We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Review

If you’re tired of your old mattress and are on the prowl for a plush yet supportive mattress, you may want to consider the Casper Nova Hybrid. It’s the latest bed from the popular online mattress brand, and features gentle foams over pocketed coils for a truly dynamic sleeping experience.

Sound like a winner? Well then keep on reading, because I’m about to tell you everything you need to know about this mattress. That’s right, I’m going to dissect its construction, describe its feel, and compare it to the other Casper beds so you can figure out whether the Nova Hybrid should be your new mattress.

Without any further ado, let’s get into my full Casper Nova Hybrid mattress review! Short on time? Then jump straight to my review summary.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is Casper Nova Hybrid a Good Mattress for You? 

Before we get into the details of this mattress, here’s my recommendations of who should and shouldn’t buy the Casper Nova Hybrid.

Who I recommend Casper Nova Hybrid mattress for

  • I would recommend this mattress for side sleepers, because it’s super soft and offers great pressure relief, which is important for side sleepers who are lying on key pressure points like hips and shoulders.
  • The Nova Hybrid is also a great bed for combination sleepers, thanks to its responsiveness. You’ll switch between positions with ease on this bed.
  • This bed is also a good choice for hot sleepers. The Nova Hybrid uses perforated foam, which allows for airflow, to keep you cool.

Who I don’t recommend Casper Nova Hybrid mattress for

  • I’d say this mattress is probably too soft for most stomach sleepers. Stick with something firmer to keep the hips elevated, like one of our best mattresses for stomach sleepers.
  • This mattress also doesn’t offer a lot of support for heavier people, who will sink deeply into the top layers. I’d recommend looking into a hybrid mattress or my best mattress for heavy people roundup for extra support.

How Firm is the Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress?

It’s time to talk about how the Casper Nova Hybrid actually feels! To start the discussion, let’s take a look at its firmness.

As with all feel factors, firmness is subjective, and can change depending on your size, shape, or weight. Therefore, my experience with the Nova Hybrid may be different from your own.

Casper Nova Firmness Support
Casper Nova Firmness Support

I decided to give the Capser Nova Hybrid a 5.5/10 on the firmness scale. When compared to the industry standard of 6.5 for medium firmness, it’s clear that this bed is definitely on the softer side.

Overall, the Casper Nova was much softer than I was expecting it to be. From the onset, I assumed that its material make-up would produce more of a “medium firm” vibe, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the structure is quite plush. Most folks will likely sink through the top two layers of gentle Airscape™ foam before settling into the buoyant section of zoned support. It’s a balanced softness that should support the shoulders and hips while providing pressure relief across the body.

As far as positions-specific sleepers are concerned, I think this bed would probably work best for back and side sleepers. These folks need a little extra lovin’ at the shoulders and hips, which this mattress more than provides with its layers of targeted zoned support. In general, this mattress may be a touch too soft for stomach sleepers, who typically prefer firmer structures.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Performance 

While firmness can tell us a lot about a bed’s feel, there are a few other factors to consider. Let’s take a look at the Casper Nova Hybrid’s performance in my other tests.

Testing the Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

The feel of a mattress can be somewhat subjective, because we all experience things differently. What position you primarily sleep in, as well as your body type, can really change how a mattress will feel to you. Here’s how I expect the Nova Hybrid will feel to different sleepers.

Is the Casper Nova Hybrid a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back SleepersI think light back sleepers will definitely enjoy the Nova Hybrid. Being lighter, you may experience the bed as more medium-firm than I did, but either way, it should give back sleepers great alignment. The Zoned Support will also offer some extra support at the hips and extra cushioning at the shoulders.
  • Light Side Sleepers The Nova Hybrid could also work well for light side sleepers, again thanks to that Zoned Support. It also had great pressure relief when I laid on my side. Light sleepers might not get quite as much sinkage into the bed, but I think you should still be comfortable.
  • Light Stomach SleepersThis mattress is probably too soft for stomach sleepers. If you only sleep on your stomach part of the night, you might be able to get away with it, since light sleepers may experience the firmness as slightly higher than average. But for strict stomach sleepers, I’d pick something a little firmer.

Is the Casper Nova Hybrid a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back SleepersThe Nova Hybrid is a great bed for average weight back sleepers, especially if you like a slightly more plush feel. The Zoned Support will ensure you get extra support around the hips and cushioning around the shoulders.
  • Average Weight Side SleepersI think the Nova Hybrid is an ideal mattress for average weight side sleepers. You’ll sink in enough to get excellent contouring from this plush mattress, for necessary pressure relief and spinal alignment.
  • Average Weight Stomach SleepersI wouldn’t recommend the Nova Hybrid for average weight stomach sleepers. When I laid on my stomach, I felt my hips sinking out of alignment because this mattress is on the softer side.

