We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress Review

The Beautyrest Black Hybrid mattress is one of seven  mattress models in its mattress line. It’s described to have an impressive blend of comfort, support, and durability. But, does the Beautyrest Black Hybrid deserve to make the cut? Let’s find out!

I recently reviewed the Beautyrest Black, so I was excited to see how the Black Hybrid compares. I put it through the whole gamut of tests so I could report to you here, and I’m excited to share my findings!

Is this Beautyrest Hybrid worthy of the premium label? Check out my comprehensive review below to see! Or hop on down to my full review summary if you’re short on time.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is the Black Hybrid right for you? Below, I’ll go over who I think the mattress would and wouldn’t be best for. Let’s get into it! 

Who I recommend the Beautyrest Black Hybrid mattress for

  • This mattress does a good job of sleeping cool thanks to the cool-to-the-touch BlackICE™ cover and the gel infusions in the memory foam, which help defend against heat. The bed might appeal to people who like the feel of memory foam but are worried about sleeping hot.
  • This hybrid could be a great option for couples. It has reinforced edge support so you can utilize the full surface of the mattress, and it does a good job of isolating motion. If you sleep with a partner, you might want to consider this mattress.
  • Combo sleepers (especially those who switch between their back and side) might really like this mattress. It offers a balance of support and pressure relief in multiple positions, and it has great mobility so it’s easy to change positions without feeling stuck.
Beautyrest Hybrid Testing
Testing out the Beautyrest Hybrid

Who I don’t recommend the Beautyrest Black Hybrid mattress for

  • This mattress might not be ideal for strict stomach sleepers. You might find that your hips bow in and cause your spine to get out of alignment. If you spend all night on your stomach, consider a firmer mattress.
  • If you like the feel of a firmer mattress, this probably won’t fit the bill. If you want a super firm bed, check out the Beautyrest Black or firm mattress options from other brands.

How Firm is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress?

Now that you know what’s inside of the Beautyrest Black Hybrid, it’s time to find out what it feels like to sleep on top of it! Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the bed’s firmness.

First, let’s start with my usual note of caution: It’s important to remember that firmness is a somewhat subjective measure. Your body weight, shape, size, and personal feel preferences will all affect your assessment of a mattress’s firmness — and the same is true for me! So keep that in mind as you read through my reflections.

Personally, I ranked the Beautyrest Black Hybrid at a 6.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale. The industry standard for medium firmness is 6.5, so I think it’s fair to say this mattress is exactly that!

Beautyrest Hybrid Firmness
I found the Beautyrest Hybrid to have a medium firmness

Why might the Beautyrest Black Hybrid feel mediumfirm? It comes down to the hybrid nature of the mattress, which combines the softness of memory foam with the supportiveness of coils. These two elements average each other out to create a mediumfirm feel. They also provide a nice mix of support and pressure relief in several positions, which is why I think this mattress might appeal to combo sleepers — especially those who switch between their back and side. (People who spend a lot of time on their stomachs might find that the mattress is a little too soft to deliver enough support at the hips.)

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress Performance 

At Sleepopolis, we use a number of tools to test a mattress for the features most important to you. These include testing for edge support, pressure relief, motion transfer, couples, and more!

Testing the Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Talk to a number of sleepers, and you’re likely to find a variety of position preferences and weights. Everyone is different and it’s important to keep that in mind when it comes to their support needs as well. Let’s get into it and see how this bed could perform for you!

Is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – If you’re a back sleeper who enjoys contouring foam and coiled support, you should enjoy the Beautyrest Black Hybrid.
  • Light Side Sleepers – These sleepers should feel cradled by this bed’s cushiony gel memory foam, but it could also be a dash too firm.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – I’d recommend checking out our best mattresses for stomach sleepers for some firmer options for these sleepers.

Is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 lb)? 

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – These sleepers should find a lot to enjoy in the slight sinkage of this bed’s memory foam and the support from its coils.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – I wouldn’t recommend this mattress to these side sleepers, since they need a bed with a bit more soft sinkage.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – I think that these sleepers will find the Beautyrest Hybrid to be too soft for their needs, with too much hip sinkage.

Is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (over 250 lb)? 

