Helix Moonlight Mattress Review

We have affiliate relationships where we are paid a commission on sales through some of our links. See our disclosures.

Boasting a soft and breathable feel, the Helix Moonlight from Helix Sleep is a hybrid mattress with both foam and coil layers. It’s soft to lie on, but it also has a little bounce to it, too. This mattress is one of the softer models Helix offers (and it has a ton of great reviews), so I had to test it out for myself to see if it lives up to the hype.

The Helix Moonlight comes in a standard model and a luxe model. The Helix Moonlight Luxe has a few additional features, including zoned support and a pillow top. Keep reading to find out everything you need to know about the Helix Moonlight standard and Helix Moonlight Luxe, including construction details, what type of sleepers they’re best for, and how they truly feel throughout the night.

Short on time? Skip down to my review summary.

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
helix moonlight mattress

Helix Moonlight Mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Is the Helix Moonlight a Good Mattress for You?

The Helix Moonlight is one of Helix’s six hybrid mattresses, and it comes in both a standard model and a pricier luxe version. I’d recommend checking out my Helix mattress review and Helix Luxe mattress review to learn more about the other mattresses in both lines.

Depending on your unique sleeping needs — like your body weight, preferred sleeping position, and whether or not you sleep with a partner or pet — the Helix Moonlight or Helix Moonlight Luxe may or may not work for you. Take a look at some of my recommendations below. 

Helix Mattress Firmnesses
The standard Helix Moonlight mattress.

Who I recommend the Helix Moonlight for

  • Both the Helix Moonlight and Helix Moonlight Luxe are great beds for side sleepers. The standard Helix Moonlight has an ultra plush feel that gives side sleepers the deep sinkage they need around their hips and shoulders. However, I do think the Helix Moonlight Luxe model could be a better choice for sleepers with back pain, since its zoned support system is designed to promote a straight spinal alignment during the night.
  • The Helix Moonlight has a nice, bouncy feel, which means you’re unlikely to feel “stuck” in this bed. I’d readily recommend this bed to combination sleepers, who need to be able to easily switch positions and move around while sleeping.
  • The Helix Moonlight Luxe is a nice option for couples. Its bouncy feel makes it a good mattress for sex, and its memory foam pillow top absorbs quite a bit of motion, so you’re unlikely to be disturbed by your partner’s tossing and turning on their side of the bed.
  • I think the Helix Moonlight is a great bed for anyone suffering from shoulder pain or hip pain. It has a super plush feel that helps to cradle and contour around sensitive joints. 
The Helix Moonlight Luxe mattress
The Helix Moonlight Luxe mattress.

Who I don’t recommend the Helix Moonlight for

  • I think both the Helix Moonlight and the Helix Moonlight Luxe are both too soft for stomach sleepers. Those who sleep prone need a firm mattress to help keep their hips in line with their shoulders. I’d recommend these sleepers go with the firmest Helix model: the Helix Dawn. Or these sleepers can check out our roundup of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers
  • I don’t think the Helix Moonlight or the Helix Moonlight Luxe have adequate support for heavier sleepers (those over 250 pounds). I’d recommend that these sleepers check out the Helix Plus (which is specifically designed for heavy people) or one of our best mattresses for heavy people.

How Firm is the Helix Moonlight Mattress?

Now that you know a few basics about the Helix Moonlight and Helix Moonlight Luxe, let’s talk about what these mattresses feel like, starting with their firmness. Like any feel factor, firmness is subjective, so it depends on your body composition and how you like to sleep. For reference, I’m a stomach sleeper, I’m about 5’10” tall, and I weight around 190 pounds.

Helix Moonlight Firmness
The Helix Moonlight has a softer feel that should ease shoulder pain.

After lying on the standard Helix Moonlight for a while, I decided to give it a firmness rating of 5.5 out of 10 on our firmness scale. Given that the industry standard for a medium-firm mattress is set at a 6.5 on our firmness scale, my rating confirms that this bed is quite soft. The Helix Moonlight Luxe had about the same firmness rating, though it did offer a bit more sinkage, thanks to its additional pillow top layer.

This lines up with the description of the Helix Moonlight as one of the softer models in Helix’s six-mattress lineup. I gave this mattress a 5.5 because the Helix Dynamic Foam included in its comfort layer established a soft, plushy feel that really cushioned my body for extra pressure relief (more on this later).

Helix Moonlight Mattress Performance

While mattress firmness is important, it isn’t everything. As well as rating the firmness of the Helix Moonlight, I conducted a few specific tests to see just how well the standard Helix Moonlight can work for different sleepers. Read on below to learn more.

