We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Review

After reviewing Amerisleep’s most popular model (the AS3, which I really liked), I was excited to get the chance to test one of their firmest models. The AS1 mattress is the lowest priced Amerisleep at $999 for a Queen (with promo code) and is packed with all of the standard goodness you’d expect from Amerisleep. It has a firm feel targeting back and stomach sleepers, great support, and a stylish cover that promotes cooling.

But the big question, how will it perform in a Sleepopolis review? Continue reading for my full review below and see if the AS1 is the right choice for your new mattress.

Looking for a quick read? Click here to jump to the summary.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is Amerisleep AS1 a Good Mattress for You? 

Before we dig into the performance of the AS1, let’s go over who I do and don’t recommend this mattress for. 

Who I recommend Amerisleep AS1 mattress for

  • I’d recommend the AS1 for anyone who loves a firm mattress. There is a soft memory foam layer on top that provides a bit of pressure relief but the overall feel of the AS1 is very firm. The high density poly foam base layer provides much of the feel for this mattress, leading to a very supportive and firm structure.
  • I’d also recommend the AS1 for hot sleepers. Amerisleep uses a special memory foam that helps to draw heat away from the body to help people sleep a bit cooler. The cover is also made with Celliant, which will also help with temperature regulation and cooling.
  • Finally, this mattress is a great option for both stomach and back sleepers. The mattress is extremely firm which will help keep your hips from sinking too far into the mattress. By keeping your hips up, the AS1 will align your spine in a better position while you sleep, helping to avoid aches and pains in the lower back when you wake up.

Who I don’t recommend Amerisleep AS1 mattress for

  • I think this mattress is too firm for side sleepers, who need a mattress that allows them to sink in for pressure relief on the hips and shoulders. If you’re a strict side sleeper or a combination sleeper who is often on their side, I’d recommend a soft mattress instead.
  • Similarly, I wouldn’t recommend the AS1 to anyone who loves the feel of a soft mattress that envelops you into the bed. I definitely felt that I was lying on top of this mattress, rather than sinking into it deeply.

How Firm is the Amerisleep AS1 Mattress?

Everyone will feel the firmness of a mattress a bit differently due to differences in body type and weight. Instead of just giving my opinion on the overall firmness level, I enlisted three other people to give their opinion as well. This will give you a better sense of the firmness range you can expect from the AS1.

Amerisleep AS1 Firmness Ratings
Amerisleep AS1 Firmness Ratings

All of the Sleepopolis testers found the AS1 to be near the top end of the firmness scale.This goes along with Amerisleep’s intention of having it as the firmest mattress in their line. I rated the AS1 as a 8/10 on the firmness scale and found that much of the feeling for the mattress was provided by the firm polyfoam base.

When I first pressed into the AS1, the feeling was of the soft memory foam comfort layer. While this is a soft layer that provided some contouring to my hand, it is only 2 inches thick which meant that I easily interacted with the layer below. After I pushed in a bit further there was a quick transition to the high density poly foam beneath, which gave the mattress a firmer feeling.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Performance 

In order to give you a full picture of how the AS1 performs, I’ve used a few different methods to test it. In this section, I’ll go over how the mattress performs for different sleeping positions, pressure relief, and concerns for couples, like motion isolation, cooling, and edge support.

Testing the Amerisleep AS1 Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

When choosing a mattress, it’s important to consider your primary sleep position and your body type, because these factors can determine how a mattress feels to you. The best mattress for a lightweight side sleeper can be very different from the best mattress for a heavyweight stomach sleeper. Everyone has different needs from their mattress, so let’s take a look at how different sleepers might feel on the AS1.

Is the Amerisleep AS1 a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back SleepersThanks to the firm feel of the AS1, light back sleepers should get all the support they need, along with good pressure relief, to prevent any aches and pains.
  • Light Side Sleepers This mattress is very firm and doesn’t offer too much cushioning on the shoulders and hips, so I think it’s not going to be very comfortable for light side sleepers.
  • Light Stomach SleepersLike back sleepers, light stomach sleepers will likely be very comfortable on the AS1, as it does a great job of keeping the hips elevated.

