Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Review

We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

If you’re on the lookout for a mattress that provides a good blend of support, cooling, and responsiveness, you might be interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress. This 13-inch hybrid mattress from Emma boasts a combination of cooling foam layers and ergonomic pocketed springs to provide a good night’s sleep.

But while everything sounds good on paper, is this truly the right mattress for you? That’s what we’ll find out (and more) in this review. To put this mattress to the test, I’m going to assess its performance by testing out important factors, such as firmness level, pressure relief, cooling, motion isolation, and more.

If you’re in a rush, you can skip to my review summary.

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
P1001395

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Video Review

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Overview

As mentioned, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a mattress that combines foams and sturdy coils, so customers get the best of both worlds in terms of comfort and support. Hybrid mattresses are all very versatile when it comes to overall feel, and the Emma Hybrid Comfort is no exception. It uses a high-density transition layer that keeps the sleeper lifted more “on top of” the mattress, and works in tandem with the coil layer to provide support. This gives the Emma Hybrid Comfort a firmer feel than other hybrids. 

One of the Emma Hybrid Comfort’s most notable features is its zoned support. It features seven different ergonomic zones that provide firmness in the right places, without causing too much stress on sensitive areas. 

Like many mattresses available for online purchase, the Emma Comfort Hybrid is a bed-in-a-box that arrives to your door compressed in a package. You might need help from a friend to unbox this one, and we recommend giving it a day or two to expand and release any off-gassing or chemical smells. Read more about off-gassing and other mattress terminology in our mattress glossary.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Sleepopolis Score

Here at Sleepopolis, we make our recommendations based on a series of tests. Combining each individual testing score, the Emma Hybrid Comfort received an overall score of 4.4 out of 5.

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Materials
5
Motion Isolation
4
Edge Support
4.5
Responsiveness
4
Cooling
5
Trial Period
3.5
Warranty

One of the areas where the Emma Hybrid Comfort scored a bit lower was the mattress warranty. A good mattress warranty is crucial for customers, as it protects them from defects and damages upon delivery. Additionally, it’s a reassurance of the company’s confidence in the product. Looking for a super long-lasting mattress? Check out our best mattresses that won’t sag. This article has the most durable mattresses on the market (and ones with strong edge support), with a number of them boasting outstanding warranties.

What Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Made Of?

The Emma Hybrid mattress is a 13-inch hybrid mattress that’s constructed from cooling and supportive foam layers on top of individually wrapped coils. Let’s break down how it’s made, layer by layer.

emma hybrid comfort mattress

Cover – Its cover is made from a lightweight, moisture-wicking fabric that feels soft to the touch.

Comfort Layer – The top layer comfort system is made from a combination of cooling foam and patented foam layers that are designed to absorb body heat and be temperature-regulating, evenly distribute pressure, and provide good motion isolation.

Transition Layer – This layer is made from durable HRX foam, which is high-density foam, that prevents you from sinking too far and feeling the coil layer underneath.

Support Layer – This mattress features an ergonomic system of coils in its base layer that adapt to your sleeping position to keep you supported. Additionally, its individually wrapped coils provide enhanced airflow for better heat dissipation.

emma hybrid comfort layers

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Firmness

To give you a better idea of the firmness, I like to review this section with my coworkers and incorporate their opinions. We rate firmness on a scale from 1 to 10, where 1 is the softest and 10 is the firmest. We use 6.5 as the standard for medium-firm. Below is the average of our personal firmness ratings.

Firmness 7.5

After testing, we came up with an average rating of 7.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale. Comparing it to the industry standard for medium firmness (6.5), this mattress is quite firm.

The first thing I noticed when I laid down on the mattress was how firm it felt. It definitely felt like I was sleeping “on” the bed rather than “in” it, thanks to the firm foam layers. It does offer a small amount of sinkage, but overall, I’d say the Emma mattress does a great job of keeping you lifted up and supported.