Testing the Helix Moonlight Mattress in Different Sleeping Positions

Depending on your weight, body type, and preferred sleeping position, the Helix Moonlight will feel different to different sleepers. Take a look below to see how the Helix Moonlight performs for sleepers in different weight classes.

Is the Helix Moonlight a Good Mattress for Light Sleepers (Under 130 pounds)?

  • Light Back Sleepers – These sleepers should get enough support on the Helix Moonlight and the Helix Moonlight Luxe, especially if they like a softer feel to their mattress.
  • Light Side Sleepers – These sleepers should feel really comfortable on either Moonlight model. They should get plenty of cushioning around their sensitive pressure points during the night.
  • Light Stomach Sleepers – Stomach sleepers need extra support to keep their spine aligned while they sleep, so they’ll likely find that this mattress is too soft for their needs. I’d suggest that these sleepers opt for a firmer Helix model, like the Helix Dawn.

Is the Helix Moonlight a Good Mattress for Average Weight Sleepers (130 – 250 pounds)?

  • Average Weight Back Sleepers – I’d recommend that these sleepers opt for the Helix Moonlight Luxe, which offers a bit more back support than the standard Helix Moonlight model, thanks to its zoned support layer.
  • Average Weight Side Sleepers – The standard Helix Moonlight and Helix Moonlight Luxe are both good fits for side sleepers who want to avoid uncomfortable pressure around their shoulders and hips while sleeping.
  • Average Weight Stomach Sleepers – Both Moonlight models are probably going to be too soft for the majority of these sleepers. Stomach sleepers will most likely find that their hips sink too far into these beds, creating a bend at the back that can lead to pain over time.

Is the Helix Moonlight a Good Mattress for Heavy Sleepers (Over 250 pounds)?

  • Heavy Sleepers – The standard Helix Moonlight and Helix Moonlight Luxe are both too soft to be supportive enough for heavier people. Like I mentioned above, I’d recommend that these sleepers check out the Helix Plus mattress, which was specifically designed with heavier sleepers in mind.

Helix Moonlight Mattress Pain Relief Performance

Pain relief is an important consideration for a lot of sleepers. To measure pain relief, I like to conduct a pressure map test. This test measures how much pressure a mattress will place on sensitive joints like the hips, shoulders, and lower back.

After setting up the map on top of the mattress, I rolled around on it to see how much force my body exerted on the structure. The device then creates a color-coded map of that pressure, with blue areas equating to low pressure, and red areas equating to high pressure.

Helix Moonlight Pressure Relief
I was impressed with the pressure relief that the Helix Moonlight provided

Back Pain – The pressure map lit up entirely blue while sleeping on my back, which indicates that the Helix Moonlight does a nice job relieving tension for back sleepers. The map also shows low pressure for side sleepers with back pain. However, I recommend stomach sleepers and some back sleepers with back pain opt for a firmer mattress to really promote a healthy spinal alignment during the night.

Shoulder Pain – Based on the graph above, this soft mattress is a great fit for back and side sleepers with shoulder pain. Either the standard Helix Moonlight or Helix Moonlight Luxe should do a nice job cushioning these sleepers’ shoulders to prevent stiffness and relieve pain. However, I’d steer stomach sleepers with shoulder pain to our roundup of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers instead.

Hip Pain – Similarly, either Moonlight model should do a great job relieving hip pain for side sleepers. I’d recommend either model to sleepers looking for gentler pressure relief in this area. However, stomach sleepers with hip pain will probably want to look for a firmer mattress to ensure spinal alignment while they are resting.

Helix Midnight Mattress Performance for Couples

Couples have unique mattress needs that solo sleepers don’t. To measure how well a mattress might work for folks who share a bed, I look at a few specific features. Read on below to learn more about those tests.

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer measures how much movement you can feel from one side of the bed when you’re resting on the other. This is something relevant to all sleepers, but it’s particularly crucial for anyone sharing their bed with a partner or a pet who might move around during the night.

Our motion transfer test involves dropping a 10-pound steel ball onto the mattress from three different heights (4 inches, 8 inches, and 12 inches). Then, we measure the type of disturbance each of these drops caused using a seismometer. You can see the standard Helix Moonlight’s results below.

Helix Moonlight Motion Transfer
Motion transfer test results for the Helix Moonlight mattress.

