We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Saatva vs Purple Mattress Comparison

This comparison has been a long time coming! I get a lot of questions about the Saatva and Purple mattresses, so I decided to answer everything right here and now. These are high-quality beds with some pretty sophisticated stuff going on under the hood. In general, they both feel great and sleep comfortably, but the question remains… which one is better for you?

To find out, we’re going to go over every last inch of these two mattresses. By the end, you’ll know exactly what I think of both products as well as my recs for whom I think might like them most.

Without any further ado, let’s get started!

[Note: In all references to the Saatva, we are talking about the Luxury Firm version.]

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Saatva Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Saatva Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Purple vs Saatva: Similarities and Differences

Saatva and Purple definitely have their unique selling points, but there are some things that both products bring to the table. Overall, these mattresses are made with very different materials and will likely feel quite different to most sleepers. If you’d like to learn more about each of these individual mattresses I’d recommend checking out our Purple mattress review and Saatva mattress review.

Main Similarities

  • I think both of these mattresses are good choices for back sleepers. However, the Saatva is better for back sleepers who prefer a firmer feel.
  • I’d say that both of these beds are pretty bouncy. Though they achieve it in different ways, there’s definitely a lot of buoyancy at play in these mattresses. I think they’re both good options for combination sleepers.
  • You may end up preferring one of these mattresses over the other because of your sleeping style. However, both of them feel great to the initial touch, which speaks to the quality of materials in the Saatva and the Purple.
Purple Mattress Update
The updated Purple mattress in the Sleepopolis room

Main Differences

  • The Saatva is an innerspring mattress, with a coil-on-coil construction. The Purple uses a unique Hyper-Elastic Polymer™ grid which is designed for pressure relief, and below that it has layers of foam.
  • The Saatva is more expensive than the Purple. 
  • The Purple absorbs motion better than the Saatva.
  • I think the Saatva in the Plush Soft firmness level is a better option for side sleepers than the Purple.
  • The Purple is a bed-in-a-box mattress, whereas the Saatva does not ship compressed.
Saatva Mattress
The Saatva mattress in the Sleepopolis bedroom.

Which is Better for You?

Depending on your size, shape, and preferred sleeping position, one of these beds from these unique mattress brands is likely to work better for you. Take a look at some of my recommendations below.

  • I think both the Saatva the Purple are decent options for hot sleepers.  The Purple’s Hyper-Elastic Polymer™ grid sleeps quite cool and has some nice breathability, and its the same story with the Saatva’s coil layers.
  • I think the Saatva is a better option for heavier sleepers, since its edge support foam and coil-on-coil construction adds extra support and durability.
  • I’d recommend the Saatva as a better choice for stomach sleepers, who need firm support.
  • I like the Purple more for couples, since it performed better on our motion transfer test. This means you’re less likely to be disturbed by a restless partner on the Purple.
  • Though I like both of these mattresses for back sleepers, I think the Saatva will work for back sleepers who prefer a firmer feel.

What Do These Mattresses Feel Like? 

Feel is subjective and based on body weight, shape, and size. To get the best results, I always test beds with a few coworkers who run the spectrum. The results you see below are an average of our reports and opinions. We rate firmness on a scale of 1 to 10, with 6.5 being the industry standard for medium firmness.

Saatva Vs Purple Firmness
The Saatva and Purple have about the same firmness levels.

Saatva

After trying out the Saatva, our average firmness rating was 7/10. This means that it’s a bit firmer than the industry average for medium-firm. There’s great support here for stomach sleepers, who usually need more hip support to keep the upper body in alignment with the lower back. At 190 lbs., I also found that the Saatva felt great when sleeping on my back.

The Saatva also has great edge support, thanks to its high density polyfoam encasement layer, which is specifically designed for added edge support. I think this helps make the Saatva a great option for heavier sleepers, who will want to take full advantage of their mattress’s surface area. 

When laying on my side, the Saatva caused a bit of pressure at my shoulders and hips. Side sleepers may wake up with aches and pains because of this. The support from the coils helped me feel free to switch positions, which means the Saatva is a nice choice for combination sleepers. However, I’d recommend that combo sleepers who sleep on their side for a portion of the night go for a softer mattress. 

saatva stomach
I found the Saatva quite comfortable while laying on my stomach.

Bouncy mattresses like the Saatva typically don’t absorb motion well, so it didn’t come as a surprise that the Saatva didn’t perform all that well on our motion transfer test. This means that if you sleep with a partner or pet, you may feel them moving on your side of the bed. I’d recommend couples check out our best mattresses for couples roundup.