Is the Amerisleep AS1 a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back SleepersAverage weight back sleepers should be comfortable on the AS1. The mattress offers a nice mix of support and pressure relief while lying on your back.
  • Average Weight Side SleepersThe AS1 is probably going to be too firm and not offer enough pressure relief for average weight side sleepers. I’d recommend something that allows for more contouring around pressure points.
  • Average Weight Stomach SleepersStomach sleepers generally want a firm mattress and the AS1 should do the trick for average weight stomach sleepers. It’ll keep your hips elevated, which prevents lower back pain.

Is the Amerisleep AS1 a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back SleepersThe AS1 should be a comfortable pick for heavy back sleepers. The mattress does a good job of maintaining spinal alignment and supporting the hips.
  • Heavy Side SleepersHeavy side sleepers likely won’t get enough pressure relief from the AS1 because it is firm and doesn’t have much cushioning. I’d recommend a hybrid bed that offers strong support, but has a plush comfort layer to offer pressure relief.
  • Heavy Stomach SleepersThe AS1 may work for some heavy stomach sleepers, as it is firm and does a good job keeping the hips elevated. But a hybrid mattress that uses supportive coils in its construction might be a better option to ensure heavy stomach sleepers get enough support.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Pain Relief Performance

If you’re waking up with aches and pains every day, your mattress could actually be the culprit behind this discomfort. Depending on your body type and sleeping position, you’ll need a different mix of pressure relief and support to prevent pain. For example, side sleepers want a mattress that contours around their pressure points— the hips and shoulders—and relieves pressure.

To give a visual representation of where someone may feel pressure points while lying on the Amerisleep AS1, I placed a pressure map on top of the mattress and lied on my back, side, and stomach. In the image below, pressure will be represented from blue (low pressure) to red (high pressure).

Amerisleep AS1 Pressure Map
Amerisleep AS1 Pressure Map

Back PainThese results, particularly when I’m lying on my back and stomach, indicate that the AS1 should help prevent back pain. Even with the memory foam on top, I felt that the AS1 was firm and kept my hips from sinking in while I was on my back. This helped keep my spine aligned and in a good position to avoid aches and pains. Similarly, I found that the AS1 did an excellent job of keeping my hips up and my spine aligned while I was lying on my stomach. Side sleepers, however, are likely to experience back pain on this bed, as their hips and shoulders won’t sink enough to achieve a neutral spinal alignment. 

Shoulder Pain – Once I rolled onto my side I did feel some pressure begin to form at my shoulders. The pressure map results above show increased pressure on my side, which I was expecting on a mattress this firm. Side sleepers tend to prefer softer mattresses as they allow them to sink in for more pressure relief, so I would recommend taking a look at one of the softer options from the Amerisleep line. I also think back sleepers with shoulder pain might want something a bit softer. Stomach sleepers with shoulder pain should do fine here.

Hip Pain – On my side, I experienced some pressure on my hips, which you can see in the pressure map results above. As with shoulders, I’d recommend a softer mattress here. For my back and stomach, the AS1 did a great job of supporting my hips and relieving pressure.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Performance for Couples

If you share your bed with a partner, there are a few things you might want to consider before buying a mattress. I’m going to take a look at motion transfer, cooling, how well this mattress should work for sex, and edge support, all of which are important factors in a mattress’s performance for couples.

Motion Transfer 

If you are sharing the mattress with a partner, you will want to know what it will feel like when the other person gets into and out of bed or tosses and turns during the night. This next test is helpful in showing the intensity of disturbance that is detectable from one side of the mattress to the other.

For this test I dropped a 10 lb steel ball from heights of 4 inches, 8 inches, and 12 inches and measured the disturbance on the other side of the mattress. This should be pretty intuitive: the bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance.

