We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Review

I’m super stoked for this review because I’m taking a look at one of the most ~luxurious~ beds I’ve ever seen: the Intellibed Matrix Grand. Built with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam, this mattress is truly the grand dame of bedding. 

But is it actually comfortable? To find out, I put this baby to the test, examining its construction and assessing its feel to see if it might just be the bed of your dreams.

Curious about my thoughts but in a time crunch? Visit my review summary.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

90 nights

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Trial Period

90 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

90 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is Intellibed Matrix Grand a Good Mattress for You? 

Is the Intellibed Matrix Grand the right bed for you? Below, I’ve compiled my thoughts into some recommendations to help you decide! 

Intellibed Matrix Grand
The Intellibed Matrix Grand

Who I recommend the Intellibed Matrix Grand mattress for

  • This is quite the supportive mattress. If you’ve got aches and pains (and could do with a little neutral spine alignment), this could be a great mattress for you.
  • Specifically, I think it could be great for combo sleepers who switch between their back and side as they doze.
  • Thanks to the actively cooling Phase Change Material in the cover, it could also be a great pick for those who overheat in the night.

Who I don’t recommend the Intellibed Matrix Grand mattress for

  • The Intellibed Matrix Grand just isn’t going to be in everyone’s budget.
  • Additionally, I’d say it lacks contouring, so may not be the best fit for those in need of deep pressure relief in the shoulders, hips, or lower back.

How Firm is the Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress?

Now that we’ve got the construction specs out of the way, let’s talk about how this baby feels, starting with an assessment of its firmness.

But before we get into my personal thoughts, I just want to take a moment to acknowledge the subjective nature of firmness. As with any feel factor, it can change a lot depending on one’s body size, shape, and weight, so my reading of the mattress could be very different from your own. For reference, I’m 5’10”, 190 lbs., and sleep primarily on my stomach.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Firmness
I found the Intellibed Matrix Grand to have a nice medium firmness

After stretching out on this mattress, I decided to give it a 6.5 out of 10, which syncs up perfectly with the industry standard for medium firmness.

In my opinion, this bed strikes a satisfying balance between lift and give, with no one material overwhelming the feel of the structure. So, yes, while the layers of Gel Matrix technology provides some pleasant pressure relief at the shoulders and hips, its softness is bolstered by the lively one-two punch of Energex Foam and pocketed coils, which lifts the sleeper up and out of the bed. This vibe should satisfy a wide range of sleepers, but I think it could be particularly well suited to combo sleepers who switch between their back and sides at night.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Performance 

I use a variety of tools to test each mattress I review, and I treated this Intellibed mattress no differently. I assessed it for  features like sleeping position, weight, pressure relief, how it performs for couples, and more. Here we go!

Intellibed Matrix Grand Side Sleep
I think side sleepers will like the Intellibed Matrix Grand

Testing the Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

All shapes and sizes deserve a mattress that fits their needs. That’s why I’ve put together a short cheat sheet to aid you in making your new mattress decision. Let’s see how intelli-gent this Intellibed is for a variety of sleeping positions and weights! 

Is the Intellibed Matrix Grand a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – The foam layers should contour these sleepers like a big, soft hug, and continue going strong with a good amount of pressure relief and room for mobility.
  • Light Side Sleepers – These sleepers should really feel the cushiony goodness of the top foam layers. Soft comfort is key here, so I’d definitely recommend this Intellibed.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Since it’s possible for these sleepers to feel the foams even softer than average, I don’t think I’d recommend this mattress for them. While the comforting foams are great in other areas, it’s going to cause some serious hip sinkage.

Is the Intellibed Matrix Grand a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – I think that the combined foams and medium-firm feeling should strike a great balance for these sleepers. You’ll feel the foam’s contouring in all the right places without too much sink!
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – These sleepers will definitely experience some comfort on the Intellibed Grand Matrix, but because it’s medium-firm, I’d recommend it even more highly for the combo sleepers out there who alternate between their side and another position.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – I’m not sure I’d recommend it for strict stomach sleepers. Why? Well, when I stretched out in this position, I could feel my hips sinking out of alignment with my shoulders, which is typically a big no-no for those who sleep in prone.

Is the Intellibed Matrix Grand a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – I don’t think this mattress will offer the best support for these sleepers. Looking for a more targeted approach? Check out our best mattresses for heavy people.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – See above.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – See above.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Pain Relief Performance

When I talk about pressure relief, I’m referring to how well a new bed may be able to alleviate tension in the shoulders, hips, and lower back. To test for this, I like to use a pressure map.