A small reminder that we’re only looking at the Luxury Firm Saatva, here. The brand also sells softer and firmer versions of this same mattress, which could be good for those strict-position sleepers in the bunch.

Purple

The original Purple had a feel similar to the Saatva when I was on my back, and our average firmness score was 7/10. I felt as though the mattress kept my hips and spine in a well-aligned position; however, you may need a bit more weight to activate the contouring features of the Purple. The hyper-elastic polymer is a bit bouncier than the pillowtop memory foam layer of the Saatva, which makes it feel more like a waterbed.

When I turned onto my side, I felt some nice pressure relief at my shoulders and hips, though I don’t think it has quite enough sinkage for strict side sleepers. I could also change positions easily because of the bouncy nature of the Hyper-Elastic Polymer™ grid , which is good news for combination sleepers. I also like this mattress for combination sleepers since its comfortable in a range of positions, though I preferred it on my back, where I felt some nice lumbar support. Strict stomach sleepers may need more support to avoid bowing in the back. However, if you don’t stay on your stomach for very long, the initial feel of the mattress is comfortable.

I found that the Purple felt pretty cool. It’s Hyper-Elastic Polymer™ grid has a very unique feel, but definitely has an overall cooling sensation. The grid was also pretty good at absorbing motion, which makes this mattress a nice option for couples, who won’t be disturbed by a restless partner at night.

Pricing

One of the most important factors to consider when buying a new mattress is price. Take a look at how the Saatva and Purple compare below. Overall, the Purple comes at a lower price range.

Prices listed are before discount or offer for each size.

SizePurpleSaatva
Twin$599$887
Twin XL$799$1,087
Full$999$1,474
Queen$1,149$1,574
King$1,499$1,974
California King$1,499$2,174

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Saatva Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Saatva Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

What Are These Mattresses Made Of?

We’ve taken a look at what makes the Saatva and Purple similar and different and how they feel. Now let’s pull back the covers and see what lies beneath. We’ll go into the basics here, but you can always check out my full Saatva Mattress review and Purple Original Mattress review for more details on each mattress.

Saatva

Cover – The organic cotton in the cover is cozy and durable, which inspires confidence in the rest of the bedding. You also get an airy texture that should help you feel and sleep cool.

Pillowtop – A euro pillowtop layer provides comfortable contouring around your body as well as some lift to keep you from sinking too deeply into the structure. 

Support Layer – Next up is a layer of individual pocketed coils which move with the body and add some nice pressure relief.

Zoned Support Layer – The Saatva uses a layer of memory foam in the center area of the mattress to add some more pressure relief where it’s needed at the hips and stomach area.

Base – The steel coils here give shape to the mattress, creating support below the pillowtop layer without creating stiffness in the mattress. You get that classic bounce that you expect from an innerspring mattress. The coil-on-coil layering provides two separate “textures” for the innerspring system, which works together to provide mobility to the sleeper.

Edge Support – HD poly foam wraps the entire mattress structure, maximizing the useable surface area of the Saatva. The result is that the bed feels a bit bigger. If you sleep with a partner, this means more room. If you’re a restless sleeper, this means more space to roll around.

Thoughts: The Saatva gives sleepers a traditional innerspring feel with a plush cotton cover. The overall effect is a good balance between support and comfort with the luxury feel of quality material throughout.

Saatva Construction
Opening up the Saatva mattress.

Purple

Cover – The combination of polyester, lycra, and viscose creates a hybrid fabric that’s soft, breathable, and sleeps cool. The feel is plush and thick although the cover itself is quite thin.

Comfort Layer – The comfort layer is composed of 2 inches of Hyper-Elastic Polymer™, which has a quick response to pressure. Though this layer is quite bouncy, it’s also able to contour around the body, providing comfort to the shoulders and hips. The result is an interesting interplay between support and pressure relief.

Transition Layer – 3.5 inches of HD poly foam separates the firm base from the softer top layers. This cradling support layer helps to position the sleeper on top of the bed without losing the contouring of the comfort layer.

Base Layer – And finally, the base, which is composed of 4 inches layer of high-density poly foam. This section gives the Purple its shape and foundational support, adding to the overall durability of the mattress.

Purple Mattress Materials
The materials used in the Purple mattress

Thoughts: The Purple’s layering and proprietary hyper-elastic polymer comfort layer help to personalize the sleeping experience to your body type. The poly foam layers provide simultaneous comfort and support, which is a feat many competitors often have trouble with.

Saatva vs Purple: Best Qualities 

The Saatva innerspring construction is naturally bouncier than the foam construction of the Purple. It maintains a relatively firm feel, giving back and stomach sleepers much needed support and alignment between the hips, shoulders, and lower back. The combination of springs and firm feel may keep this mattress from being comfortable for strict site sleepers, however.