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
P1001395

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Sleeping Position and Body Weight

Let’s now take a look at how different types of sleepers will fare on this bed, depending on their primary sleeping position and body type.

Before we dive into our recommendations, we want to recognize that people come in all shapes and sizes, and people of every size deserve a mattress that works for their body type. We use the weight categories light, average, and heavy to more easily categorize sleepers based on how mattresses will perform for their body type, as most mattresses are designed for the group we call “average” (59 to 113 kilograms, or 130 to 250 pounds).

As a general takeaway, lighter sleepers don’t require as much support as average weight sleepers, and mattresses will tend to feel firmer to them. On the other hand, heavy sleepers tend to need more support than average weight sleepers and tend to sink into the mattress more.

As far as sleeping positions go, side sleepers tend to need a softer mattress while stomach sleepers usually need a firmer, more supportive one. Back sleepers are usually somewhere in the middle.

Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 59 kilograms / 130 pounds)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – The Emma Hybrid Comfort will likely feel quite firm to lightweight sleepers, since they won’t sink in as much. So, I would only recommend it to light back sleepers who love a firm feel. 
  • Light Side Sleepers – Likewise, lightweight side sleepers may find this mattress too firm, which may cause discomfort in the hip and shoulder areas.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – I think light stomach sleepers will sleep comfortably on this mattress, especially if they prefer extra-firm mattresses, as it will keep their hips lifted up and out of the structure.
emma hybrid comfort stomach sleeper

Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (59 to 113 kilograms / 130 to 250 pounds)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – These sleepers will likely sleep comfortably on this mattress, particularly if they like a firmer feel. With just a tiny amount of sinkage, back sleepers should easily maintain a neutral spine on this bed.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Side sleepers will probably feel like this mattress is too firm on their hips and shoulders.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – I think this mattress has just the right amount of firmness and support to keep stomach sleepers’ hips lifted, promoting a neutral spine alignment.

Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 59 kilograms / 250 pounds)?

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – Heavier people who sleep on their back should sleep well on this mattress since it’ll keep their back and hips properly aligned with their spine.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – I wouldn’t recommend the Emma Hybrid Comfort to heavy side sleepers, as it is likely too firm to offer enough pressure relief. The top foam layers aren’t very thick, so heavy folks may sink right into the coil layer, which could cause pain on pressure points. 
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – I think it’s a good match for heavier stomach sleepers since it can provide enough support for their hips and back.
emma hybrid comfort back sleeper

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Performance

A big part of what we do here at Sleepopolis is run a series of tests on each mattress we review. This helps our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches get an objective view of what it would be like to sleep on them. These tests also allow us to make even more specific recommendations in addition to sleeping position and body type. Below, see how the Emma Hybrid Comfort performs in areas such as pain relief, motion transfer, cooling, and more.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Pain Relief Performance

When I say a mattress has good pressure relief, I mean that it sufficiently cushions pressure points on the body while resting. It’s also an effective way to measure how well a mattress will relieve pain.

To make sure I got an accurate read on the Emma Hybrid Comfort’s pressure relief, I placed a pressure map on top of the mattress and lied down on it in the side and back sleeping positions. In real time, the pressure map presents the results in a graphic created by thermal imaging. You’ll see low pressure areas recorded in blue to green and higher pressure areas recorded in yellow to red. We cover three different areas: back pain, shoulder pain, and hip pain.

Before looking at the results below, I recommend taking your sleeping position into account. For example, if you’re a back sleeper, you might not feel adequate pressure relief at the lumbar region on an extra-firm. In short, consider your sleeping position first, then look at our pressure map results.

PressureMap EmmaHybridComfort

On the left, you can see our pressure map results for side sleeping. While the pressure map results look okay for my shoulder while side sleeping, I felt a noticeable pressure buildup while lying on my side, so I wouldn’t recommend it to side sleepers. I think side sleepers with shoulder pain and hip pain will feel too much pressure buildup in this position.