These are pretty middling results, which suggests that you may be disturbed by motion transfer on the Helix Moonlight (unless you’re a super heavy sleeper, of course). Given that the Helix Moonlight doesn’t have a memory foam comfort layer (which goes a long way to isolate movement), this isn’t super surprising. Because of these results, the Helix Moonlight is not necessarily ideal for light sleepers who aren’t alone in their bed. The Helix Moonlight Luxe also got similar motion transfer results.

Sex

Though there is no one-size-fits-all best mattress for couples, partners generally want a bed that combines bounce and motion isolation. Bounce makes it easy to move around during sex, which is important to many couples, for obvious reasons. Both the Helix Moonlight and the Helix Moonlight Luxe have some nice bounce to them, so either model should work well for sex.

Cooling

Couples tend to prefer cooling mattresses because they usually overheat more quickly than solo sleepers during the night. Luckily, both of the Helix Moonlight mattresses sleep cool. Breathable pocketed coils really encourage airflow throughout these beds. However, the Helix Moonlight Luxe’s cooling Tencel cover gives it the edge over the standard Helix Moonlight in this category (more on this later).

Edge Support

Edge support refers to how well a mattress holds up on its sides as compared to its center. A mattress with good edge support can feel larger, which is great for anyone who shares a bed but still wants to spread out. Both Helix Moonlight models have pretty good edge support. All the mattresses in the Helix line have reinforced edges, adding to their overall durability. However, if you’re looking for an especially long-lasting mattress, check out our roundup of the best mattresses that wont sag.

What is the Helix Moonlight Mattress Made Of?

The Helix Moonlight is a hybrid mattress, meaning it combines foam layers with pocketed coils for a soft, bouncy feel. Plus, a reinforced perimeter in the pocketed coil layer adds some solid edge support, so you shouldn’t slide off of this bed if you get too close to the sides.

Standard Helix Moonlight

Cover – The standard Helix Moonlight includes a Light Breathe Knit cover made entirely of polyester, so it has a nice, breathable feel to it. The increased airflow in this cover also helps to establish a cooling tone for the mattress.

Comfort Layer- Just below the cover is a comfort layer composed of Helix Dynamic Foam, which is a latex hybrid-foam alternative designed to contour to your body. This isn’t memory foam, so it won’t provide that “sinking” feeling some people love. Instead, it feels more like a gentle cushioning with a bit of lift and bounce. This foam is combined with High-Grade Helix Responsive Foam, which offsets this lifting feel with some nice body-contouring.

Transition Layer- This layer is also made of High-Grade Helix Responsive Foam, but the foam used in this layer has a lower IFD (Indentation Force Deflection), so it provides your body with more ergonomic support, while still maintaining that soft and comfortable feel overall.

Support Layer – This layer contains individually-wrapped coils for bounce and mobility. It also includes a layer of coils with a reinforced perimeter for stronger edge support, meaning you should be able to roll right to the edge of this bed without worrying about sliding off.

Base Layer – Beneath the coils, you’ll find a base layer built with DuraDense foam: A high density polyfoam that provides the Helix Moonlight with extra support and stability.

Helix Moonlight Mattress
This photo reflects the previous layers of the standard Helix Moonlight model. The new layers are outlined above.

Helix Moonlight Luxe

Cover – The Helix Moonlight Luxe includes a Tencel cover. Tencel is made from eco-friendly eucalyptus fibers, and it offers even better temperature regulation than the standard Helix Moonlight’s Light Breathe Knit cover.

Pillow Top Layer – The Helix Moonlight Luxe’s pillow top layer is quilted with gel foam to provide some initial pressure relief and cooling upon laying down on this mattress.

Comfort Layer – Next up, the comfort layer combines a section of Helix Dynamic Foam and High-Grade Helix Responsive Foam. This is the same as the comfort layer included in the standard Helix Moonlight model.

Transition LayerBelow that is the same additional layer of High-Grade Responsive Foam that is found in the standard Helix Moonlight model.

Support Layer – Like the standard Helix Moonlight, the Helix Moonlight Luxe includes a layer of hundreds of individually wrapped coils. However, the coils in the Helix Moonlight Luxe have zoned support; they’re softer under the shoulders and firmer at the hips, helping to promote a straight spinal alignment during the night.

Base Layer – Last up is a layer of DuraDense foam to provide the mattress with support and stability, just like the standard Helix Moonlight model.

