We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Nest Bedding Sparrow Mattress Review

Editor’s Note: The Nest Sparrow mattress is now available in multiple firmness options: plush, medium, and firm. Additionally, for king and California king size mattresses, Nest Bedding offers a “dual split” option to have different firmnesses on each half of the bed. The model tested for this review is most similar to the Medium option now available. 

If you’re on the prowl for a mattress that’s as pressure-relieving as it is supportive, the Nest Sparrow could be the bed for you. Featuring plush foam layers over sturdy pocketed coils, this model is both cozy and durable. But is it right for your unique slumber needs?

To find out, take a peek at my full review of the Nest Sparrow mattress. After personally conducting a series of tests on the bed, I want to share with you how I think it does when it comes to firmness, pressure relief, and motion transfer. I’ll also delve into the company behind the bed, the materials that go into it, and its pros and cons.

Let’s jump in! If you’re in a rush, I’ve got you covered — head on down to the end of the page for a short summary.

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is Nest Sparrow a Good Mattress for You? 

Before I dive deep into the Nest Sparrow, I’ll give you some quick hits on who I think this mattress is good for…and who might want to look elsewhere.

Who I recommend Nest Sparrow mattress for

  • I’d recommend back/side combination sleepers check out the Nest Sparrow, due to its bounciness, pressure relief, and support.
  • It’s also a great option for couples, especially because of its excellent motion isolation.
  • The plush top layer also provides nice pressure relief for people who have hip pain.

Who I don’t recommend Nest Sparrow mattress for

  • I didn’t think the Nest Sparrow was firm enough for strict stomach sleepers, or pressure-relieving enough for full-time side sleepers. For better options, I’d recommend taking a look at our best mattresses for stomach sleepers and best mattresses for side sleepers.
  • I also wouldn’t recommend the Nest Sparrow for heavy sleepers—those who weigh 250 lbs or more. It doesn’t offer enough support for hips, shoulders, and the spine, which will lead to pain over time. To find something more suitable, I’d recommend checking out our best mattresses for heavy people roundup.

How Firm is the Nest Sparrow Mattress?

Now that I’ve given you my recommendations, it’s time to answer a very important question: Is the Nest Sparrow comfortable? I’m glad you asked! Let’s go over how it feels by first checking out its firmness.

But first, allow me to note that your preferences may differ from mine — I’m not talking about something that’s “one size fits all.” Your firmness preference is going to be dictated by your size, weight, shape, and the position you prefer sleeping in. 

Nest Alexander Signature Hybrid Support

After laying on the mattress, I think its firmness is right in the middle between soft and firm. Using a scale from 1 (the softest) to 10 (the firmest), I give it a 6.5 out of 10 rating. For reference, the industry standard for medium firmness is 6.5.

I gave it a 6.5 because, while I sank in a smidge because of the softer foams on top, I still felt like it offered fantastic support. I think combination sleepers who switch from laying on their back to their side at night will enjoy this level of support. I also felt like it gives an even amount of sturdiness and softness when in multiple sleeping positions. And speaking of switching positions, I found that to be quite easy due to the mattress’s great bounce and mobility, which made it so I never felt trapped in the foam layers.

I’ll cover how it fairs for strict back sleepers, side sleepers, and stomach sleepers ahead. For now, I’ll just say that while stomach sleepers who switch positions will likely find this acceptable, strict stomach sleepers may want something firmer to help with spinal alignment.

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Sparrow Mattress Performance 

Firmness isn’t the only aspect of a mattress that matters. With that in mind, I’d like to show you the results of my mattress performance tests.

Testing the Nest Sparrow Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Your body type and primary sleeping position can change how a mattress will feel to you. We break body types into three categories here: light, average, and heavy. Light sleepers won’t sink into their mattress as deeply as an average weight sleeper, whereas heavy sleepers will sink deeper than an average weight sleeper. Different body weights also have varying support needs. 

Then by considering your primary sleeping position—back, side, or stomach (or a combination!)— you will have an even better idea of how a mattress will work for you, as the different sleeping positions will also have varying support, pressure relief, and comfort needs.

