We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress Review

If you’re in the market for a mattress that combines the support of pocketed coils with the softness of memory foam, then consider the Silk & Snow Hybrid! This mattress helps keep your spine aligned, and it isolates motion, so you’re less likely to be disturbed if you share a bed.

To help you decide if the Silk & Snow Hybrid is a good mattress for you, I tested it for key features like firmness, pressure relief, motion transfer, and edge support to give. I also took a look at the materials that make up the Silk & Snow Hybrid to give you an idea of how it’s going to feel.

But before I dig in to any of that, let’s talk about the company behind the mattress.

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Brand Snapshot

Silk & Snow was founded in 2017 with the goal of creating high-quality bed-in-a-box mattresses. Since then, they’ve started creating other products. In addition to mattresses (the Hybrid and the Original), Silk & Snow makes bed frames, sheets, pillows, blankets, and more!

What is the Silk & Snow Hybrid Made Of?

I think the Silk & Snow Hybrid’s layer of individually wrapped pocketed coils provides a ton of support. This layer, in combination with the foam, is what makes it a hybrid mattress. I think the coils help keep your hips elevated and your spine nicely aligned, which can mean the difference between waking up rested or in pain.

The coiled layer in the Silk & Snow is designed with a lumbar support section in the middle of the mattress to give it some extra cushion at the lower back. This is in addition to the support you get from the high-density polyfoam surrounding the coiled layer.

Silk and Snow Hybrid Mattress
The Silk & Snow Hybrid in for the Sleepopolis review

To give you a closer look at what makes the Silk & Snow so supportive, let’s take a look at the inside layers.

Cover – To start us off, we have a 1” polyester and spandex cover infused with silver, which can prevent bacteria growth — this is a big advantage if you struggle with allergies. The cover also has memory foam quilted in, so you’ll get some pressure relief from this contouring material.

Comfort – Next up is the 2” memory foam comfort layer infused with gel. This gel is the mattress’s main cooling feature – it helps to draw heat away from your body. Since memory foam has a slow response to pressure, you’ll get some tension relief as it contours to your body. And while you’ll sink into this layer a bit, you won’t feel trapped. This is due to how the coils underneath keep you on top of the mattress, which brings us to the final layer.

Coils – Here, you’ll find a 6” layer of pocketed coils. Since the coils are individually wrapped, they independently react to pressure to make the mattress bouncy. This bounce gives it great mobility, making it easier to swap positions.

Silk and Snow Hybrid Materials
The Silk & Snow Hybrid uses a combination of foam and coil layers

What Does the Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress Feel Like?

Now that we’ve covered the materials inside the mattress, I’m sure you’re wondering what it feels like. Let’s take a look at the firmness of this mattress.

To determine the firmness of the Silk & Snow Hybrid, I used a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the firmest. After lying on it in various positions, I gave it a 7.5. Given that the industry standard for a medium-firm mattress is 6.5, I’d say this is on the firmer end of the spectrum.

Silk and Snow Hybrid Firmness
I found the Silk & Snow Hybrid to be pretty firm

When I tried it out on my stomach and back, I realized that this mattress doesn’t skimp on support. The coils and memory foam did a nice job at keeping my spine aligned, while cushioning my shoulders. That said, I think the Silk & Snow Hybrid is a fantastic choice for back sleepers and stomach sleepers!

Since it’s good for both back and stomach sleepers, I think combination sleepers who switch between the two positions will likely be comfortable on this mattress. On the other hand, I don’t think it has enough pressure relief for side sleepers. I’ll discuss that more here soon.

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Testing the Silk & Snow Hybrid

Now, let’s dig into how the Silk & Snow Hybrid mattress performed in my pressure relief, motion transfer, and edge support tests.

Pressure Relief

Pressure relief refers to how well a mattress measures up when it comes to easing tension at sensitive spots, such as your shoulders, hips, and lower back. I tested it out lying on my back, side, and stomach to get an idea of how well (or not well) the Silk & Snow relieves pressure.

For this test, I used a pressure map, which is a nifty device I put on top of the mattress to see how much pressure I’m putting on the bed. In the graphic below, blue represents low pressure and red represents high pressure.

 

Silk and Snow Hybrid Pressure Relief
Pressure relief test results for the Silk & Snow Hybrid

Back – My weight was evenly distributed when I was on my back. Even though I sank in a smidge, I felt supported. I would certainly recommend this if you’re a strict back sleeper.

Side – When I was on my side, I didn’t feel the amount of pressure relief that I think side sleepers will want. Typically, I recommend side sleepers go with softer mattresses to alleviate shoulder tension. For side sleepers who have shoulder pain and/or hip pain, this mattress might not have enough pressure relief to keep the aches at bay.