Is the Casper Nova Hybrid a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back SleepersBecause the Nova Hybrid is a softer hybrid mattress, I don’t think it’s a great bed for heavy back sleepers. You may end up sinking in too deep, putting your body out of alignment. I’d go with something more supportive.
  • Heavy Side SleepersAgain, I think this bed is lacking in support for heavy sleepers. Heavy side sleepers need a mattress that offers plush contouring, as well as sturdy support.
  • Heavy Stomach SleepersFor heavy stomach sleepers, the Nova Hybrid is definitely a no-go. Stomach sleepers of every size need a firmer mattress and heavy sleepers will probably want extra support from a more sturdy bed to be sure your alignment is maintained and you are supported.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Pain Relief Performance

When assessing a new bed, it’s important to figure out how well it relieves pressure at sensitive spots like the shoulders, hips, and lower back. To demonstrate the Casper Nova’s ability to do just that, I’ve decided to test it out with a pressure map!

Basically, it works like this: I roll out the gizmo, hop aboard, and let the map do the rest. As I roll around, the device records how much force I’m exerting on the mattress, creating a colored “map” of the pressure. For reference, blue indicates areas of low pressure and red indicates areas of high pressure.

Casper Nova Pressure Map
Casper Nova Pressure Map

Back PainThe Casper Nova Hybrid felt pretty good on my back! As I sank into the mattress, I could feel the top layers of foam filling in the space at my lumbar region for some nice pressure relief. On my stomach though, I could feel my hips sinking out of alignment with my shoulders, which caused bowing at my lower back. On my side, I felt little pressure and good alignment, making this a good mattress for side sleepers.

Shoulder Pain – In my opinion, this is where the Nova shines. When I turned onto my side, I immediately felt a ton of contouring, sinkage, and pressure relief around my shoulders. On my back, I also felt really comfortable around the shoulders, which is reflected in the pressure map. I did see some pressure in the upper body on my stomach, which can lead to some trouble breathing at night.

Hip Pain – For sleeping on my side, the Nova had really excellent pressure relief around my hips. On my back, my hips felt supported and I saw very little pressure buildup on the map. For sleeping on my stomach, I didn’t see much pressure in the hips, but I did feel them sinking out of alignment.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Performance for Couples

Sharing a bed with your partner is supposed to bring you closer together, not cause a rift in your relationship, so it’s important to pick a mattress that will help you and your partner sleep soundly together. Let’s look at some key factors for couples: motion transfer, how well a mattress works for sex, cooling, and edge support.

Motion Transfer 

I’ll start this section off with a look at motion transfer. This refers to the amount of movement detectable from one side of the bed to the other, so it’s an important factor for couples to consider!

To illustrate this motion transfer, I dropped a 10 lb. steel ball from heights of 4 inches, Eight inches and 12 inches and measured the disturbance it caused: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Casper Nova Motion Transfer
Casper Nova Motion Transfer

These results are just okay in my opinion. While the top layers of foam do a decent job of absorbing and isolating motion, the zoned support layer is still fairly bouncy, so you’re likely to feel some movements from your partner. I would say this bed’s motion transfer is neither a selling point nor a detractor.

Sex

When choosing a mattress that will be good for sex, I recommend a bed that has a good mix of responsiveness and bounce. Even though the Nova Hybrid is plush, it is also very responsive and it has some bounce, so it will be easy to move around on. I’d say this is a good mattress for sex.

Cooling 

Sharing a bed with a partner can sometimes lead to overheating, since two people generate more heat than one. Therefore, a cooling mattress can help a lot to ensure  both partners get a good night’s sleep. Fortunately, the Nova Hybrid has a lot of features that help with cooling.

First and foremost, because it has coils, there is more room for airflow within the mattress than in an all-foam mattress. There’s also more room for airflow because the mattress uses foam with perforations, called AirScape foam. Good airflow prevents hot air from being trapped in the mattress, creating a cooler environment overall. 

Edge Support

Edge support refers to how well the perimeter of a mattress can bear weight and this is especially important for couples, because a mattress with good edge support will allow you to lie close to the edge without feeling like you’re going to fall off. This allows you to use the entire surface of your mattress, giving you more room to spread out, even with a partner.  Edge support can also be an indicator of long-lasting durability!

The Nova Hybrid has pretty good edge support. There is a band of high density polyfoam around the coils, which reinforces the edge. This added reinforcement definitely helps keep you supported—when I laid along the edge of the bed, I didn’t feel like the mattress was buckling under me or like I was going to fall off.