In this section, I’ll be discussing how the Medium version of the Nest Sparrow may feel to different sleepers based on size and sleeping position. In some cases, the Plush or Firm version may be better suited to groups of sleepers.

Is the Nest Sparrow a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back SleepersI think light back sleepers will be comfortable on this mattress. It’s a good firmness level for back sleepers and the gentle foam layers provide pressure relief.
  • Light Side Sleepers Side sleepers generally want a mattress that they can sink into for pressure relief, and I’m not sure the Sparrow is soft enough for light side sleepers. Combination side sleepers should be okay, but strict side sleepers might want a softer bed.
  • Light Stomach SleepersLight stomach sleepers should be okay on the Sparrow, as it will feel a little firmer than medium-firm to them. It’s important for stomach sleepers to ensure their hips are elevated to keep their spine aligned. 

Is the Nest Sparrow a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – I think the Sparrow is a great option for average weight back sleepers. It offers great pressure relief, but also support from the coils. Back sleepers’ spines should be well-aligned on this bed.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – Average weight side sleepers might not get enough pressure relief from the Sparrow, as side sleepers do best on a soft mattress that allows them to sink in. Combination side sleepers will be okay here, but full time side sleepers should go with something softer to prevent pain at pressure points.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – I don’t think the Sparrow is a great pick for average weight stomach sleepers, as it isn’t very firm. For occasional stomach sleepers, I think it will be okay, but strict stomach sleepers should definitely pick something firmer.

Is the Nest Sparrow a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back SleepersI wouldn’t recommend the Sparrow for heavy back sleepers, as it isn’t really supportive enough for heavy sleepers. It’s important for heavy sleepers to choose a sturdy and durable mattress that will provide good support.
  • Heavy Side SleepersSee above.
  • Heavy Stomach SleepersSee above.

Nest Sparrow Mattress Pain Relief Performance

When it comes to pressure relief, I’m talking about how well a bed is able to alleviate tension in areas such as the shoulders, hips, and lower back.

To test this out on the Nest Sparrow, I decided to use a pressure relief map. This allowed me to monitor the force I was applying on the mattress when kicking back and relaxing on it. Also, it gave a super clear indication of the locations of each pressure spot. When you look at the pressure map, notice that it uses a gradient from blue to red, with blue meaning no discernible pressure and red meaning very high pressure.

Nest Alexander Signature Hybrid Pressure Map
Nest Sparrow Pressure Map

Back PainAs the pressure map indicates, there was blue throughout when I laid on my back, meaning there was no discernible pressure. On my side, there was a small amount of pressure, but I think my spinal alignment was still good, which is important for preventing back pain. On my stomach, there wasn’t much pressure but also there wasn’t enough support to keep my hips elevated, which can lead to back pain over time.

Shoulder Pain – The plush top of this mattress provided great pressure relief for my shoulders when I was lying on my back, as the all blue map shows. On my side, there was a small buildup of pressure, so I think strict side sleepers may want to go with a softer mattress than the Sparrow. On my stomach, there was no pressure buildup in the shoulder area, but I still wouldn’t recommend this bed to stomach sleepers due to the hip sinkage.

Hip Pain – On my back, you can see a very small amount of pressure buildup, but this level shouldn’t present an issue for back sleepers. On my side, you can see that there is a somewhat significant pressure buildup on my hip, so again I’d recommend something a little softer for side sleepers. And on my stomach, while there isn’t any pressure, I did feel my hips sinking too deeply into this mattress, so I’d go with something firmer.

Nest Sparrow Mattress Performance for Couples

If you’re shopping for a new mattress to share with your partner, there’s some additional factors that I recommend considering. In this section, I’ll break down how the Nest Sparrow performed in my motion transfer test, how well it will perform for sex, its cooling capabilities, and its edge support.

Motion Transfer 

Now let’s look at the motion transfer test and its results. Motion transfer refers to the amount of movement that’s noticeable from one side of the bed to the other. So, if you sleep with someone next to you, you’ll likely want to see as little motion transfer as possible.

To test this out, I dropped a 10 lb. steel ball onto the mattress from varying heights that simulated different scenarios. For reference, the four-inch drop simulated tossing and turning at night, the eight-inch drop simulated getting out of bed, and the 12-inch drop simulated what it would feel like if your bedmate started using the bed as a trampoline (side note: I don’t recommend doing that).