On the right, you’ll see our pressure map results for back sleeping. The graphic shows promising results for back sleepers with back pain. There is essentially no pressure buildup around the back shown in the pressure map results. The supportive coils in this bed work well to maintain a neutral spine. Additionally, I didn’t really feel much pressure on my shoulders or hips when I laid down on my back, so it should be a good bed for joint pain in this position.

Motion Transfer

I pay close attention to motion transfer when I review mattresses in our lab. It’s essentially the amount of movement that travels through the mattress when it’s touched or disturbed. This is an especially important consideration if you sleep with a partner or a pet.

Our motion transfer score is curated through a series of three different tests. First, I just lie down on the mattress with a colleague, roll around, and we see how much of each other’s movement we feel. The second test is our wine glass test, wherein we place a full wine glass on the mattress surface and see how much the wine moves around with us. If the liquid has zero to little movement, then it’s a safe bet that the mattress has low motion transfer, which is what you want to see.

Lastly, there’s our seismometer test. To complete this test, we drop a 10 pound steel ball from three different heights: four inches, eight inches and 12 inches. While doing this, we measure the disturbance it causes. The bigger the lines on the graph, the bigger the disturbance and the higher the motion transfer.

MotionTransfer EmmaHybridComfort

Overall, I think the Emma Comfort Hybrid mattress has great motion isolation, making it a good choice for couples. Based on our tests, you’re unlikely to be disturbed if your partner gets up for a late-night bathroom trip.

Responsiveness

Hybrid mattresses with coils (such as the Emma Comfort Hybrid), as well as innersprings (like the Saatva), tend to be responsive (they have a high response to pressure). Memory foam beds usually have a low response to pressure, as the foams tend to trap movement. Responsive mattresses are usually good for sex since they make it easy to change positions and move around. These same traits make them good for combination sleepers who back sleeping to side sleeping and so on.

In our mattress lab, we test responsiveness by lying down on the mattress and switching positions on it. From this, it’s easy to determine whether or not a mattress provides an “on top of” feel that allows for ease of movement.

Based on our tess, the Emma Comfort Hybrid Mattress is very responsive, so you shouldn’t have any problems moving around on it. We found it a bit lacking in bounciness, so there’s a tiny bit of resistance. However, this isn’t detrimental to the performance, so it’s a good mattress for sex.

Cooling

When we test a mattress to find out whether or not it’s cooling, we consider its construction. Since the Emma Hybrid Comfort has a layer of coils, there’s plenty of room for air to flow through the mattress and keep it cool. Further temperature regulation comes from the gel infusion in the foam. 

We also test out each mattress with a device called a thermal gun, which uses color-coded imaging to measure how much and how quickly a mattress heats up when we lie down on it. If it heats up more than 15 degrees Fahrenheit, we consider it to have poor cooling capabilities. 10 to 15 degrees indicates decent cooling, 5 to 10 degrees indicates good cooling, and less than 5 degrees indicates excellent cooling.

After five minutes of lying on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, it increased 7.7 degrees. This indicates good temperature regulation. I really did feel cool when resting on it. Considering this, the airy hybrid construction, and the additional cooling features, I feel that the Emma Hybrid Comfort is one of the best cooling mattresses.

Keep in mind that several outside factors can affect cooling, including the temperature of your bedroom, how close your bed is to an air vent or window, and your body’s own temperature, which can vary from person to person.

Edge Support

Edge support is the strength of a mattress’s perimeter. We make sure to test a mattress’s edge support to see whether or not sleepers can lie all the way on the side of their mattress and still feel supported. This should be an appealing feature for couples who like to spread out, heavier people who want to avoid premature sagging, or anyone who loves to use the entire surface of their bed.

Lying down near the edges of the Emma Hybrid Comfort, I still felt supported. However, when I sat down, there was noticeable sinkage at the edges, but I didn’t feel like I was sliding off. Overall, I’d say it has good edge support.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Performance for Couples

Based on the testing results from the above criteria, I’d say that the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a good mattress for couples. It performed well in all categories, from cooling and edge support to motion isolation and responsiveness. Most couples, especially heavier couples or those who prefer a firmer feel, should appreciate this mattress.

