, this characteristic can change a lot depending on one’s body size, shape, and weight. Therefore, my read of this bed’s firmness could be totally different from your own! For reference, I’m 5’10” and weigh around 190 lbs. I also prefer to sleep on my stomach, which means I have a preference for a slightly firmer feel.

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Firmness
I found the Arctic Dreams to have a medium firmness

After rolling around this mattress for a while, I decided to give it a 6/10 on the firmness scale, with 10 being the firmest. When compared to the industry standard of 6.5 for medium firmness, I’d say this bed is certainly on the softer side of things.

The Dreamfoam mattress got a 6 from me because of its fairly simple design. There are only two layers of foam here, so there’s not going to be a lot of support or lift. In fact, I’d say that if you weigh over 200 lbs., you’re likely to push right through the materials. For that reason, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this Dreamfoam mattress for heavy people. Children, however, may find that this mattress provides just the right amount of support and pressure relief.

In terms of sleeping positions, I don’t think there’s enough pressure relief here to satisfy the needs of side sleepers. Conversely, stomach sleepers may find that the mattress isn’t quite firm enough to lift the hips in line with the shoulders. But, more on that below!

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Testing the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

While firmness is definitely an important measure, it’s not the only one to consider when buying a new mattress. So, let’s test out the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams for two other factors: Pressure Relief and Motion Transfer.

Pressure Relief

Pressure relief refers to how well (or not well!) a mattress is able to alleviate tension at sensitive spots like the shoulders, hips, and lower back. If you’re someone who struggles with fibromyalgia, joint pain, or arthritis, you’ll want to pay extra close attention to this section.

To demonstrate this bed’s propensity for pressure relief, I used a pressure map. This device captures the amount of force I’m exerting on the structure as I move around, providing a colored “map” of all the different pressure zones. To read the map, all you have to know is that green indicates areas of low pressure and red indicates areas of high pressure.

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Pressure Map
Pressure map results for the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams

Back – The Dreamfoam mattress felt okay on my back. Though the quilted cover and memory foam layers did do a nice job of filling in the space at my lumbar region, I didn’t get quite enough support at my lower back to make this a comfortable sleeping position.

Side – A similar story on my side. While there was some initial relief as the memory foam layer contoured to my shoulders and hips, the longer I laid in this position, the more uncomfortable I got. If you switch between your side and another position in the night, you should be okay. But I think strict side sleepers will want to avoid this mattress and go for something softer.

Stomach – And finally, stomach sleeping. As I mentioned above, this mattress isn’t quite firm enough for this position, so I experienced a bit of bowing at the lower back. In general, stomach sleepers want an ultra-firm structure that will lift the hips in line with the shoulders.

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Back Sleeper
Back sleeping on the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams

Motion Transfer

And finally, let’s take a look at this bed’s motion transfer. Basically, this measure refers to how much movement is detectable from one side of the mattress to the other. If you sleep with a partner or even a furry best friend, you’ll want to pay attention to this test!

To illustrate this motion transfer, I dropped a 10 lb. steel ball from heights of 4 inches, Eight inches and 12 inches and measured the disturbance it caused: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Motion Transfer
Motion transfer results for the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams

In my opinion, these motion transfer results are just okay. While smaller movements shouldn’t be an issue, you’re likely to feel major tossing and turning in the night. Why? Well, the two-layer design doesn’t do much to absorb and dissipate motion.

Should You Buy the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress?

The Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress is an affordable model that will likely work best for college students or those on a budget. It could be a good mattress for a guest bedroom as well. It comes in either an all-foam or hybrid design and it’s worth noting that the hybrid version will be slightly bouncier than the all-foam one.

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Pros

  • Perhaps the biggest selling point of this bed is that it’s a cheap mattress. If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you.
  • In fact, I think this mattress could actually be a great choice for kids. Though it doesn’t necessarily provide the deep pressure relief or support that adult sleepers might need, it should more than suffice the slumber needs of a child or teenager.
  • One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this characteristic.

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Cons

  • Overall, I’d say this mattress lacks support. If you’re someone who struggles with aches and pains in the night, this may not be a great pick for you.
  • Side sleepers, in particular, will likely want to avoid this mattress. Why? It doesn’t offer nearly enough pressure relief at the shoulders, hips, and lower back.
DreamFoam Arctic Dreams Side Sleeper
I don’t think the Arctic Dreams is a great choice for side sleepers

How Much Does the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress Cost?

As I mentioned a few times in this review, the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress is definitely a budget-friendly mattress. Take a look at the prices for each size below to see what I mean. These prices are before any discounts or exclusive offers. Check out this Dreamfoam coupon for an even sweeter deal.

SizeDimensionsHybrid Price
Twin38" x 75" x 10"$399
Twin XL38" x 80" x 10"$449
Full53" x 75" x 10"$499
Queen60" x 80" x 10"$549
King76" x 80" x 10"$749
California King72" x 84" x 10"$749

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress

If you’re shopping on a budget or looking to snag a spare bed for a guest room, this could be a nice pick for you. One standout feature of the Arctic Dreams is that it’s a cooling mattress. Folks who sleep hot might benefit from this great value mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Dreamfoam Policies

  • Shipping and Returns – Free
  • Trial – 120 Nights
  • Warranty – 10 year

FAQ

Do you need a box spring with the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams?

While this mattress is designed to work best on a slatted bed frame, it can be used on a box spring if you have one that you like. However, you do not need a box spring for the Arctic Dreams mattress.

Is the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress flippable?

No, the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams is not meant to be flipped. It’s designed to have its comfort layers on top and the firmer support layers on the bottom. However, if you’d like to extend your mattress’ lifespan, you can rotate it 180 degrees every six months.

How long will the Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams mattress last?

Different factors like your size, whether or not you share your mattress with someone, and your sleeping position can all have an impact on the lifespan of your mattress. While Dreamfoam does offer a 10-year warranty, I typically recommend reevaluating the support of your mattress every 3-5 years.

Dreamfoam Arctic Dreams Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Refunds
  • Trial
  • Warranty
3.9
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.