Helix Moonlight Unboxing and Off-Gassing

Like any bed-in-a-box mattress, the Helix Moonlight has an off-gassing and decompression period after unboxing. Your mattress should be decompressed and ready to sleep on after a few hours. Personally, I think all Helix mattresses have a strong off-gassing smell, but as long as you leave your new mattress in a well-ventilated room, any odor should dissipate after 24-48 hours. If you’re especially concerned about smell, avoid adding sheets to your new bed for a day or two to allow it to fully air out.

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
helix moonlight mattress

Helix Moonlight Mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

My Final Thoughts about the Helix Moonlight Mattress

The Helix Moonlight is a hybrid mattress that uses soft foams for pressure relief and pocketed coils for some added bounce and support. The gentle feel of this bed is ideal for side sleepers looking for added pressure relief, and the bouncy coils included in its constructed mean you shouldn’t feel stuck in this mattress while trying to change positions.

My favorite things about the Helix Moonlight mattress

I really like this mattress for side sleepers, as it didn’t put too much pressure on my shoulders or hips. While sleeping on my side, I felt like I sank into the Helix Moonlight just enough to keep my spine in a healthy, straight alignment. I also like that the Helix Moonlight’s hybrid build is super bouncy. This creates a really pleasant feel — and you can change positions without feeling “stuck” in this mattress.

My Helix Moonlight mattress complaints

I would not recommend this bed for stomach sleepers. The Helix Moonlight is one of the Helix brand’s softest models, and most stomach sleepers need a firm mattress to keeps their hips in line with their shoulders. With this mattress, you’re likely to find your hips sinking down into the bed, throwing your spine out of alignment and potentially causing some aches and pains down the line. I’d recommend these sleepers check out one of Helix’s firmer mattress models, like the Dawn or the Twilight. Helix also offers a sleep quiz on their site to help you choose which one of their models is best for your needs.

How Much Does The Helix Moonlight Cost?

Price is always an important factor when purchasing a new mattress. Take a look at the pricing chart below, and make sure to visit our Helix coupon page for the latest deals.

SizeHelixHelix Luxe
Twin$799$1,199
Twin XL$899$1,449
Full$1,049$1,749
Queen$1,199$2,049
King$1,549$2,499
California King$1,549$2,499

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Helix Moonlight Mattress

helix moonlight mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
helix moonlight mattress

Helix Moonlight Mattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 5.5/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Helix Mattress Policies and FAQs

Does the Helix Moonlight have a trial period?

The Helix Moonlight and the Helix Moonlight Luxe both come with a 100-night sleep trial. 

Does the Helix Moonlight come with a mattress warranty?

Yes, the standard Helix Moonlight comes with a 10-year warranty. The Helix Moonlight Luxe comes with a 15-year warranty.

How does the Helix Moonlight ship?

All Helix mattresses are bed-in-a-box mattresses, which means they ship compressed in a box. All Helix mattresses ship for free.

Do I need a box spring with the Helix Moonlight mattress?

Nope, any hard, flat, and level surface will do. The Moonlight also works with platform beds, slatted bed frames, and adjustable bases.

Does the Helix Moonlight have an off-gassing period?

Yes, both the Moonlight and the Moonlight Luxe have an off-gassing period. You’ll need to wait between 24 and 72 hours for the smell to fully dissipate. 

Helix Moonlight Mattress Vs  

Before I finish up this review, I’d like to compare the Helix Moonlight to some of its competitors from other popular mattress companies. See how it stacks up against the competition below.

Helix Moonlight vs Casper 

  • The Helix Moonlight is a hybrid mattress, while the original Casper comes in both a hybrid and an all-foam version.
  • The Casper feels quite a bit firmer than the Helix Moonlight.
  • The all-foam Casper is about the same price as the Helix Moonlight. However, the hybrid Casper is a bit more expensive than the Helix Moonlight.
  • Want to see more? Check out my Casper mattress review.

Casper Original Mattress

P1023659

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

P1023659

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1023659

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper Original is an all-foam mattress that is a great option for back sleepers who want a balance of support and pressure relief. Combination sleepers will appreciate this mattress's responsiveness, which makes it easy to change positions throughout the night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Moonlight vs Saatva

  • The Saatva is an innerspring mattress, while the Helix Moonlight is a hybrid mattress.
  • The Saatva comes in three firmness options, while the Helix Moonlight only comes in one firmness option. However, all of the Helix brand’s six hybrid options range in firmness.
  • The Saatva is quite a bit more expensive than the Helix Moonlight.
  • Learn more in my full Saatva mattress review.