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
P1001395

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

My Final Thoughts about the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress

We’re almost done with the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. To answer the final question of whether this mattress is the right one for your needs, let me give you my final thoughts. 

Who I recommend the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress for

  • Because of its firmness level and supportive coil base, I think back sleepers should sleep comfortably on this mattress, especially those who prefer a firm mattress feel.
  • I also think stomach sleepers would enjoy the Emma Hybrid Comfort since its firm foam layers provide enough comfort and support for the hips.
  • This mattress is a great match for couples (including mixed-weight couples) looking for a supportive and responsive mattress with great motion isolation.
emma hybrid comfort tag

Who I don’t recommend Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress for

  • I think this Emma mattress may feel too firm for most side sleepers, who may want a mattress that’s softer and has more cushioning on their sides.
  • Memory foam lovers won’t get that soft, sinking feel on this mattress because of its hybrid construction and firmer feel.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Pricing and Sizing

When shopping for a mattress, the price is one of the first things to consider. Check out the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress’s pricing details below, but don’t forget to check out the Emma mattress coupon page for additional savings.

Price listed will be before discount or offer for each size.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin39″ X 75″$739
Twin XL39″ X 80″$999
Full54″ X 75″$1,049
Queen60″ X 80″$1,199
King76″ X 80″$1,499
California King72″ X 84″$1,499

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

P1001395

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
P1001395

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firm, supportive, and bouncy mattress. A good fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers, it also has open-celled foam for cooling.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Policies and FAQs

What are Emma’s shipping, sleep trial period, and limited warranty policies?

Emma provides free shipping, a 365-night trial period, and a 10-year warranty.

Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort the same mattress as the Emma CliMax?

No, they share some similarities, but the Hybrid Comfort replaced the CliMax as the newer and improved version.

Can I flip the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress?

No, it’s designed to have comfort layers on top and support layers on the bottom, so that would defeat the purpose. We recommend rotating it 180 degrees every few months instead. It’s also a good idea to use a mattress protector to help prolong its life.

Is the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress made in the USA?

No, Emma is based in Germany, where all of its mattresses are designed and manufactured.

What happens if I don’t like the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress?

Emma offers a 365-night trial period, so customers can test out and check whether the mattress is a good fit for their needs. In case they feel that the mattress isn’t for them, Emma accepts free returns under certain conditions where you can get a full refund.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress Vs  

Since we have a better idea of what the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress can do, let’s check out how well it stacks up to the competition. In this section, I’ll be pitting the mattress against its competitors: the Saatva Classic and Nectar Hybrid mattresses.

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress vs Saatva

The Saatva Classic is considered a luxury innerspring mattress, so it utilizes a coil-on-coil system and doesn’t have as many layers of foam. It regularly makes our best mattress list for innerspring beds. Alternatively, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is considered a hybrid and uses one coiled layer instead of two. In addition, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a bed-in-a-box, while the Saatva is delivered uncompressed.

  • Price: As a luxury mattress, the Saatva Classic is more expensive than the Emma Hybrid Comfort.
  • Sleeping position: The Saatva comes in three different firmness levels you can choose from. The firm model would be the most similar to the Emma Hybrid Comfort’s feel. However, if you’re a side sleeper or someone looking for pressure relief, you’re likely going to prefer one of the softer Saatva models.
  • Cooling: Neither mattress sleeps especially hot, but the Emma Hybrid Comfort is going to be better at cooling because it has cooling gel-infused foam, and its coils leave more room for airflow. 
  • Body weight: The Saatva is going to appeal to the widest range of body types, as it comes in three different firmness options.

Read more in our full Saatva mattress review to learn more.

