We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid Mattress Review

Trying to figure out which Purple mattress you should buy? Then you’ve landed on the right page, because we’re about to dive headfirst into a full on Purple mattress comparison. 

That’s right, we’re going to pit the Original Purple against its springy Hybrid and Hybrid Premier mattress sisters, sizing up their similarities and digging into their differences to help you decide which one is 100% right for you.

So, buckle up, and get ready for this full-on Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid review showdown! Oooor click here to skip to the summary. Is it time to switch that old mattress out for a Purple? Let’s get into it to find out!

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.7/5

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.7/5
Product
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.7/5

Purple vs Purple Hybrid: Which is Better for You?

The Original Purple mattress is Purple’s signature model, known for targeting pressure points with firm support. The Hybrid model combines the Purple grid technology in the Original with coils between foam layers, and comes in two Hybrid Premier models as well (the Hybrid Premier 3 and 4), with each having more layers of cushioning Purple grid. Let’s get started by looking into who each of these models might suit best. Keep in mind that your body type and personal preferences  play a part in whether or not a mattress will work for you. 

Who Should Buy Purple

  • Combo sleepers in need of pressure relief and proper edge support as they’re moving about the bed at night.
  • Budget-conscious shoppers looking for the Purple feel, without the higher cost. 
  • Sleepers looking for a more lightweight mattress that is easy to transport.

Who Should Buy Purple Hybrid

  • Back and stomach sleepers looking for a supportive and firm mattress with an “on top” of the bed feel.
  • Heavier sleepers should find the support they need with the Hybrid, thanks to its firm support and lift.
  • I’d recommend hot sleepers try out the Hybrid as well, thanks to these bed’s cooling properties.

Who Should Buy Purple Hybrid Premier 3 and 4

  • Sleepers interested in the unique Purple construction, but in need of or desire a softer mattress.
  • The Hybrid Premier 3” should be a great choice for combination sleepers, offering a nice amount of bounce and mobility throughout the night.
  • The Hybrid Premier 4” is the softest in the line, making it great for side sleepers who enjoy some deep sinkage in their mattress.

Purple vs Purple Hybrid: Similarities and Differences

Let’s go over their similarities and differences between these two mattresses. That way, we’ll be better able to contextualize the specifics that relate them, but also set them apart!

Main Similarities 

  • Hyper-elastic Polymer – All Purple beds feature a smart comfort grid of hyper-elastic polymer. This purple material is stretchy, bouncy, and thermo-regulating, kicking off all the brand’s mattresses with a buoyant vibe.
  • Bounce – Speaking of buoyancy, the Purple mattresses are incredibly bouncy. (No all-foam beds here!) If you’re looking for some serious lift, you’ll be well satisfied by any of these violet-hued beds.
  • Cooling – Purple mattresses are also designed to be temperature neutral, so help to mitigate overheating in the night. If you’re someone who sleeps hot, you should find a lot of comfort in the actively cooling layers.
Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid review
Close up of the cover of the Purple mattress

Main Differences 

  • Durability – The Purple is the most lightweight option, while the Hybrid has added features like support coils, making it a more durable bed.
  • Models – The Purple has an optional Plus feature that can be added onto the existing Original mattress, while the existing Hybrid was given a facelift and an additional mattress was born, the Hybrid Premier.
  • Heavier Sleepers – I think the coiled support in both the Hybrid and Hybrid Premiers will offer much more support for heavier sleepers than the Original would.

Purple and Purple Hybrid Mattress Feel Comparison

So, we know how these mattresses are built, but how exactly do they feel? It’s a great question, and one we’re going to explore in depth below.

Before we get into this section, though, I just want to mention that any feel factor (from firmness to pressure relief and motion transfer) is highly subjective, and can change a lot depending on one’s body size, shape, and weight. Therefore, my opinions could vary from your own. For reference, I’m about 5’10”, 190 lbs. and prefer sleeping on my stomach.

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid firmness
Comparing how firm the Purple mattresses are

Purple

In terms of firmness, the Purple got a 7 out of 10 for me. When compared to the industry standard of 6.5 for medium firmness, it’s clear this bed is a touch on the firmer side. That being said, I also found it to provide plenty of pressure relief as I rolled around the bed, marking it as a solid option for combo sleepers.

Given the bed’s propensity for pressure relief, you may be surprised by the firm rating it got from me. However, when you really think about the materials being used, it makes total sense. Remember: The hyper-elastic polymer smart grid is only 2” thick here, so the majority of the bed is made of the highly supportive transition and base layers of polyurethane foam. This creates a super sturdy structure that allows for a ton of lift and durability.

Back sleeping on Original Purple Mattress
Relaxing on the Purple mattress

Purple Hybrid

Purple Hybrid: In my opinion, the Purple Hybrid is very firm, falling somewhere around a 7 out of 10 on the firmness scale. The relatively thin two-inch layer of hyper-elastic polymer makes for an ultra-supportive vibe that could be well-suited for stomach or back sleepers. In general, you’ll feel the most “on top” of the Purple Hybrid, which could be a big plus for those who don’t want to sink too far into their mattress.