What is the Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Made Of? 

I’m excited to dig into the Nova Hybrid’s construction because there is a lot going on here! There’s a top layer of aerated foam for breathability, two middle sections of zoned support for targeted relief across the body, and a sturdy core of pocketed coils for lift and bounce.

The brand is clearly going for a balanced design that checks off a lot of boxes, so I’m curious to see how it all comes together. To that end, let’s dive under the covers and poke around a bit, shall we?

Casper Nova
Casper Nova

Cover – The mattress cover is composed of a velvety soft, four-way stretch fabric, which makes for a supremely cozy feel.

Comfort – Beneath the cover, you’ll land on a layer of what Casper is calling Airscape™ foam. It’s got a plush yet responsive feel, which brings a healthy dose of mobility to the structure from the jump. You’ll also notice that the layer is perforated with small holes in order to increase airflow throughout the mattress. This could be especially beneficial for hot sleepers as the breathability helps to lower temps in the night.

Spinal Alignment The next layer is also made of Airscape™ foam, but instead of being ventilated for breathability, it’s zoned to encourage healthy spinal alignment. What this means is that the layer is actually divided into three different foam sections, or zones, of varying degrees of firmness and support. There’s firmer foam at the hips and lower back for lift and softer foam at the shoulders for a little bit of sink. This works to set the spine in an even line and promote more targeted relief.

Support – And what’s that, another layer of zoned support? Yep, this foam section has also been zoned for support, but mostly functions to reinforce the targeted relief established by the layer above it. This allows the spine to really settle into its neutral alignment, regardless of the position in which you’re sleeping. This could be a fantastic thing for combo sleepers to note.

Foundation – The foundation of the Nova Hybrid consists of a sturdy pocketed coil system, which is bouncy, supportive, and firm. It works to lift the sleeper up and out of the structure so they’re resting more “on top” of the bed than “in” it. Plus, the spaces between the pocketed coils promotes a ton of breathability, which further helps to dissipate body heat throughout the mattress.

Casper Nova Materials

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

The Casper Nova Hybrid is a bed-in-a-box, so it will arrive compressed and rolled into a box. To unbox the mattress, bring the box into the room you want to set the mattress up in. You might want to enlist the help of a friend, as the box will be fairly heavy. Then just open the box, remove the mattress, unroll it onto your desired base, and cut off the packaging.

Once the packaging is removed, the mattress will start to expand. As it is expanding, you may notice a smell—this is referred to as off-gassing. The off-gassing smell is the result of gasses that were trapped during the compression process being released. After 24 hours, the smell should dissipate, so I would recommend waiting a day before sleeping on the mattress.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

Well folks, we’ve officially arrived at the end of this review! After talking about the Casper Nova Hybrid’s construction, feel, and competition, it’s time to answer the question you came here asking: Should you buy the Nova Hybrid? I can’t make that decision for you (sorry!), but I can leave you with a few of my thoughts to help you get there on your own.

My favorite things about Casper Nova Hybrid mattress

First and foremost, I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so provides plenty of pressure relief to the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in the bed! The Nova is supremely bouncy, which makes it easy to move around and change positions in the night. 

And finally, I think this bed could work well for hot sleepers. It’s outfitted with a ton of cooling properties that work to lower temps and encourage airflow throughout the structure.

My Casper Nova Hybrid mattress complaints 

The bed may be a little too soft for stomach sleepers. Folks who like to doze in prone need a ton of lift at the hips to ensure neutral spinal alignment, which this bed doesn’t necessarily pull off. Heavier folks may also find that they sink straight through the top layers of foam, resulting in an overall lack of support at the shoulders, hips, and lower back.

How Much Does the Casper Nova Hybrid Cost?

Worried this bed is out of your price range? Be sure to use our Casper coupon code so you get a nice discount on the Casper Nova Hybrid.

SizeDimensionsWeightPrice
Twin38" x 75" x 12"60 lbs$1,195
Twin XL38" x 80" x 12"62 lbs$1,345
Full53" x 75" x 12"84 lbs$1,895
Queen60" x 80" x 12"89 lbs$2,095
King76" x 80" x 12"125 lbs$2,395
California King72" x 84" x 12"127 lbs$2,395

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

I think this mattress could be a great fit for side sleepers. It’s super soft, so it provides plenty of pressure relief at the shoulders and hips. I also think combo sleepers could find a lot to love in this bouncy, hybrid bed!

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Policies and FAQs

What are Casper’s shipping policies?

Casper ships for free within the contiguous United States and Canada. Customers in Hawaii and Alaska will have to pay additional shipping fees at checkout. Casper mattresses typically arrive within 3–9 business days, delivered by UPS.