The foam construction of the Purple actually needs a little bit of weight on it before it activates completely. What I mean to say is that every sleeper is going to interact with this structure differently, as the hyper-elastic polymer grid conforms to the body in a very interesting and specialized way. That being said, its overall vibe is great for combo sleepers, not only because it’s bouncy, but because the contouring grid allows for a consistent feel across multiple positions. 

Saatva Best Features

  • The Saatva is great for stomach sleepers, who will enjoy some nice firm support to keep their hips in line with their shoulders, promoting a straight spinal alignment.
  • Heavier sleepers should feel supported on the Saatva. Its coil-on-coil construction and edge support layer make for a super supportive mattress with a lot of durability.
  • The Saatva is very bouncy, making it a nice option for back and stomach combination sleepers who will feel quite mobile on this mattress.

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Best Features

  • The Purple mattress is a nice option for combination sleepers. It’s quite bouncy, and it’s comfortable in a range of positions.
  • The Purple sleeps quite cool thanks to its unique grid layer, which allow for some added airflow through the mattress.
  • The Purple is more affordable than the Saatva, which makes it a better choice for budget-savvy shoppers.
  • The Purple has better motion isolation than the Saatva, which means it will work better for couples who won’t want to be disturbed by a restless partner’s movements.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has nice bounce as well as a medium mix of support and pressure relief that makes it a great pick for the combo sleepers out there.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Company Policies

Saatva Policies

  • Trial Period – 180-night sleep trial 
  • Shipping – Free white glove delivery
  • Mattress Warranty – 15-year warranty

Purple Policies

  • Trial Period – 100-night trial
  • Shipping – Free shipping and returns
  • Mattress Warranty – 10-year warranty

Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

We rate each company for their customer service based on our own personal experience using their site or calling them. We consider factors like call wait time, politeness, and responsiveness. Companies can receive one of four ratings: Stellar, Great, Satisfactory, or Poor. 

Saatva Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating 

Satisfactory: I used the chat function on Saatva’s site. Though my question was answered, it took about 25 minutes for someone to reach me, which is longer than I would have liked.

Purple Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

Great: I also used the chat function on Purple’s site. My question was answered quickly and politely. However, they did ask for my name and email, which some customers might not like. 

More from Saatva and Purple 

Now that we’ve gone over the flagship Saatva and Purple mattresses, let’s compare them to other mattresses manufactured by the brands. How do our entries hold up? Take a look at my breakdown below to find out!

Zenhaven

  • The Zenhaven is a flippable mattress with two different firmness ratings: one side 6/10 and the other 7.5/10.
  • The latex in the layering is bouncy and sleeps cool.
  • The mattress uses all-organic materials, which could be a big plus for eco-friendly sleepers.
  • The Zenhaven is more expensive than the Saatva, with a range between $1,299-$2,499.
  • Read all about it at my Zenhaven full review or check out my full Saatva comparison.

Zenhaven Mattress

The Zenhaven is extremely durable, so you know you are investing in a mattress that will last a while. Another great perk of this latex bed is that it’s naturally cooling, which hot sleepers should appreciate. You also get two firmness levels in one with this bed since it is flippable.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Zenhaven Mattress

The Zenhaven is extremely durable, so you know you are investing in a mattress that will last a while. Another great perk of this latex bed is that it’s naturally cooling, which hot sleepers should appreciate. You also get two firmness levels in one with this bed since it is flippable.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Zenhaven Mattress

The Zenhaven is extremely durable, so you know you are investing in a mattress that will last a while. Another great perk of this latex bed is that it’s naturally cooling, which hot sleepers should appreciate. You also get two firmness levels in one with this bed since it is flippable.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight and average weight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple 2, 3 & 4

  • The numbered Purple mattresses correspond to the height of the hyper-elastic polymer comfort layer, with 2 being the firmest and 4 being the softest.
  • The numbered Purple mattresses are hybrid mattresses with a traditional pocketed coil spring construction, which makes for a bouncier mattress than foam.
  • The Purple 2 is best for stomach sleepers, the 3 best for combo sleepers, and the 4 is best for side sleepers.
  • The Purple hybrids are more expensive than the original Purple, with the range coming in between $1,299 – $3,499..
  • Read all about it at my Purple mattress full review or hop on over to my Purple vs Purple Hybrid comparison.

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Combination Sleepers
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight combination sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Common Comparisons

Purple vs

Saatva vs

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Score
Saatva Mattress
Multiple firmness options
4.5/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5

Saatva vs Purple

Product
Saatva Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.