Purple Hybrid Premier 3”: This hybrid hit a nice sweet spot for me, landing at a 6.5 out of 10, which, again, is the industry standard for medium firmness. What this means is that the bed’s not too soft and not too firm, which makes it a fabulous pick for combo sleepers.

Purple Hybrid Premier 4”: And finally, the 4” Hybrid Premier. With the tallest hyper-elastic polymer grid of the bunch, this mattress scored a 5.5/10 from me, which denotes it as a supremely soft structure. You wouldn’t think an additional inch or two would make such a difference, but I found that it dramatically changed the feel. Strict side sleepers will definitely respond best to this mattress, as the comfort layer allows for plenty of cushioning at the shoulders and hips.

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid

Product
Firmness
Score
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.7/5

Original Purple vs Purple Hybrid

Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.7/5
Product
Purple Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.7/5

Comparing What it’s Like to Sleep on the Purple and the Purple Hybrid

Every mattress feels different for each person. This is because different sleepers come in many varieties of sizes and preferences. Nothing is one-size-fits-all, so it’s important to look at a potential new mattress from all angles. Below, I’ve gone over how each of these mattresses could perform for individual sleeping positions and weights. 

Purple

Back — Back sleepers should find a lot to love in the Purple, thanks to its firm support.

Side — I think that this Purple model will be too firm to offer relief for these sleepers in the shoulders and hips, but they should find the cushion they’re looking for with the Purple Hybrid Premier 4”.

Stomach — I also experienced a nice amount of support on my stomach, and felt lifted enough to keep my spine in a comfortable alignment.

Body Weight —  I’d recommend lighter sleepers under 130 lbs to look elsewhere, because they won’t need this much support and they may feel this bed to be firmer as advertised. I would not recommend this mattress to those over 250 lbs. They are likely to find this bed unsupportive and lacking the firm support they need. I’d recommend checking out our best mattresses for heavy people instead.

Purple Hybrid and Hybrid Premier 3 and 4

Back — The Hybrid is also a firm, supportive bed, which is great for back sleepers who want to feel “on top” of the bed rather than “sunk in” it. The Hybrid Premier 3” should also be a great fit for back sleepers, especially those who prefer a bit of extra cushioning. 

Side — The Purple Hybrid is too firm for side sleepers, but they should be happy on the Hybrid Premier 4”, which provides plush cushioning at the shoulders and hips. 

Stomach — I think stomach sleepers will appreciate the Purple Hybrid, which lifts up the hips and provides for a healthy spine alignment, but the Hybrid Premier 3” and 4” will be too soft for their needs

Body Weight — I found the Purple Hybridto be pretty firm, meaning it’s probably not the best for lighter sleepers. I think heavier sleepers, however, will really appreciate the support from the coils and hyper-elastic polymer top layer. I’d recommend the Hybrid Premier 3” for heavier back sleepers due to its durability, and the Premier 4” for heavy side sleepers, which has plenty of room for sinkage.

Comparing Purple and Purple Hybrid Prices

Whether you’re shopping for a queen or a twin xl, we have the pricing for all of the Purple mattress models. Be sure to check our Purple coupon page to see if there’s any discounts currently available when shopping for your new mattress.

Prices listed will be before discount or offer for each size.

SizeOriginalPurple HybridPurple Hybrid Premier 3"Purple Hybrid Premier 4"
Twin$699N/AN/AN/A
Twin XL$899$1,699$2,299$2,999
Full$1,099$1,899$2,499$3,199
Queen$1,299$2,099$2,699$3,499
King$1,699$2.599$3,299$4,099
Cal King$1,699$2,599$3,299$4,099
Split King$1,798$3,398$4,598$5,998

On a budget? Check out my guide to the best value mattress buys on the market!

Comparing Purple and Purple Hybrid Mattress Materials

Now that we’ve got the similarities sorted, let’s get into the nitty gritty details that make these mattresses different. Below, I’ll walk you through each bed’s unique construction, though I’d also encourage you to take a gander at our existing Purple mattress review and Purple Hybrid mattress review for even more information.

Original Purple

Cover – The Purple cover is made of a SoftFlex material that brings together polyester, viscose, and lycra for a stretchy and breathable feel.

Comfort Layer – Next up, you’ll land on the hyper-elastic polymer smart grid we discussed above. This unique material is arranged in a grid, with the walls designed to collapse under pressure, creating a uniform sense of support across the mattress. Though the grid does provide some really nice pressure relief at the shoulders and hips, it’s still incredibly bouncy, so will help to lift the sleeper up and out of the structure. I should also add that the space between the grid walls allows for plenty of airflow and breathability.

Transition Layer – Directly below the smart comfort grid, you’ll land on a transitional layer of high-density poly foam. This material is much firmer than the one above it, so helps to bring some support to the structure. It also helps to prevent too much sinkage, working to position the sleeper squarely on top of the mattress.