  • Heavy Back Sleepers – This firmness level in this bed won’t be supportive enough for these sleepers. I’d recommend checking out our best mattresses for heavy people instead.
  • Heavy Side Sleepers – These sleepers might push through to the pocketed coils and feel like this mattress is firmer than I do, so it may be okay, but could fall a little short, depending on your specific weight.
  • Heavy Stomach Sleepers – I found that these sleepers are likely to experience the hips digging into the mattress too deeply, which could create discomfort at  pressure points like the hips and shoulders.

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress Pain Relief Performance

Pressure Relief is one of those factors that can make you fall in love with a mattress or find it uncomfortable. Needless to say, it’s important to consider while assessing any mattress! Basically, this term refers to a bed’s ability to alleviate tension at sensitive areas such as the hips, lower back, and shoulders. It lets you know if a mattress will ease pressure on relevant parts of your body so you can sleep comfortably in your preferred position(s).

To test the Pressure Relief on the Beautyrest Black Hybrid, I called on my handy pressure map. I put this device on top of the mattress, climb aboard, and let the map track my body’s force as I try out different positions. Low-pressure areas are highlighted in blue, and the highest pressure areas show up as red.

Beautyrest Hybrid Pressure
I found the Beautyrest Hybrid was great at relieving pressure

Back Pain – Back sleepers should have a pleasurable experience on this mattress with an even weight distribution  supported by the pocketed coils. I think side sleepers will also find a lot to enjoy as their back is welcomed by a cushioning layer of contouring foam and lifted up by the coils. Stomach sleepers are likely to find this bed to be too soft, with the hips digging in, which would throw the spine out of alignment.

Shoulder Pain – I think back sleepers with shoulder pain will find some nice relief in the bit of sink and contour in this medium-firm bed. Side sleepers will likely think that this bed is too firm for their needs, with not enough sinkage or contour. Again, stomach sleepers will probably find this bed too soft for their needs, but the soft-to-the-touch feel should provide relief to the shoulders nonetheless.

Hip Pain – Back sleepers should definitely appreciate this bed’s soft and conforming nature, which has  enough lift to keep them supported. Since a soft approach is so important for the hips, these sleepers could find this bed to be too firm to offer them any relief. Stomach sleepers will find the hips digging into this foam mattress, which could exacerbate existing pain and place the spain in an uncomfortable alignment.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress Performance for Couples

When it comes to couples, we’re talking about a whole other realm. Two sleepers in one bed bring up a variety of new features to keep an eye on. These include things like motion transfer, sex, edge support, and cooling. Let’s dive in! 

Motion Transfer 

Like Pressure Relief, Motion Transfer plays a major role in determining whether a mattress suits your sleep needs — especially if you share your bed with a partner, pet, or child. This term refers to whether you’ll feel a sleeping partner’s movements if they shift around during the night.

To test motion transfer on the Beautyrest Black Hybrid, I dropped a 10 lb. steel ball from three heights: 4 inches, 8 inches, and 12 inches. These heights mimic different movements, from tossing and turning to getting out of bed or jumping into it. Then I measured the disturbance caused by each of these drops. The bigger the lines, the bigger the disturbance!

Beautyrest Hybrid Motion
The Beautyrest Hybrid was great at isolating motion transfer

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The top layers of foam do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sex

Couples need a mattress with a mixture of bounce and responsiveness to make it good for sex. I was pleased to find a layer of pocketed coils that provide a great level of bounce, which helps you move around the mattress with ease. With this in mind, I found this to be a good mattress for sex.

Cooling 

When it comes to sleeping in doubles, you’re going to experience more heat, so a bed’s cooling and airflow capabilities are even more important. Thankfully, the Beautyrest should  offer some serious cooling with a stretchy, cool-to-the-touch cover and gel-infused memory foam. Happy chilling!

Edge Support

Testing for edge support is especially crucial for couples because it tells us whether the bed is sturdy enough to handle a restless partner or a partner who likes to sleep right on its edge. With the Beautyrest, there is actually a designated edge support layer made of high-density poly foam. This support will allow you and your partner to utilize all the space this bed has to offer.

What is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid Made Of?

The Beautyrest Black Hybrid is a well-made mattress with a mediumfirm feel. It layers memory foam on top of pocketed coils for a classic hybrid construction. While memory foam tends to sleep hot, this mattress has a couple of features to help keep things cool.

Ready to learn more? Let’s dive into what’s inside of the Beautyrest Hybrid!

Cover – The mattress’s cover is made from a stretchy fabric containing BlackICE™ Technology that does a great job of staying cool to the touch, which should be a plus for hot sleepers. This is one of the features that helps the mattress sleep cool. The cover is quilted with an inch of memory foam to give you some softness and pressure relief right off the bat.