Nest Alexander Signature Hybrid Motion Transfer
Nest Sparrow Motion Transfer

After measuring each drop’s resulting disturbance, I was able to create the nifty graphic ahead to show you the results. The bigger the graphic’s lines are, the bigger the disturbance the drop created.

While motion transfer can often be problematic for hybrid mattresses, I was really impressed by the results. The Nest Sparrow did a great job at isolating motion transfer, due to the upper layers of foam and the lower layer of sturdy coils. This means, if you share a bed, you’re a lot less likely to be stirred awake if your bedmate rolls around or gets up at night. Because of this, I think this would make an excellent mattress for couples.

Sex

When choosing a mattress that is good for sex, I generally recommend a mattress that is responsive and bouncy. The reason is that a responsive and bouncy mattress will be easy to move around on—you won’t sink so much that you’ll get stuck. The Nest Sparrow is a pretty bouncy mattress, so I think it’ll be a good mattress for sex!

Cooling 

Sharing a mattress with your partner can sometimes lead to overheating, since you’ve got two times the body heat. Because of this problem, I recommend that couples consider a cooling mattress. The Nest Sparrow is a pretty good mattress for cooling. Hybrid mattresses allow for more airflow within the bed than all-foam mattresses do. The mattress also has a cooling cover and perforated foam, which promote more airflow as well.

Edge Support

Edge support is an important, but often overlooked feature in a mattress. When I test edge support, essentially what I am testing is how much the perimeter of the mattress buckles under weight. So if I sit along the edge of the bed, will I be supported? Solid edge support is a good feature for couples because it allows you to use the entire surface area of your mattress, without feeling like you might slip off the edge.

The Nest Sparrow has pretty solid edge support. The mattress actually uses reinforced coils to make the perimeter solid and sturdy. 

What is the Nest Sparrow Mattress Made Of? 

Nest has designed its Sparrow mattress with both softness and support in mind. It consists of various layers that combine to create a comfortable mattress that’s just as durable. To get an idea of how all this works, let’s take a look inside, one layer at a time.

All the foams used in the Sparrow mattress are CertiPUR-US certified for safety. This certification ensures that the foams are high-quality and safe for sleeping on.

The cover of the Sparrow mattress.

Cover – To kick us off, we have the quilted cover. It’s thin, but soft, with foam quilted into the fabric, which gives the bed some sinkage from the get-go. The foam is gel-infused, which is cooling. If you tend to overheat, this feature may appeal to you. Nest refers to the cover’s fabric as Thermic Phase Change Cooling, a name which emphasizes that it’s designed to keep you from feeling toasty when getting some shut-eye.

Comfort Layer Next up is the comfort layer made of Nest’s Energex™ Temperature Responsive Foam, which is a temperature-responsive polyurethane foam that adapts quickly to pressure, so you won’t feel stuck. In spite of the material’s buoyant feel, you’re still likely to experience some nice pressure relief as you press into the structure. Side sleepers will particularly like this layer since it should give them some relief at tense spots in their hips and shoulders.

Transition Layer To ease you into the sturdier coils below, there’s a transition layer of SmartFlow Support foam. It has punched holes in it to maximize airflow, adding another way for the mattress to help keep you cool.

Support Layer Moving on down, you’ll land on an six-inch section of pocketed coils. This coil system provides the bed with most of its support, firmness, and bounce. The coils have also been reinforced around the edges to maximize the usable surface area of the mattress. This strong edge support could be a big plus for couples or folks looking for stability from the center of the bed all the way to the side.

Base Layer  – All these layers rest on top of a one-inch, three-pound support foam base. You won’t really feel this section while lying on top of the bed, but it does give the coils above something off of which to bounce and react.

Nest Sparrow Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

The Nest Sparrow mattress is a bed-in-a-box, meaning it will be shipped to your door compressed and rolled into a box. Once it has arrived, you’ll want to bring the box into your desired room. Be sure to grab a friend to help you carry it, as compressed mattresses can be very heavy.