Amerisleep AS1 Motion Transfer
Amerisleep AS1 Motion Transfer

The 4 inch drop, which simulates someone changing positions on the other side of the bed, shows very little motion transfer. The readings for the 8 inch drop, think someone climbing into bed, also show a great result for the AS1 on this test. While the 12 inch drop does show a higher spike in disturbance, as expected in this test, the tail of the disturbance is cut off pretty quickly.

Sex

When looking at how a mattress performs for sex, the ideal is a good mix of responsiveness and bounce. The AS1 isn’t the most responsive mattress—it’s not particularly bouncy and it responds to pressure pretty slowly, but still, I didn’t feel stuck trying to move around on it. I’d say it’s a decent mattress for sex.

Cooling 

Just like two heads are better than one, two bodies produce more heat than one. So if you’re sharing your bed, having a mattress that keeps you cool can be a huge help in preventing overheating. The AS1 uses open-cell structure foam, which allows for more airflow within the mattress. More airflow means less hot air is trapped in the foam, ultimately leading to a cooler sleeping experience.

A breathable cover, like the Celliant cover used in the AS1, will also help to prevent overheating.

Edge Support

If you plan on sharing your bed with a partner, and need to use the entire surface area of the mattress, then edge support is something you are going to want to take a look at. I have found that all foam mattresses can struggle to live up to the edge support of traditional innerspring mattresses, so I wanted to have a look at AS1 to see how I would feel near the side of the mattress.

While lying near the edge of the AS1 I felt well supported on my back. When I moved close to the side of the bed there was some compression through the soft comfort layer, but it did not cause me to feel unstable on top of the mattress.

Once I sat on the edge of the AS1 and concentrated all of my weight was concentrated over one area of the mattress. While I continued to see a little bit of compression through the top layer, I was pretty impressed with how the firm base layer held up to the increased weight. Overall I thought the AS1 performed well on the edge support portion of the review.

What is the Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Made Of? 

The AS1 is the firmest option available in the Amerisleep line. The mattress uses memory foam in the comfort layer but has a quick transition to a high density poly foam below, giving it a firm feeling for strong support. Additionally, Amerisleep’s mattresses are manufactured in the USA and all of the foams used in the AS1 mattress are CertiPUR-US certified for safety.

Let’s take a closer look at each layer!

Amerisleep AS1 Cover
Amerisleep AS1 Cover

Cover – The cover for all mattresses from the Amerisleep line is made of a soft blend of polyester, Celliant and spandex. It’s a stretchy material and the cover snaps back into place quickly, so you won’t have to worry about it bunching up when changing positions on the mattress.

I found the cover slightly cool to the touch thanks in part due to the Celliant blended into the material. I should note that there have been some studies that show Celliant to have positive effects on muscle recovery. I don’t personally have the expertise to speak on the science behind the recovery benefits of Celliant, but you may want to do some research of your own if you are interested.

Comfort Layer The comfort layer of the AS1 consists of 2 inches of Bio-Pur foam. This layer will provide some contouring to the body and allow the sleeper to sink in a little for pressure relief. The memory foam does have a slow response to pressure, but with only 2 inches of it you won’t feel stuck in the mattress when changing positions. 

Traditional memory foam can have a reputation for trapping body heat, but the Bio-Pur foam has an open celled structure which will dissipate some heat to help sleep a bit cooler.

Base – Immediately below the comfort layer is the Bio-Core foam base of the mattress, which consists of 8 inches of high density poly foam. This is a firm material that provides support to the mattress and the sleeper on top of the mattress. Because of the thin comfort layer and the quick transition to the base, this layer provides the firm feel to the AS1 mattress. This layer also acts as the foundation and provides the mattress with its shape.