Saatva Mattress

P1051102

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Mattress

P1051102

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1051102

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva’s coil-on-coil construction provides a classic innerspring feel. It's a good option for combo sleepers, who will want to feel free to switch positions and avoid feeling “stuck” in the mattress. It comes in three firmness levels, so you should be able to find one that suits your needs.

Sleepopolis Score 4.8/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
SO sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

We were skeptical of buying a mattress on line but it could not have gone any smoother. Anthony answered all of our questions during our many phone conversations. Delivery was prompt and went without a hitch. Best of all the mattress is so comfortable! I haven't had such a good night sleep in years. Highly recommend this.

Patty, Saatva customer
Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Other Models from Helix

Lastly, I’d like to show how the Helix Moonlight compares to some of Helix’s other models. Each model comes in both a standard and a luxe version, but I’ll be comparing the standard versions below.

Helix Moonlight vs Helix Midnight

  • Unlike the soft Moonlight, the Helix Midnight has a medium-firm feel. It’s a better option for sleepers who like a bit more support during the night.
  • I believe that the Helix Midnight is a better option for back sleepers, since these sleepers tend to need a bit more support than side sleepers.
  • The Moonlight and Midnight come at the same price point.
  • Learn more in my full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Helix Midnight Mattress

P1037886

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Mattress

P1037886

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
P1037886

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight has a medium support level and bounce that will appeal to a wide range of sleep preferences. The Midnight also does an exceptional job of isolating motion, making it a great choice for couples that move around at night.

Sleepopolis Score 4.2/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
SO sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Moonlight vs Helix Dusk 

  • The Helix Dusk is firmer than the Helix Moonlight.
  • The Helix Dusk is a better choice for back sleepers (it’s a touch firmer than the Helix Midnight).
  • The Moonlight and the Dusk cost the same amount.
  • Check out my full Helix Dusk mattress review for more.

Helix Dusk Mattress

helix dusk

The Helix Dusk mattress has a medium firm feel that's great for back sleepers! This mattress offers great contouring that doesn't make you feel like you’re “stuck in” bed making it a great choice for back sleepers as well as combination sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Bought our first Helix Dusk 5 years ago (a king for my husband and I) and it’s still amazing. No body impressions. Our large and small sizes and side and back sleep positions all do well on this mattress. We only buy Helix mattresses now, and have been gradually replacing our children’s and guest mattresses with Helix Dusk. Our guests all comment Read more about review stating We only buy Helix nowthey like the mattress too.

Christine R., Helix customer
Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Helix Dusk Mattress

helix dusk

The Helix Dusk mattress has a medium firm feel that's great for back sleepers! This mattress offers great contouring that doesn't make you feel like you’re “stuck in” bed making it a great choice for back sleepers as well as combination sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Bought our first Helix Dusk 5 years ago (a king for my husband and I) and it’s still amazing. No body impressions. Our large and small sizes and side and back sleep positions all do well on this mattress. We only buy Helix mattresses now, and have been gradually replacing our children’s and guest mattresses with Helix Dusk. Our guests all comment Read more about review stating We only buy Helix nowthey like the mattress too.

Christine R., Helix customer
Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
helix dusk

Helix Dusk Mattress

The Helix Dusk mattress has a medium firm feel that's great for back sleepers! This mattress offers great contouring that doesn't make you feel like you’re “stuck in” bed making it a great choice for back sleepers as well as combination sleepers.

Sleepopolis Score 4.1/5
SO Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

SO Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

SO Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

SO Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

SO Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

SO Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

SO sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Bought our first Helix Dusk 5 years ago (a king for my husband and I) and it’s still amazing. No body impressions. Our large and small sizes and side and back sleep positions all do well on this mattress. We only buy Helix mattresses now, and have been gradually replacing our children’s and guest mattresses with Helix Dusk. Our guests all comment Read more about review stating We only buy Helix nowthey like the mattress too.

Christine R., Helix customer
Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Check out how the Moonlight performed on our star rating chart below.

Helix Moonlight Mattress
Helix MoonlightMattress

The Helix Moonlight is great for side sleepers thanks to its super soft, pressure relieving comfort. Its super plush feel that cradle and cushion sensitive pressure points make this an excellent choice for people who suffer from hip or shoulder pain.

Product In-Stock: InStock

Editor's Rating:
4.1

Logan Block

Logan is the former content director of Sleepopolis. As content director, he reviewed new mattresses every week and curated the comparisons, best of pages, and video guides on the site. Logan perfected his method by personally testing over 200 different mattresses, so he’s not only able to discern the overall vibe of a specific bed, but to contextualize its feel within the bed-in-a-box market as a whole.