Does the Casper Nova Hybrid come with a trial period?

Yes, Casper offers a 100-night sleep trial, during which you can test the Nova Hybrid out at home by actually sleeping on it. If you decide during those 100 nights that the Nova Hybrid isn’t for you, you can return the mattress for a full refund and Casper will take care of mattress removal.

Does the Casper Nova Hybrid come with a warranty?

Yes, Casper’s mattresses all come with a 10-year warranty. It is a limited warranty that covers manufacturing defects, including if your mattress develops a visible indentation greater than one inch. The warranty also only applies to the original purchaser.

Can I flip the Casper Nova Hybrid?

No, you should not flip the Casper Nova Hybrid. The mattress is not designed to be flipped—the layers are from top to bottom, so if you flip it, you’ll be sleeping on the base instead of the comfort layers.

Can I use a box spring with the Casper Nova Hybrid?

You can use a box spring with the Casper Nova Hybrid, but Casper recommends using a modern style box spring with slats spaced four inches apart or less. You can also use Casper’s foundation on a metal bed frame, which is designed to support their mattresses.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Vs  

Now that we have a good picture of the Casper Nova Hybrid, let’s compare it to some competitor mattresses.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress vs Purple Hybrid Mattress

  • The Purple Hybrid is a mattress made with innerspring coils,  polyfoam, and Purple’s proprietary hyperelastic grid. The hyperelastic grid is what gives Purple mattresses their signature “floating” sensation, but the Hybrid combines that feeling with sturdy support from pocketed coils.
  • Because the Purple grid offers excellent pressure relief, the Purple Hybrid is a great mattress for people with joint or back pain.
  • The Purple Hybrid’s unique design makes it a good option for all sleeping positions: back, side, and stomach. Combination sleepers will love it too, because of its bounciness.
  • Read my full Purple Hybrid mattress review here.

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purple Hybrid Mattress

The Purple Hybrid is a cooling, responsive bed that is a great option for back sleepers. It's made with Purple's proprietary grid layer, which has a unique feel that combines comfort and responsiveness.

Sleepopolis Score 4.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress vs Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe is a hybrid bed-in-a-box made with memory foam and coils that features a pillow top and zoned support.
  • It’s a great mattress for couples because it has very low motion transfer, so one partner’s motions won’t wake the other up.
  • The Helix Midnight Luxe has a medium-firm feel and is a good option for back and side sleepers.
  • To learn more, read my full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a supportive mattress that's great for back sleepers. The Midnight Luxe’s thick comfort layer of memory foam provides plenty of pressure relief and contouring while the zoned coils offer a great deal of support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Other Models from Casper

Now that we’ve got a pretty solid understanding of what’s going on in the Nova Hybrid and compared it to the competition, let’s look at two of Casper’s other mattresses: the Casper Wave Hybrid and Casper original mattresses.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress vs Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

  • Billed as Casper’s luxury model, the Wave is made up of five foam layers and springs to create a structure that’s as pressure-relieving as it is supportive.
  • One way it does this is by utilizing the brand’s Zoned Support™ Max system, which features gel pods under the waist and lower back for extra support.
  • Therefore, this bed is perhaps most well-suited for folks who struggle with aches and pains at the shoulders and hips.
  • Pricewise, it’s the most expensive Casper mattress, so may not work for those on a tight budget.
  • Learn more in our full Casper Wave mattress review.

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Wave Hybrid does a great job combining support and softness to strike a great balance between pressure relief and lift. This is especially nice for sleepers who struggle with back pain or heavy people in need of durable support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Wave Hybrid does a great job combining support and softness to strike a great balance between pressure relief and lift. This is especially nice for sleepers who struggle with back pain or heavy people in need of durable support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Wave Hybrid does a great job combining support and softness to strike a great balance between pressure relief and lift. This is especially nice for sleepers who struggle with back pain or heavy people in need of durable support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress vs Casper Original Mattress

  • The Original Casper is a memory foam mattress that features a three-layer design of Airscape™ foam, Zoned Support foam, and high-density poly foam.
  • This design produces a medium firm feel that’s good for a wide range of sleepers, particularly back and combo sleepers.
  • It’s operating with the same principles as the Nova Hybrid, but is a little less luxurious, marking it as a great straightforward option for folks who don’t need as much sinkage or pressure relief.
  • And when it comes to price, the Original is considerably less expensive than the Nova Hybrid.
  • Learn more in our full Casper mattress review.

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Here’s my star rating for the Casper Nova Hybrid mattress.

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
3.9
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.