Amerisleep AS1 Construction
Amerisleep AS1 Construction

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

The Amerisleep AS1 is a bed-in-a-box, so it will be delivered to your house compressed and rolled into a box. Unboxing it is fairly simple: take the box into the room you want to set the mattress up in, open the box, remove the mattress and roll it out onto its base, and remove the packaging.

Once the packaging is cut open, the mattress will start to inflate. You may notice a slightly unpleasant smell as the mattress inflates—this is known as off-gassing. Essentially, gasses that were trapped in the mattress during the compression process are being released. It’s harmless, but I’d recommend letting the mattress ventilate for 24 hours before sleeping on it.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

Before I wrap up this review, here’s my final thoughts about the AS1 mattress.

My favorite things about Amerisleep AS1 mattress

What I like most about the AS1 is its performance for back and stomach sleepers. Because it is a firmer mattress, the AS1 offers solid support for back and stomach sleepers, but still has good pressure relief in those sleeping positions as well. The AS1 is also a pretty affordable option, which is always a plus. 

I’d say it’s also a really solid option for couples who are back and stomach sleepers, thanks to good motion isolation, cooling abilities, and solid edge support.

My Amerisleep AS1 mattress complaints 

What makes the AS1 a great mattress for stomach and back sleepers is exactly what makes it not a great mattress for side sleepers. It doesn’t have enough cushioning or offer enough pressure relief on the hips and shoulders for side sleepers to be comfortable and prevent pain. I’d definitely recommend taking a look at one of the softer Amerisleep mattresses or my other recommendations for best soft mattresses.

How Much Does the Amerisleep AS1 Cost? 

Convinced the AS1 is for you? Be sure to click this link to save 30%.

SizeDimensionsWeightPrice
Twin38" x 74" x 10"45 lbs$899
Twin XL38” x 80” x 10”49 lbs$949
Full54” x 74” x 10”63 lbs$1,149
Queen60” x 80” x 10"75 lbs$1,299
King76” x 80” x 10”95 lbs$1,599
California King72” x 84” x 10”94 lbs$1,599
Split King38" x 80" x 10" (x2)49 lbs (x2)$1,898

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides some pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Policies and FAQs

What is Amerisleep’s shipping policy?

Amerisleep offers free shipping within the continental United States. They do not currently ship to Hawaii or Alaska. The mattress will be shipped in an eco-friendly box via FedEx and should arrive within two weeks or less.

What if I don’t like the Amerisleep AS1 mattress?

All of Amerisleep’s mattresses come with a 100-night sleep trial. During this trial, you can test the mattress out at home for up to 100 nights. If you decide you don’t like the AS1 mattress during the trial period, you can return it for a full refund, thanks to Amerisleep’s risk-free return policy.

Does the Amerisleep AS1 have a warranty?

Yes, all of Amerisleep’s mattresses are covered by a 20-year warranty. The warranty is split in two halves—the first 10 years are a full replacement warranty and the second 10 years are a prorated warranty.

How long does the Amerisleep AS1 last?

Durability is always an important part of a mattress. Because the AS1 is made with high-quality materials, I think this mattress should last a good 10 years, with proper care.

Can I put the Amerisleep AS1 on a box spring?

Amerisleep does not recommend using a box spring with the AS1, as box springs are designed to be used with innerspring mattresses, not foam mattresses. The AS1 is compatible with mattress foundations, platform beds, and adjustable bed frames.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress Vs

Now that I’ve analyzed the Amerisleep AS1, let’s compare it to some of its competitors.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress vs Casper Mattress

  • The Casper mattress is a firm memory foam bed, making it a great option for back sleepers.
  • The Casper mattress also features Zoned Support, meaning it uses firmer foams around the lower back for extra support and softer foams around the shoulders for extra cushioning.
  • It is also a very responsive mattress, making it easy for combination sleepers to move around on the bed.
  • Want to know more? Read my full Casper mattress review.