Though it sounds complicated, it’s actually quite simple: I roll this gizmo out, hop aboard, and let the map do the rest! As I move around the structure, the gadget records the force my body’s exerting on the structure, and makes a colored “map” of the pressure. Blue indicates areas of low pressure and red indicates areas of high pressure.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Pressure
I was impressed with the pressure relief of the Intellibed Matrix Grand

Back Pain – I think this is a particularly good choice for back sleepers with back pain, who should receive optimal pressure relief due to the body-conforming properties within the top foam layers. I think side sleepers could find comfort here as well, but it may be even better for back and side combo sleepers, who will find a one-two punch of relief, plus movement without sinkage. Stomach sleepers may find that this bed isn’t quite firm enough to keep the spine properly aligned and relieve back pain. The same goes for stomach sleepers, who the bed is definitely firm enough for, but would better suit a combination sleeper.

Shoulder Pain – Back sleepers with shoulder pain should find a good lift in this bed, which will keep the shoulders and hips aligned. As far as side sleepers, I worry that an all-night sleep on this mattress could be just a touch too firm for shoulder pain. However, if you’re a combo between the back and side, this Intellibed should work for you! Finally, I think that stomach sleepers with this pain concern will appreciate the initially plush feel, but as the night goes on, the hips and shoulders could become unaligned, causing additional pressure.

Hip Pain – I’m not sure there’s enough contouring in this bed for back sleepers with this pain concern, who need an especially soft and conforming feel. I think that side sleepers will find this to be true as well, who may experience added pressure in the hips, but combination sleepers might be able to find a happy medium. And ultimately for stomach sleepers, though the sinkage could cause some initial relief to the hips, they will find that it only leads to misalignment.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Performance for Couples

When thinking about couples in the mattress world, we’re stepping into a whole other realm. This includes looking at and testing for transfer of motion, sex features, edge support, and how hot a mattress sleeps. Come one, come all, and join me on the next phase of our review adventure!

Motion Transfer 

Next up, let’s talk about motion transfer! This variable refers to the amount of movement detectable from one side of the mattress to the other, and could be a crucial factor for folks to consider if they share a bed with a child, partner, or rowdy pet.

To illustrate this motion transfer, I dropped a 10 lb. steel ball from heights of 4 inches, 8 inches and 12 inches and measured the disturbance it caused: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Motion
The motion transfer test results for the Intellibed Matrix Grand

These are pretty decent results, considering how bouncy the mattress is. I’d attribute this to the motion-dampening power of the all-foam pillow top layer, which works to dissipate movement across the structure. However, though small jostles will likely go undetected, larger ones may still cause some disturbance.

Sex

Looking for a mattress that assists you in making moves in the bedroom? You’re going to want some mobility and bounce. The Intellibed contains a very pro-sex material, called Energex Foam, which has an awesome combination of lift and bounce! The coiled base also provides additional bounce and support, which also helps for movement without sinkage. With all of this in mind, I’d peg this Intellibed mattress as a great choice for sex.

Cooling 

A sleeping couple creates double the heat of a solo snoozer. This is why a bed’s cooling features, or lack thereof, are super important for partners who share a bed. Thankfully, this mattress comes with a cover chock-full of Phase Change Material, which responds to your body temperature and absorbs body heat.

Edge Support

Edge support is another important feature for couples. This is because it determines how sturdy the edges of a mattress are, which shows whether you can roll around freely across the entire bed.With a nice amount of lift over the entire surface, I found this bed to have a very good amount of edge support.

What is the Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Made Of? 

I mean, what isn’t the Intellibed Matrix Grand made of? At a whopping 17 inches tall (yes, that’s 1-7), this mattress is packed with a ton of different materials, including the aforementioned Gel Matrix Foam, buoyant Energex Foam, pocketed coils, poly foam, and phase change cooling technology. The mix of materials is intended to create a balanced vibe that’s as pressure-relieving as it is supportive.

But does the bed pull this off? Let’s dive under the covers to find out!

Intellibed Matrix Grand Cover
The cover of the Intellibed Matrix Grand helps it sleep cool

Cover – The Intellibed cover is woven with Phase Change Material, which makes it literally cool to the touch. This could be a great feature for those who tend to overheat at night.

Pillow top – The comfort layer kicks off with a thick pillow top of different foam materials. In this gentle section, you’ll find Energex Foam (a pressure-relieving poly foam that’s got a quick response to pressure for bounce and lift) and the brand’s special Gel Matrix Foam (an elastic gel material that “flexes” to provide durability and uniform relief  across the body). This combination produces an interesting interplay between pressure relief and support, allowing for some nice cushioning without too much sinkage. I should also add that there’s a layer of open cell foam in this pillow top as well, which helps to further dissipate body heat throughout the structure.

Transition – Below the pillow top, you’ll land on a transitional layer of poly foam. This section helps ease the sleeper into the firm pocketed coil system below.

Base – The bulk of the mattress is made up of this section of buoyant pocketed coils, which endow the structure with plenty of bounce and support. These springs are also zoned, meaning they’re grouped so as to bring different levels of comfort to the shoulders, hips, and lower back. This could be an especially attractive feature for combo sleepers, who need to feel supported across multiple positions.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Materials
Checking out the materials used in the layers of the Intellibed Matrix Grand

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

This bed-in-a-box will be shipped via USPS or FedEx, and you will be contacted to set up a delivery time once your mattress has arrived in your area. Delivery agents will then deliver your new mattress to your door.