Stomach – The pressure was low when I was on my stomach, meaning it kept my hips and spine appropriately elevated and in a comfortable position. Normally, I recommend stomach sleepers go with a firmer mattress like this one to keep their hips in line with their shoulders and their spine aligned.

Silk and Snow Hybrid Back Sleeper
The Silk & Snow Hybrid mattress is great for those suffering from back pain

Motion Transfer

When I talk about motion transfer, I’m referring to the noticeable amount of movement that you can feel from one side of the mattress to the other. This is important, especially if you share a bed and don’t want to disrupt your bedmate’s sleep.

To get a good idea of how well the Silk & Snow Hybrid isolates motion, I tested it out by dropping a 10 lb. steel ball onto the mattress from various heights to simulate different movements. The 4” inch drop simulated tossing and turning in bed. The 8” drop simulated getting out of bed. And the 12” drop indicated how it would feel if my bedmate started doing jumping jacks on the bed. Keep in mind that bigger lines equal greater disturbance.

 

Silk and Snow Hybrid Motion Transfer
I like the Silk & Snow Hybrid for couples

As you can see, the Silk & Snow Hybrid did a solid job at isolating motion transfer. I think this is because the combination of pocketed coils and memory foam contain the motion to one area of the mattress. So, if you’re in the market for a mattress for couples, I think this could be right for you!

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Edge Support

If a mattress has good edge support, you should feel comfortable sleeping toward the end of the bed without collapsing it. Edge support can also be important if you sit on the side of the bed when getting dressed in the morning.

To test out the edge support, I got right up to the end of the bed to see how it would hold up. Fortunately, the edge support was strong enough to keep the mattress from caving.

I think this solid edge support could appeal to folks who want to use the entire surface of the mattress, since it makes the Silk & Snow Hybrid feel that much bigger. This might especially interest people who sleep on a twin or a queen mattress and want to use all of the available space.

Silk and Snow Hybrid Side
Side sleepers might find the Silk & Snow Hybrid a little firm

Should You Buy the Silk & Snow Hybrid?

Still wondering if the Silk & Snow Hybrid is right for you? Let me share with you my list of pros and cons to help you decide!

Silk & Snow Hybrid Pros

  • I think it offers the stomach sleepers enough firmness to keep their hips from sinking in uncomfortably deep.
  • I also think the coiled layer provides great support for heavy people who want to stay on top of their mattress.
  • In my opinion, couples are likely to appreciate its sturdy edge support and its ability to isolate motion.

Silk & Snow Hybrid Cons

  • I think it isn’t soft enough for side sleepers. Given that it doesn’t have a lot of pressure-relieving memory foam, I think it could lead to some side sleepers feeling jammed up in their shoulders
  • Since it doesn’t offer many cooling features, I think you’re likely to get hot at night on this mattress. So if you tend to overheat at night, this might not be the best choice for you.

How Much Does the Silk & Snow Cost?

You can see the full pricing details for the Silk & Snow Hybrid mattress below. These prices are before any special offers or discounts.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75" x 12"$500
Twin XL38" x 80" x 12"$500
Full54" x 75" x 12"$600
Queen60" x 80" x 12"$700
King76" x 80" x 12"$800
California King72" x 84" x 12"$800

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress

The Silk & Snow Hybrid is a firm mattress that provides plenty of support. It's ideal for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who switch between these positions.

Sleepopolis Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5

Silk & Snow Policies

  • Shipping – Free
  • Trial Period – 100 Nights
  • Warranty – 15 Year Warranty

FAQ

Do you need a box spring with the Silk & Snow Hybrid?

Fortunately, you do not need a box spring with this mattress, but you can use one if you’d like.

Can you flip the Silk & Snow Hybrid?

You should not flip the Silk & Snow Hybrid. Since it’s designed to be felt in a specific way, with the comfort layers on top and the support layer below, flipping this would likely be very uncomfortable.

Where are Silk & Snow mattresses made?

Each Silk & Snow mattress is made in Canada

  • Materials
  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Value
  • Cooling
  • Edge Support
  • Trial
  • Warranty
4
Logan Block
Logan is the content director of Sleepopolis, which means he not only reviews new mattresses every week, but also curates all the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. He takes a straightforward, honest approach to his reviews and endeavors to give viewers an objective look at each new product he tries out. Logan has perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole. When he’s not hopping on a new bed or working with our editorial team to whip up an engaging sleep education guide, you can find him reading books on world history, walking his dog Pepper, or searching for the best cheeseburger in New York City.