Base Layer – Finally, the mattress is supported by four inches of high-density poly foam. This layer helps account for the mattress’s overall firmness, which we’ll discuss in more detail below

Purple Mattress construction
The materials used in the Purple mattress

Purple Hybrid

Before I hop into the next construction section, I should note that there are actually two Purple hybrids: the Purple Hybrid and Purple Hybrid Premier. Their constructions are virtually identical, save for the fact that the Purple Hybrid has 2” of hyper-elastic polymer and the Purple Hybrid Premier has either 3” or 4”. Therefore, I’m going to bundle these two beds into a single breakdown below.

Cover – As in the Purple Original, the Purple Hybrids feature covers of polyester and spandex for a stretchy, breathable feel.

Comfort – And once again, things kick off with a layer of hyper-elastic polymer. As we discussed above, this material is bouncy, supportive, and incredibly cooling, providing ample pressure relief across a variety of positions. I will say, though, that the difference between having 2” and 4” of the stuff is quite noticeable, with the former being pretty firm and the latter being quite gentle. I’ll go into firmness a little later on, but this is something to note and could spell the biggest difference between all of these Purple mattresses.

The comfort layer differs a bit with the Hybrid Premier 3 and 4. The significant difference is in the size of the bed’s GelFlex Grid, which is 3” in the Premier 3 and 4” in the Premier 4. The additional thickness in this area makes for added cushioning and more cradled relief in pressure point areas.

Purple Hybrid Grid
Getting a hands on look at the Purple Hybrid’s Hyper-Elastic Polymer grid

Transition – Next up, you’ll land on a transitional layer of poly foam. This section works to ease the sleeper down through the soft top grid and into the sturdier pocketed coil system below.

Support – Perhaps the most notable distinction between the Original Purple and Purple Hybrid mattresses is here in the support layer. Whereas the Original uses poly foam, the Hybrids employ pocketed coils for spring and lift. These coils are extremely bouncy, so help to bolster the sleeper and position them on top of the mattress.

Purple Hybrid construction
Taking a look at the materials used in the layers of the Purple Hybrid

 

Purple vs Purple Hybrid: Best Qualities

Well folks, we’ve officially arrived at the end of this comparison! After sussing out these beds’ constructions and feels, it’s time to connect the dots and draw some conclusions about which mattress is right for you.

What’s interesting about the suite of Purple mattresses is that it truly does have options for all kinds of sleepers. Back and stomach sleepers, who need firmness and support, could find a lot to love in the Original Purple or Purple Hybrid. Combo sleepers, who move between positions in the night, might find some buoyant compatibility in the Purple Hybrid Premier 3”. And strict side sleepers will likely be most attracted to the Hybrid Premier 4” Purple offers, which provides ample cushioning at the shoulders and hips.

But no matter the Purple you go with, one thing’s for sure: You’re likely to experience a ton of bounce. The Original Purple doesn’t have as much lift as the hybrid models (thanks to their added section of pocketed coils), but it’s still incredibly buoyant when compared to other mattresses on the market. Some sleepers won’t love this bouncy vibe (which I’d liken to that of a waterbed), but others will seriously dig the unique feel.

Purple Best Features

  • It’s also less expensive than the Purple hybrid models, which could be a big selling point for budget-conscious sleepers.
  • It’s the cheapest and most lightweight model in the Purple line, opening the door to even more sleepers looking to try the Purple’s unique grid feel.

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Mattress

The Purple has a unique comfort layer of GelFlex Grid, which offers great pressure-relief and cooling. It has a medium-firm feel should appeal to a range of sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Purple Hybrid Best Features

  • If you need a bit more support, then one of the Purple Hybrids will be a better choice as the pocketed coil layer will help support your hips and promote spinal alignment. Because of that alignment I think the Purple Hybrid is the better choice for people looking for a mattress for back pain.
  • That being said, I think the Purple Hybrid, with the 2” comfort grid, would work best for back or stomach sleepers.
  • I find the Hybrid Premier versions to be better for side sleepers as they offer the best pressure relief thanks to more space to sink into bed.

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Policies

  • Trial Period – 100 nights
  • Shipping – Free
  • Mattress Warranty – 10 years
Back sleeping on the Purple Hybrid
Testing out the Purple Hybrid

Purple Customer Service 

At Sleepopolis, we use a scale to rate our experiences with different mattress brands’ online customer service. Our ratings include Stellar, Great, Satisfactory, or Poor. Let’s see how Purple did!

Purple Sleepopolis Customer Service Rating

  • Great: When I entered the Purple site, I quickly noticed a pop-up offering help from their sleep experts in helping me decide on a product. Below that, I clicked on the Live Chat button. A bot asked for my name and email and I was connected with a real agent within 1 minute.

Comparing Other Models from Purple

Purple Plus

  • The Plus is just an amped up version of the Original Purple, meaning two extra inches of cushioning foam.
  • It’s slightly more expensive than the Original, but still cheaper than the Hybrid and Premier Hybrid.

Other Common Purple Comparisons

Purple vs

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.