Saatva Mattress

P1051102

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

P1051102

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1051102

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress vs Nectar Hybrid

Both the Emma Hybrid Comfort and Nectar Hybrid are, not surprisingly, hybrid beds that combine cushioning foams and sturdy coils. Where the primary differences lie are in the level of support and firmness each mattress offers. The Emma Hybrid Comfort is notoriously a firmer, and arguably more supportive, bed. This isn’t necessarily better; it all depends on your preferred sleeping position and body type.

  • Price: The Nectar Classic Hybrid is also a budget-friendly option. It’s a step up from the original Nectar foam mattress, which has more of a memory foam mattress feel. Whether the Nectar Classic Hybrid is more expensive usually depends on the different deals each company provides at the time.
  • Sleeping position: The Nectar Classic Hybrid has a softer feel and will offer more contouring than the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress. So, it’ll be better for side sleepers and those with joint pain.
  • Cooling: Both of these mattresses include cooling materials and breathable coils, so they should both work well for hot sleepers.
  • Body weight: The Emma Hybrid Comfort has stronger edge support than the Nectar Hybrid. It’s also firmer and built for sleepers of a heavier weight.

Read our full Nectar Classic Hybrid mattress review.

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

P1039267

The Nectar Classic Hybrid has the same popular layers of foam found in other Nectar beds that offer pressure relief and comfort, but the coils inside the hybrid also bring sleepers extra support and airflow.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

P1039267

The Nectar Classic Hybrid has the same popular layers of foam found in other Nectar beds that offer pressure relief and comfort, but the coils inside the hybrid also bring sleepers extra support and airflow.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
P1039267

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid has the same popular layers of foam found in other Nectar beds that offer pressure relief and comfort, but the coils inside the hybrid also bring sleepers extra support and airflow.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Other Models from Emma

Before we bring the review to a close, let’s check out how well the Hybrid Comfort compares to its siblings. Emma also offers sleep products, like bed frames and pillows. 

Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress vs Emma Mattress

The Emma original mattress has an all-foam construction, while the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid, utilizing both foams and coils.

  • Price: The addition of coils in the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress makes it a pricier bed.
  • Sleeping position: Both back, stomach, and combination sleepers should be comfortable on these beds.
  • Cooling: The coils in the Emma Hybrid Comfort should allow for more breathability than the original model offers.
  • Body weight: The Emma Hybrid Comfort is better suited for sleepers heavier than 250 pounds (113 kilograms), while the original Emma mattress struggles a bit in this area.

Read more in our full Emma mattress review.

Emma Mattress

P1057408

The Emma Mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box mattress designed and manufactured in Germany. Its all-foam construction provides great support and comfort that back sleepers and stomach sleepers will enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Emma Mattress

P1057408

The Emma Mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box mattress designed and manufactured in Germany. Its all-foam construction provides great support and comfort that back sleepers and stomach sleepers will enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1057408

Emma Mattress

The Emma Mattress is an all-foam bed-in-a-box mattress designed and manufactured in Germany. Its all-foam construction provides great support and comfort that back sleepers and stomach sleepers will enjoy.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Review Process

At Sleepopolis, our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress. We start by unboxing the mattress to figure out how difficult (or easy) it is to get the mattress from the box to the bed. Then, we spend time laying on the bed in different positions, taking time to assess it on our backs, stomachs, and sides. Next, we perform our Sleepopolis tests, using specialized tools to measure qualities like motion transfer, bounce, and pressure relief. Our last step is to open up the mattress and take a look at each layer. These steps allow us to give our final verdict on the mattress.

Amelia Jerden

Amelia Jerden

Senior Staff Writer

About Author

Amelia is a Senior Staff Writer for Sleepopolis. She primarily covers bedding and sleep accessory products in reviews, how-to guides, and more. You can also find her over on the Sleepopolis YouTube channel. Amelia is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, with double majors in media and journalism and in dramatic art. Outside of work, Amelia can usually be found on a hike, traveling to a new city, or at her local thrift store.

Back Sleeper