Open the box and remove the mattress. You’ll want to put it on your base and then you can begin to unroll it. Then, cut off the packaging. Be careful again here, as you don’t want to cut your mattress. Once the packaging has been cut, the mattress will start to expand to its full size.

As it is expanding, you might notice a slightly unpleasant smell. This is known as off-gassing. off-gassing refers to the release of gasses that were trapped in the process of compressing the mattress. Don’t worry, off-gassing isn’t harmful, but I would recommend letting the mattress air out for a day or so if you experience any off-gassing smell.

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about Nest Sparrow Mattress

As I wrap up this review, here are my favorite things about the Nest Sparrow, as well as some complaints.

My favorite things about Nest Sparrow mattress

I think the Nest Sparrow could be a great pick for back/side combo sleepers. Not only is the mattress bouncy enough to make changing positions a breeze, but there’s enough pressure relief and support to ensure comfort in both positions.

Because it did such a stellar job with isolating motion transfer, and it’s right in the middle between firmness and softness, I think this could be a solid choice for couples. Additionally, the plush foam layers on top allow your hips to sink in, which could help alleviate symptoms of hip pain.

My Nest Sparrow mattress complaints 

From what I can tell, if you’re looking for a mattress for heavy people, you are going to want a firmer mattress than this one. This is because the Nest Sparrow doesn’t do a great job at supporting your hips, shoulders, and spine, which can lead to waking up with aches and pains that otherwise could have been avoided.

Additionally, I didn’t think the Nest Sparrow was a great pick for strict stomach or side sleepers, because it either didn’t offer enough pressure relief or enough support.

How Much Does the Nest Sparrow Cost? 

Below are the standard prices for the Nest Sparrow but be sure to check out our Nest Coupon page to learn how to save on your purchase!

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin39" x 75" x 13.5"$949
Twin XL39" x 80" x 13.5"$1,149
Full54" x 75" x 13.5"$1,349
Queen60" x 80" x 13.5"$1,599
King76" x 80" x 13.5"$1,799
California King72" x 84" x 13.5"$1,799

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Sparrow Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Nest Bedding Sparrow is 12” deep and constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great responsiveness and support.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Sparrow Mattress Policies and FAQs

Does the Nest Sparrow come with a trial period?

Yes, the Nest Sparrow mattress comes with a 365-night sleep trial. This gives you 365 nights to test the mattress out at home by sleeping on it. If you decide you do not like the mattress, Nest Bedding will work with you to exchange the mattress, alter it or provide additional products to improve your sleep experience, or return it for a full refund. Go to nestbedding.com to learn more about the trial, exchanges, and returns.

Does Nest Bedding have free shipping?

Nest Bedding ships for free within the continental United States. Customers in Hawaii, Alaska, and Canada will pay additional shipping fees. Nest’s mattresses are made-to-order, so it generally takes 8–10 business days before your mattress will ship.

Does the Nest Sparrow mattress have a warranty?

Yes, the Nest Sparrow mattress comes with a Lifetime Warranty. In addition to the warranty, Nest Bedding offers the Lifetime Comfort Guarantee, which allows Nest customers to purchase their next mattress from Nest for 30% off.

Do I need a special foundation for the Nest Sparrow mattress?

No, the Nest Sparrow does not require a specific foundation or bed frame. Nest recommends using a slatted or solid, non-flexible foundation. Using an improper foundation can void your warranty and can decrease your comfort.

Is the Nest Sparrow mattress made in the USA?

Yes, Nest Bedding mattresses are manufactured in Arizona.

What size does the Nest Sparrow come in?

The Nest Sparrow mattress is available in twin, twin XL, full, queen, king, Cal king, and split king.

Nest Sparrow Mattress Vs  

We’ve covered everything there is to know about the Nest Sparrow, so let’s compare it now to some similar mattresses on the market.

Nest Sparrow Mattress vs Leesa Hybrid Mattress

  • The Leesa Hybrid is a mattress that combines gentle foams and supportive coils to provide both pressure relief and support.
  • That combination of pressure relief makes it a great mattress for back and side sleepers.
  • Similar to the Nest Sparrow, the Leesa Hybrid has great motion isolation, edge support, and breathable coils that make it a great mattress for couples.
  • Read my full Leesa Hybrid mattress review to learn more.