Contour Layer – Next up is a two-inch gel memory foam layer with a slow response to pressure. In classic memory foam form, the comfort layer lets you sink into the mattress a bit and offers some body-contouring and pressure relief. That will most likely appeal to back, side, and combo sleepers, who need to balance support with comfort. Meanwhile, the gel infusion helps draw heat away from your body.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress
The Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress in the Sleepopolis bedroom

Transition Layer – Beneath the contour layer, you’ll find a one-inch layer of poly foam. This section helps ease you from the softer layers above to the firm support of the pocketed coils below. Compared to the gel memory foam above it, this comfort foam is firmer and has a quicker response to pressure to prevent you from feeling stuck in the mattress. That could appeal to combo sleepers who need to change positions throughout the night.

Support Layer – At the base of the mattress, you’ll find a support system of pocketed coils. As they would in traditional innerspring mattresses, these coils provide the bed with plenty of bounce making it easy to change positions. The pocketed coils are also individually wrapped, which means they move independently and do a decent job of motion isolation. This could appeal to couples.

Edge Support – Wrapped around the coils is a firm, high-density poly foam edge support layer. This section helps support the mattress at the edges so you can utilize the full surface of the bed. This is another plus for couples as it makes the bed feel bigger.

Beautyrest Hybrid Materials
The Beautyrest Hybrid uses a combination of foam and coil layers

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress Unboxing and Off-Gassing

Your new bed-in-a-box mattress will be delivered between 7:00 A.M. and 7:00 P.M. Monday through Saturday. Any bed purchased from Beautyrest.com also comes with free white glove delivery! This includes not only delivery and set-up, but the removal of packaging and your old mattress.

Similarly to other boxed mattresses, there is potential for off-gassing with this product. Off-gassing refers to a release of gases trapped during compression, and  means that the mattress  may emit an odor upon unboxing.. This is nothing to worry about, and any lingering smells should dissipate within a day.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

My Final Thoughts about the Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress

Whew! You’ve nearly made it to the end of this review, and that means only one question remains: Is the Beautyrest Black Hybrid the right choice for you? I can’t tell you that, but I can help you out with a summary of my review!

My favorite things about the Beautyrest Black Hybrid mattress

My favorite thing about this mattress would have to be how cool it sleeps! This isn’t always the case for memory foam mattresses, because this material often retains heat. However, we get the best of both worlds with this bed in its chilled BlackICE™ cover and gel-infused foam. I also appreciate how this mattress performs for couples. With high-quality cooling technology, edge support, and sex capabilities, it really proves to be a slam dunk. Finally, I think all my combination sleepers out there could find a lot to love. If you alternate between your back and side, you’ll be pleased with the amount of support and pressure relief here.

My Beautyrest Black Hybrid mattress complaints 

Now for my complaints. I was disappointed in this Beautyrest’s performance for strict stomach sleepers. I found that staying in this position too long caused my hips to dig too deep, throwing my spine out of alignment. In general, I also think that this bed won’t fit the bill for the extra-firm lovers out there. I’d recommend checking out some of our firmer picks, which are linked above in the start of this review.

How Much Does the Beautyrest Black Hybrid Cost? 

Below, you’ll find each of the sizes, dimensions, and price points that the Simmons Beautyrest Black Hybrid comes in. Whether you’re looking for a queen or a twin xl, you might just find a match!

Price listed will be before discount or offer for each size.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin XL40" x 81" x 13"$2,149
Full55" x 76" x 13"$2,429
Queen61" x 81" x 13"$2,599
King78" x 81" x 13"$3,099
Cali King73" x 85" x 13"$3,099

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress

Overall, I was impressed with this mattress’s ability to isolate motion. The memory foam layers on top do a nice job of minimizing movement across the mattress. Combined with the bed’s strong edge support, this factor could really appeal to couples who don’t want to be disturbed by each other’s movements during the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress Policies and FAQs

How does the Beautyrest Black Hybrid ship?

It ships within the continental United States only, which excludes Alaska and Hawaii, and it should arrive within five to six weeks.

Does the Beautyrest Black Hybrid come with a sleep trial period?

Yes, it includes an in-home, 100-night sleep trial.

What mattress warranty is offered with the Beautyrest Black Hybrid?

This mattress comes with a hassle-free, 10-year limited warranty.