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress vs Saatva Mattress

  • The Saatva mattress is an innerspring mattress that is available in three different firmness levels: plush soft, luxury firm, and firm. Between these firmness choices, there is a Saatva model for almost everyone.
  • One of my favorite features of the Saatva mattress is its rock solid edge support. That extra support around the perimeter is great for couples and is indicative of the mattress’s durability.
  • The sturdy coils and durability of the Saatva mattress also make it a great bed for heavy sleepers, as it offers extra support.
  • Learn more about this bed in my full Saatva mattress review.

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Amerisleep

Now, I’ll compare the AS1 to some other mattresses in Amerisleep’s line of memory foam mattresses

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress vs Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

  • The AS3 is the medium-firm bed in the Amerisleep line. That’s a firmness level that works well for a lot of different people, which is probably why the AS3 is Amerisleep’s most popular mattress.
  • It’s also a great mattress for couples, since it is so versatile, but also because it has really low motion transfer and stays cool, thanks to open-cell structure foam.
  • The AS3 also features the HIVE transition layer, which is a convoluted foam layer that looks like a honeycomb. This layer adds some bounce to the bed and also promotes airflow.
  • To learn more, read my full Amerisleep AS3 mattress review.

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The AS3 is the middle firmness options in the Amerisleep line. This 12-inch mattress combines supportive design with pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The AS3 is the middle firmness options in the Amerisleep line. This 12-inch mattress combines supportive design with pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The AS3 is the middle firmness options in the Amerisleep line. This 12-inch mattress combines supportive design with pressure relief.

Sleepopolis Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress vs Amerisleep AS2 Mattress

  • The AS2 is the second firmest mattress in the Amerisleep line, after the AS1. That firm feel makes it a great mattress for back and stomach sleepers. The AS2 has a memory foam feel, but is still firm and gives the feeling of lying “on top” of the mattress.
  • Like the AS3, the AS2 features the HIVE transition layer, which makes it a bit more responsive than the AS1.
  • The AS2 also performed well on the motion transfer and edge support tests, making it a good pick for couples.
  • Learn more in my full Amerisleep AS2 mattress review.

Amerisleep AS2 Mattress

The second firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS2 uses open cell memory foam in its comfort layer. The AS2 has a 3-inch transition layer of poly foam that provides bounce to allow sleepers to sink in without worrying about feeling stuck in the mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS2 Mattress

The second firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS2 uses open cell memory foam in its comfort layer. The AS2 has a 3-inch transition layer of poly foam that provides bounce to allow sleepers to sink in without worrying about feeling stuck in the mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS2 Mattress

The second firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS2 uses open cell memory foam in its comfort layer. The AS2 has a 3-inch transition layer of poly foam that provides bounce to allow sleepers to sink in without worrying about feeling stuck in the mattress.

Sleepopolis Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Want to learn more about Amerisleep’s mattresses? Read my Amerisleep mattress review to see all the models offered by the brand.

Still undecided? Take a look at my ratings for the Amerisleep AS1 below.

Amerisleep AS1 Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Sex
  • Smell
  • Company
  • Refunds
  • Trial
  • Warranty
4.5

Summary

The firmest of the Amerisleep line, the AS1 is a 10” all foam mattress made of two layers. The comfort layer is 2” of open cell memory foam, which provides a little bit of pressure relief before pressing through to the 8” high density poly foam support layer, giving the mattress a firm feel that many stomach sleepers love. This is definitely one of the firmer mattresses I’ve tested.

Amelia Jerden

Amelia Jerden

Hey there! I’m Amelia and I’m a Staff Writer here at Sleepopolis. I write reviews on sleep products and accessories, including pillows, sheets, bedding, and more! You can also find me on our YouTube channel doing video reviews. I want to help you find the right products to ensure you sleep well, because I know there’s nothing like a good night’s sleep to make me feel better all around. When I’m not reviewing sleep products (or taking a nap!), you can usually find me out on a hike, listening to my favorite podcasts, or attempting to learn how to cook.