With other new mattresses, like foam, you will sometimes find a “new mattress smell” that comes along with it. This is called off-gassing and usually comes from a mattress that’s been tightly compressed or packaged for shipping. If your Intellibed does emit any orders, they should dissipate within a day or so. Intellibed also offers health and wellness tips to avoid any harmful effects from off-gassing on their website.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

90 nights

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Trial Period

90 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

90 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about the Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

Intellibed Matrix Grand Back
Back sleeping on the Intellibed Matrix Grand

Well folks, we’ve arrived at the end of this review! After chatting about construction, firmness, and feel, it’s time to answer the question you came here asking: Should you buy the Intellibed Matrix Grand? I can’t make that decision for you (sorry!), but I can leave you with a few final thoughts to help you get there on your own.

My favorite things about the Intellibed Matrix Grand mattress

My favorite part about this mattress is how supportive it is, with foams and springs that make it a good option for different sleepers and positions. The zoned springs means this bed offers different support levels for various pain and pressure areas. I also think it’s important to reiterate the cooling features here. I really enjoyed the Phase Change material within the cover that helps dissipate heat and creates a breezy sleeping experience.

My Intellibed Matrix Grand mattress complaints 

I was most disappointed by the bed’s price. Though it’s a quality and luxury mattress, I think the expensive cost of this mattress will make some shoppers shy away from even considering it. I also felt that this mattress lacked the contouring abilities that you often find with memory foam mattresses, and only offers surface, not deep pressure relief, for the key pressure points.

How Much Does the Intellibed Matrix Grand Cost? 

Whether you’re looking for a split king, twin xl, or king size mattress, Intellibed’s got you covered. Refer to the chart below for all of the prices, dimensions, and sizes available for the Intellibed Matrix Grand. 

Price listed will be before any mattress deals (discount or offers) for each size. 

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin XL38" x 80" x 17"$6,499
Full-$7,499
Queen60" x 80" x 17"$7,499
King76" x 80" x 17"$9,999
Cali King72" x 84" x 17"$8,999
Split King76" x 80" x 17"$12,998

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

90 nights

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Trial Period

90 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress

The Intellibed Matrix Grand is a luxury mattress made with multiple layers of pocketed coils and plush foam for a total of 8 layers! All of these materials combine to make a mattress with outstanding support for great pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

90 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Policies and FAQs

Are there added shipping charges for the Intellibed Matrix Grand?

Yes. This Intellibed ships anywhere within the continental U.S. and shipping rates will depend on your state and location.

Does the Intellibed Matrix Grand come with a trial period?

Yes, it comes with a 90-night trial. However, Intellibed recommends sleeping on the mattress at least 30 days before making any returns.

Is there a mattress warranty for the Intellibed Matrix Grand?

Yes, there is a 20-year warranty.

How often should I rotate my Intellibed Matrix Grand?

Intellibed recommends rotating the mattress each month 180 degrees, for the first 6 months. After that period, you can do this once every 6 months.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress Vs  

The journey to buying a new mattress can be full of many options and decisions. This is a good thing because through comparison, you will then be better equipped to make a more informed decision. So, if you’re considering additional options on top of the Intellibed, you’re in a good spot. Let’s take a look at the Saatva HD and the DreamCloud Premier to see how the Matrix Grand measures up.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress vs Saatva HD Mattress

  • The Saatva HD is our pick for the best luxury mattress for heavy people.
  • While the medium-firm Intellibed would not be the best option for heavier folks, the Saatva is specifically made for larger people.
  • Both mattresses would be a good choice for combination sleepers, who often change their sleeping position throughout the night.
  • To learn more, check out the full Saatva HD mattress review.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress vs DreamCloud Premier Mattress

Other Models from Intellibed

While reviewing the Grand Matrix, you might be wondering, what other Intellibed options are out there? That’s where we come in! Let’s review two of its sister models, the Matrix Supreme and the Matrix Deluxe!

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress vs Intellibed Matrix Supreme Mattress

  • The Grand has an additional 1.25-inch Gel Matrix layer, that neither the Supreme, nor the Deluxe have.
  • The Supreme provides foam-encased edge support, while the Grand has steel edge support.
  • Both mattresses naturally offer a breathable and cool sleep.

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress vs Intellibed Matrix Deluxe Mattress

  • The Grand has reticulated airflow, while the Deluxe does not.
  • Like the Supreme, the Deluxe also has foam-encased edge support, rather than steel.
  • Both mattresses, in addition to the Supreme, have a hand-selected, luxury, quilted cover.

That’s a wrap! Take a look below at how the Intellibed Matrix Grand performed on our star chart. 

Intellibed Matrix Grand Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
3.8
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.