Do I need a boxspring with my new Beautyrest Black Hybrid?

No, a box spring should not be used.

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress Vs  

If you’re considering going all in with the Beautyrest Black Hybrid, it’s not a bad idea to give its competition a quick peek. This will help you in making a sound, informed, and confident decision with any new mattress.

Today, we’re going to see how this Beautyrest fairs against some competing retailers’ models: the Bear Hybrid and the Leesa Hybrid. Let’s see how it goes!

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress vs Bear Hybrid Mattress

  • The Bear Hybrid is our pick for best cooling hybrid mattress.
  • The Beautyrest is significantly more expensive than the Bear.
  • The Bear is built for athletes in need of pressure relief, but it’s great for couples too!
  • Both beds are advertised as luxury mattresses.
  • Learn more in the full Bear Hybrid mattress review.

Bear Hybrid Mattress

I found a lot to love in the Bear Hybrid. While the lift of its pocketed coil system will leave you feeling more “on top” of the mattress than “in” it, its top layers of memory foam are going to provide you with plenty of pressure-relieving sinkage.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Bear Hybrid Mattress

I found a lot to love in the Bear Hybrid. While the lift of its pocketed coil system will leave you feeling more “on top” of the mattress than “in” it, its top layers of memory foam are going to provide you with plenty of pressure-relieving sinkage.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Bear Hybrid Mattress

I found a lot to love in the Bear Hybrid. While the lift of its pocketed coil system will leave you feeling more “on top” of the mattress than “in” it, its top layers of memory foam are going to provide you with plenty of pressure-relieving sinkage.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress vs Leesa Hybrid Mattress

  • The Leesa Hybrid is our pick for best hybrid mattress for couples.
  • Unlike the Beautyrest, the Leesa has a hole-punched comfort layer for extra cooling.
  • Like the Bear, the Leesa is much cheaper than the Beautyrest Hybrid.
  • Both mattresses are a good choice for couples.
  • Learn more in the full Leesa Hybrid mattress review.

Leesa Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Hybrid.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Leesa Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Hybrid.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Leesa Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Hybrid mattress combines gentle foams with pocketed coils for a one-two punch of pressure relief and support. Side sleepers who like a more responsive mattress should be really happy on the Leesa Hybrid.

Sleepopolis Score 3.9/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Beautyrest

Beautyrest is more than just its Black Hybrid. It actually has seven mattress models in its arsenal. Now, let’s compare the Black Hybrid to some of its sister models to see how it measures up with the rest of the family. Today, we’ll be looking at the Beautyrest Black.

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress vs Beautyrest Black Mattress

  • The Black Hybrid stands at medium-firm on the firmness level, while the Black is a firm 8 out of 10.
  • The Hybrid model is better for combination back and side sleepers, while the Black is recommended for back and stomach sleepers.
  • Both mattresses should be a hit for couples, with great edge support, cooling, and more!
  • Learn more in the full Beautyrest Black mattress review.

Beautyrest Black Mattress

The Beautyrest Black is a member of Beautyrest’s premium mattress line. This firm, luxury mattress is made with several layers of foam stacked on top of coils providing some serious edge support, responsiveness and motion isolation.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Mattress

The Beautyrest Black is a member of Beautyrest’s premium mattress line. This firm, luxury mattress is made with several layers of foam stacked on top of coils providing some serious edge support, responsiveness and motion isolation.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Mattress

The Beautyrest Black is a member of Beautyrest’s premium mattress line. This firm, luxury mattress is made with several layers of foam stacked on top of coils providing some serious edge support, responsiveness and motion isolation.

Sleepopolis Score 4.4/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Black Hybrid Mattress vs Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid Mattress

  • The Harmony Lux Hybrid is considered to be a soft mattress on the firmness scale, while the Black Hybrid is a medium-firm.
  • Again, the Black Hybrid is far more expensive than the Harmony Lux Hybrid.
  • Both mattresses should offer some nice pressure relief to back sleepers.
  • Learn more in the full Beautyrest Harmony Lux mattress review.

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Beautyrest Harmony Lux Hybrid

The Beautryrest Harmony Lux Hybrid is a good choice for a variety of sleepers, coming in numerous firmness levels. It also contains gel-infused memory foam which should be a relief for hot sleepers.

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleepering
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Before you hit the road, take a look at how the Beautyrest Black Hybrid ranked on our star chart below.

Beautyrest Hybrid Mattress
  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
4.1
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.