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Sapira.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Sapira.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Sapira.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Sparrow Mattress vs Layla Hybrid Mattress

  • The Layla Hybrid is a flippable mattress with a different firmness on each side. You can choose between soft and firm by simply flipping the mattress.
  • Like the Nest Sparrow, the Layla Hybrid is a good mattress for back/side combination sleepers. The coils make it very easy to move and change positions on the Layla Hybrid.
  • The foam comfort layers provide nice contouring and pressure relief, as well.
  • Want to learn more? Read my full Layla Hybrid mattress review.

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla Hybrid Mattress

Built with layers of copper-infused memory foam and springy pocketed coils, the Layla Hybrid is designed to soothe aches and pains while keeping you positioned squarely on top of the bed. An added bonus, it's flippable!

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Nest Bedding

If you want to see how the Nest Sparrow holds up compared to the Nest Owl and the Nest Quail, then this section is for you!

Nest Sparrow Mattress vs Nest Quail Mattress

  • The Nest Quail is a memory foam mattress and it’s one of Nest Bedding’s most affordable mattresses.
  • Even though foam mattresses  generally isolate motion better than hybrid or innerspring mattresses, the Quail’s motion isolation is just okay.
  • The Nest Quail comes in two levels of firmness. I gave one level a 5.5 firmness rating (Nest refers to this as the Medium model), and the other a 6.5 (Nest calls this the Firm model).
  • To learn even more about this model, take a look at my full review of the Quail mattress!

Nest Bedding Quail Mattress

Nest’s Love and Sleep is a 10” all foam mattress consisting of three distinct layers. The Love and Sleep provides a medium feel with good bounce and a cover that adds a touch of softness to the sleeping experience.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Quail Mattress

Nest’s Love and Sleep is a 10” all foam mattress consisting of three distinct layers. The Love and Sleep provides a medium feel with good bounce and a cover that adds a touch of softness to the sleeping experience.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Quail Mattress

Nest’s Love and Sleep is a 10” all foam mattress consisting of three distinct layers. The Love and Sleep provides a medium feel with good bounce and a cover that adds a touch of softness to the sleeping experience.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Sparrow Mattress vs Nest Owl Mattress

  • Just like the Nest Sparrow, I give the Nest Owl a 6.5 out 10 on the firmness scale. This support level should appeal to folks who can’t decide between how firm or soft they want their mattress. The support also gives it some bounce that makes it easy for most folks to switch between their back and their side. 
  • Unfortunately, the Nest Owl doesn’t alleviate pressure quite as well as the memory foam found in the Nest Sparrow, plus it’s likely to be more expensive.
  • The Nest Owl has a different feel than the foams found in the Nest Sparrow. This is because it’s a latex mattress, meaning it has a quicker response to pressure and more bounce than other foams. It also means that you’re likely to sleep more on top of the Nest Owl, when compared to the Nest Sparrow. Finally, latex tends to sleep cooler than other foams, while at the same time being a bit more durable.
  • Want more info on this model to see how it stacks up? Head over to my full review of the Nest Owl mattress!

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

The Owl Natural Latex Hybrid uses pocketed coils and natural latex to create a bouncy mattress that allows you to change positions without feeling stuck in the bed.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

The Owl Natural Latex Hybrid uses pocketed coils and natural latex to create a bouncy mattress that allows you to change positions without feeling stuck in the bed.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

The Owl Natural Latex Hybrid uses pocketed coils and natural latex to create a bouncy mattress that allows you to change positions without feeling stuck in the bed.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Still deciding if this is the best mattress for you? Take a look at my star ratings of the Nest Sparrow mattress below.

Nest Bedding Sparrow Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Sex
  • Smell
  • Company
  • Refunds
  • Trial
  • Warranty
4.5

Summary

 

The Nest Sparrow is constructed from a combination of pocketed coils and foam for great pressure relief and support. I thought this mattress had a slightly softer feel to it, which allows sleepers to sink deep in the foam layers. Still, the pocketed coils keep sleepers from sinking TOO deep, which provides bounce and helps to avoid a “stuck” feeling when changing positions.

 

Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.